We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Trip to Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Ranked #115 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed April 9, 2014

A very convenient hotel in the centre of the city.I had business meetings at the airport which is about 35 minutes away by taxi..
Friendly helpful front desk staff who spoke excellent english.
Were more than happy to recommend tourist sights to see during my short stay.
Breakfast in the restaurant was very good, plenty of choices although a little crowded on the weekend. I was on the exec floor which offers a quieter breakfast area on the link between the two buildings during the weekd. Much nicer.
Regular sized rooms, mine was overlooking the street and tram station. Room was quiet as long as you kept the window closed. Unfortunately my air con was stuck on heat, the room was uncomfortably hot at times and so I had to have the window open to cool the room.
But all in all a comfortable and convenient hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aussie_Bloke_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Aussie_Bloke_7,
Thank you for very much your positive comment. Among the advantages of our hotel there are the good location, the helpful staff, the possibility to have upgraded rooms (Privilege). The hotel is easily accessible from the airport as well, it takes only 25 minutes to get to the hotel. Thank you for your remark again, we hope your next business stay will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Doupik
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Excellent Hotel, situated very close to Heroes Square, and the Danube, Kalvin Ter subway station is adjacent to the Hotel
Rooms very comfortable, and breakfast was very good, offering a good choice of hot or cold

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing out to the City
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdeneXplorer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear EdeneXplorer6,
Many thanks for your positive opinion you have shared about our hotel. We really appreciate hearing from you and reading that you were satisfied with the room and the breakfast. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you value customer service don't stay here, The front desk will not go out of their way for you once you are there. They tell you they can help with everything including arranging for taxi service to pick you up from the airport they just need your credit card ..of course no one shows up. Once you checked in they no longer want to have anything to do with you. After an entire week I still have yet to be greeted or asked if I need any help and they are just annoyed when you stand at the desk waiting for them to acknowledge you. Finally they just lack common sense and have poor attitudes. Will have my company remove this from their list of approved hotels for business travel.

Room Tip: Stay down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Here we are again in the cosy premises of Corona Mercure,that me and my wife visited last October where we stayed for some dayys.My oppinion regarding the whole performance of
the staff in the Front Desk is a verry good one.Each of them helped me at any time that it was necessary and they behave with a highlly professional way,willing to help andto resolve any problem that arose. I personally was given a piece of help to issue my boarding card.

Room Tip: Rooms/SUITES facing the Calvin Square and statute as well as the old beautifull wach of the Calvini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 769THANOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear 769THANOS,
Thank you for posting your thoughts on here, we really value your feedback. Thank you for your very kind words. They are appreciated and our team will be delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed yourselves in Mercure Budapest Korona. Your valuable words were a real recognition of our every day effort. We really look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We ordered a double bed, only to received 2 singles pushed together with 2 single duvets. Upon asking for a double duvet i was told that due to the hotel being too full there wasn't enough duvets to go around which to me seems odd in a hotel. Our room was located by the lift and whilst trying to sleep at night i was woken up many times by a load bleeping from the lift, noise could be heard very loudly from the hall ways.

Room space was nothing special, bathroom clean but lacked special touch.


Overall quite a poor experience i was lacking sleep for most of my stay.

You could even say it was MER..poor

Room Tip: Make sure you have a double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Callumstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Callumstein,
Thank you for your comment. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your full expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We will share your comments with our team. Although we had very high level of occupancy during your stay, much better service should have been allocated to you. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I visited Korona Hotel twice in the same month and I had 2 different check-ins each time. The first time I paid only the tourism taxes and signed a paper & the second time receptionist asked me to pay a deposit of around 40 euros (in forints) for the room extras before getting into my room!!! I've been at the exact same hotel twice before and explained that this is first time I've been asked such a thing...but receptionist (from the old staff) didn't want to understand what I was telling him and kept on insisting to pay, reaching the limits of being rude & arrogant at the same time!!!! I even asked if I could pay the deposit the next day, but...no chance!! Finally as I didn't had any exchange in forints I had to charge my credit card. Also the room which was given to me was absolutely depressing, very small comparing the previous times & no view at all!!!! I will never do same mistake twice.

Room Tip: The room which was given to me was absolutely depressing, very small comparing previous times I'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikos002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Nikos002,
Thank you for your detailed comments. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your full expectations, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Regarding your critical points, please note that according to our company policy we made credit card authorization just for guarantee upon check-in. Thank you once again for having given us information on your experience in Mercure Budapest Korona. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#61 of 334 in Budapest
1,547 reviews
District I / Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
Mercure Budapest Buda
#130 of 334 in Budapest
1,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#77 of 334 in Budapest
1,833 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 334 in Budapest
738 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
4,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel

Address: Kecskemeti utca 14 | Parking in the hotel garage, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $62 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Budapest Korona**** is the best located hotel in Budapest. Situated in the heart of the city with beautiful surroundings, at the entrance of the popular pedestrian area: Váci and Ráday street.The River Danube, exclusive shops and famous baths are within walking distance. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel. You can choose from Privilege Rooms or Suites to ensure your full comfort. Direct access from the airport and onsite parking possibility. The hotel offers wide range of services for both leisure and business travellers like: pool, sauna, Internet corner, upgraded Privilege room, 2 restaurants, Bridge Bar with unique view, My Bar with modern design in pleasant atmosphere, garage, souvenir shop. Conference capacity up to 120 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Korona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing