We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The expectations fulfilled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Ranked #117 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Everything in the hotel was as expected, good reception, friendly and helpful staff, clean rooms, maybe a little small, but fine enough for city walk. The breakfast was also fine. Did not try the swimming pool, but we can do so next time. A hotel that lives up to the four stars compared to other visited hotels/countries.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Helle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter1765, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Helle H,
Thank you for your compliment, I will forward it to the Colleagues working at the Reception. It is our pleasure that we succeeded to exceed your expectations in terms of service. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,128 - 1,134 of 2,609 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights.We were in privilaged part of hotel.Great rooms.....clean.....big enough.....everything you need.Slept well.In great location for everything and everywhere.didn't use a tram or bus once.We taxied from airport....about £20 english.Well worth it.No getting on or off trams with heavy suitcase.If theres 4 of you...even better...split the bill.Taxied back too....£15 english.Privilaged breakfast great at hotel.No queues like downstairs for regular part of hotel.Really worth paying slight bit extra.And it was only a little extra.Budapest it's self was lovely.Cheap to eat and drink everywhere.No trouble or noise anywhere......very chilled city.Cant wait to go back.Visited ice-bar.....went on evening cruise.....brilliant......only £15 each.Included live band and great food.All in walking distance of hotel.Lovely traditional Hungarian market to walk around.you must try hungarian cake....any!! All delicious.So many coffee bars and cafes to chill out at......watching the world go by.You will enjoy if you visit.

Room Tip: we stayed on 2nd floor.No standing around waiting for lifts.Lower the better.9 floors all in all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanny1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter1765, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear lanny1,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us following your stay in Mercure Budapest Korona. You are right the Privilege rooms in our hotel have really special amenities with Privilege breakfast in our Bridge Bar with unique view to the city. We are also happy that you enjoyed the center location of our hotel and you could benefit from it. Cafés, restaurant and many entertainment possibilities and of course the main attractions are in an easy reach on foot from the hotel. We are looking forward to welcome you back to our hotel and to Budapest – to the city of senses.
With best regards,

We hope your next stay will be as pleasant as the previous one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What I liked:
The location

What I did not like:
The size of the room, The bathtub, the mattress, the "pool"

This hotel makes the absolute bare minimum to be a four star hotel.
The rooms are tiny and dark, the staff is unpleasant, the bathtub is uncomfortable,
and the pool is a gimmick.
Our room had a broken night lamp, a bathroom door that didn't open, and crappy mattresses.
The only thing I liked about the hotel is the location.
I do not recommend staying in this hotel, there are better three star hotels in the area

Room Tip: There are two buildings, connected by a bridge on the third floor. The check-in desk is on one buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankoItay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter1765, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear FrankoItay,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Mercure Budapest Korona. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your full expectations. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

An excellent hotel with friendly staff; reception, concierge, maids, etc. Hotel very central to amenities, underground metro, buses and trams. Within walking distance to some good restaurants. The only negative issue was the fact that one had to cross the bridge to access the swimming pool situated at the B section of the hotel (on the other side of the road). Crossing the Bridge Bar in swimming trunks / towel is not the ideal situation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter1765, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Francis D,
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your review on our hotel. We are all pleased at Mercure Korona, that you have enjoyed your stay with us and in Budapest. I will share your positive feedback with our Team. We hope we can welcome you again in our hotel soon.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was my second visit to the Mercure Korona in a year and the staff have upped the game even more in regards to service and making sure that the stay is a pleasant one. I booked the Priveledge room on the third floor that has access to the Priveledge breakfast room which was very enjoyable located on the bridge with views out across the square. Other reviewers have mentioned the queues at the lifts and the option to use the stairs is not really available as they are a fire exit only and for staff access, this can make you feel a bit stupid taking the lift from the 3rd to the 2nd floor for breakfast when others are going down from the 7th to ground floor, I would have much preferred to use the stairs and it is not an option. Overall a very good stay and I recommend the Mercure Korona for a stay in Budapest

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter1765, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Scomp,
Thank you very much for your comment. We are sure it is valuable for other clients when checking accomodation possibilities in Budapest for a perfect stay. We are happy that you a very good stay with us and you enjoyed the Privilege service. Specially thanks for your loyalty and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

location is great. across is ATM, grocery, hopon hopoff stop. short walk to food street raday utca, shopping street vaci utca and market hall. budapest is nice city cosmopiltan like paris but not the paris prices. nice concert at the church and better money value than vienna concerts. hungarian goulash was the best in budapest. mercure korona staff service good. breakfast was also good hot and with eggs. breakfast is quite busy esp at 8 am to 9 am. had a great time in budapest using hopon hop off service with stop across the street

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BongVallejos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter1765, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear BongVallejos,
I was so pleased to read your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed the center location of our hotel and you could benefit from it. It was also lovely to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff. We really look forward to welcome you again soon.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Mercure Korona is ideal for business trip. It is located at the central area of Busapest. The price is fair the services are good. There is a souvenir store inside. The wireless Internet works fine. Check in and check out worked fine.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank acssjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eszter1765, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your review. We are glad that you had a good stay with us at Mercure Budapest Korona and we hope to see you on your next business trip.
With best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#60 of 334 in Budapest
1,572 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#46 of 334 in Budapest
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,450 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#77 of 334 in Budapest
1,864 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#56 of 334 in Budapest
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel

Address: Kecskemeti utca 14 | Parking in the hotel garage, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $60 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Budapest Korona**** is the best located hotel in Budapest. Situated in the heart of the city with beautiful surroundings, at the entrance of the popular pedestrian area: Váci and Ráday street.The River Danube, exclusive shops and famous baths are within walking distance. We offer free WiFi throughout the hotel. You can choose from Privilege Rooms or Suites to ensure your full comfort. Direct access from the airport and onsite parking possibility. The hotel offers wide range of services for both leisure and business travellers like: pool, sauna, Internet corner, upgraded Privilege room, 2 restaurants, Bridge Bar with unique view, My Bar with modern design in pleasant atmosphere, garage, souvenir shop. Conference capacity up to 120 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Korona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing