We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$200
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$190
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
$133
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$626
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Prima Fashion Hotel(Budapest)
$118
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$88
$82
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$109
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,792)
Filter reviews
2,793 results
Traveler rating
604
1,165
663
251
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
1,165
663
251
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbridge barprivilege roomkalvin termetro stationpool and saunanational museumexcellent locationmarket hallbusiness tripwalking distancecity breakthe rivercentral locationexcellent breakfasthop on hopvaci streetpublic transportation
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,052 - 1,057 of 2,793 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just back after a 5 night stay in the above mentioned hotel ,
Located just beside the Kalvin Terr Metro staion and only about 300 metres away from the Danube and the huge indoor market - also on the 47 and 49 tram lines and very near a large choice of nice eateries that cater for all palates .
The Hotel itself is large with over 400 rooms and looks onto the busy Junction but if like us you are not too fussed about the view and opt for quitness the hotel has a part that looks onto an internal Square and is quiet as are all the rooms who have traeted walls to keep out the noise of the room next door and believe me it does work .
we just had the standard double room which was adequate and each room has a personal safe for peace of mind .
We were on the fifth floor room 508 if that is what you want .
The Dining room is on the first floor and is very clean and is tended to by a young but very efficientit is a self service .choice
and I defy you to find nothing to take your fancy and even extends to fresh fruit to take away at the end of your meal .
It has a large foyer and a lovely big bar with lots of seats and tables where you can relax and unwind at the end of a hectic day of sightseeing .
There is 5 terminals for checking and sending emails etc and the staff throughout are courteous efficient and extremely well mannered ..
I would definitely go back to this Hotel in the future

Room Tip: If you want quitness in preference to a view the hotel has rooms that do not face onto the main street which is very busy from first thing to last - we had room 508 and would go back to it as it suited our needs
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear lbees,
Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest Korona during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff. Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel is a solid 4*. Breakfast was really good however skip the scrambled eggs :) The location is perfect - walking distance to all major attractions. The hotel is surrounded by plenty of restaurants and bars.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Asia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Asia O,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments following your stay. We are very glad to read positive remarks concerning the perfect location and facilities of the hotel. We sincerely hope to see you back in our hotel in the near future.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Friendly staff, clean and quiet room on fifth floor facing a square with tram stop and metro station. Stayed in room 593 but was not bothered by traffic noise as was an earlier reviewer. WiFi in hotel worked very well. Elevator service can be congested at breakfast time if you get there when tour group guests are also using the elevators. Stayed here at the beginning and at the end of our visit to Hungary and felt we got good value for our money. When booking on Internet, look for deals that include breakfast because buying it on arrival is much more costly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 432West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear 432West,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay in Mercure Budapest Korona. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Among the advantages of our hotel there are the good location, the helpful staff, the quiet room and the free Wifi. Thank you for your remark again, we hope your next stay will be as pleasant as the previous one.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed in the hotel whilst on a course in Budapest. The staff were very polite and helpful. Although the rooms were a little small I was happy with the facilities available, including those in the meeting rooms.
Would definitely consider staying in this hotel on another occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grizzlymummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear grizzlymummy,
Thank you for your remarks following your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to read your positive comment regarding our staff. They always do their best to make our Guests' stay more comfortable. We are all delighted that our hotel met your expectations and that you had a great time with us and in Budapest. We hope to welcome you back soon.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

took deposit of 150,000 Florint (£440) on 11 July and still haven't paid it back by 22 July even though they took the correct amount out on 17 July.
Have emailed hotel 3 time with no response.
Nat West Visa disputes team were useless.
I might have to fly back over to get some of it back
Stayed in room 593 and the pvc inner window did not seal properly so a bit of traffic noise at night, when sleeping, told reception 3 times and nothing done about it.
they were good though as i booked five nights and had to go early and they only charged four.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank waherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter S, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear waherr,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments following your stay at the Mercure Budapest Korona. Please, let us inform you that we ask at check-in a credit card guarantee from each guest for the extras. At this point we do not charge any amount, we just make a pre-authorisation on the guest card. The amount will be available on credit card within few days. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews