We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Room and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #24 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Room and Location”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The room and view exceeded our expectations. The location of the hotel was ideal. The staff was quite helpful. No complaints. Recommended without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick41677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Dear Patrick 41677:
Thank you very much for your post. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at InterContinental Budapest and do hope to be in position to welcome you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,115
    872
    164
    40
    21
See reviews for
474
1,339
154
694
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (964)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I only checked out this afternoon and can't wait to write this review - I'm still at Budapest airport because of a 2 hour delay AIR MALEV (!!) As we're celebrating our anniversary and the stay at Budapest is the end of an Amsterdam-Budapest river cruise thought we'd splurge and end on a high so booked the Intercontinental and I sure am glad we did. From the time of reservation (direct with the Hotel) to the check out the whole experience was faultless. We were allocated a great room with the best view of the chain bridge and the castle (with a good size bathroom). Can't recall which other city provides a similar view !! Our check-in/check-out was done at the Club lounge and the experience was painless and efficient. I agree with previous reviewer that the concierge staff was a little indifferent as was the reception staff. All in all Budapest exceeded all expectations and together with the INTERCONTINENTAL provided an unforgettable anniversary celebration.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superspots101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Dear superspots101:
First of all, i am very sorry to hear that you had a 2 hour delay at the Budapest airport. Secondly, thank you very much for using that free time to write a review about the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you generally enjoyed the services at the InterContinental. Your balanced feedback will keep us humble as we will continue to strive for that perfect experience for our guests.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Born Londoner
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Got a great deal on this place through Hotwire so wasn't expecting to get a good room - actually we were up on the 6th floor and it was reasonably sized. Bed was super comfy, furniture dated in a romantic sort of way, nice new flatscreen TV to enjoy. Bathroom was however tiny!

There were two things that really made our stay fun. Firstly the spa is absolutely fab - the swimming pool's a decent size, very clean, modern and relaxing. There's also a sauna and steam room to enjoy. Secondly the room service is top notch - we cheekily ordered some desserts around midnight in a rather demanding way ('with gummy bears please') They came along in lightning speed and tasted gorgeous.

The location is also perfect. You can walk absolutely everywhere from the hotel beside the river. Seeing across the Chain Bridge to the Castle at night is fantastic. The no-2 tram stops right outside the hotel and if you hop on for a ridiculously small amount of money you can see all the sights along the river in style!

I do think however the concierge could do a bit better at restaurant selections. I asked the advice of two of the front desk staff and got the cold shoulder once they realised I didn't want to go to their tourist-oriented 'international fusion' places. I was looking for something more local and Hungarian and had to fall back on my own devices which was annoying. I'd also say it's more of a 4* because of the size of the room, particularly the bathroom. Putting both our cases on the floor didn't leave much room for walking around the bed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanlovespugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Dear Hunlovespugs:
Thank you very much for the balance feedback. Special recognition of our room service is also greatly appreciated. I will personally look into your concierge experience and ensure that we have a wider selection of "In the know" local places to recommend to our guests. Thank you again for your kind feedback.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

This hotel has a very convenient location for all activities, within easy walking distance of shopping and nightlife. There is a tram stop just outside, a metro station and a bridge to cross the river nearby.

I was given a Danube view suite, which was very nice indeed: unbeatable views on Budapest castle and the river day and night, separate, very spacious river-facing living room and away-facing bedroom, which was consequently very quiet. Traffic on the river front road was light at night and not a nuisance.

Food in the executive lounge was quite satisfactory at all times of the day I visited.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwc196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Dear kwc196:
Thank you for posting such positive remarks about the hotel. Suites on the Danube side are offering a very special experience for our guests. Club Lounge is only one year old and it is the largest and newest Club Lounge in the city of Budapest. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I had a great experience at the Intercontinental, from the amazing view of Buda out my window to the eager-to-please service. This is a solid 4-star hotel in a wonderful location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Dear hsblendo:
Great to hear that you were impressed with our hotel. Please visit us again in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We had a river room view on the 8 floor. This hotel is nearly as nice as the Ritz Carlton in Berlin, but at 1/2 the price. Great value with great food. Spend the extra money to get a river view, if you like water.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregjer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Dear Gregjer1234:
Thank you very much for your kind value. I must agree with you that our hotel offers a solid value for money experience and that the view from our river side rooms is just very unique in our city. I look forward to seeing you soon back in Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
317 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

First and foremost the IC Budapest is a business hotel. The typical guest either stays for business or is a retiree/pensioner with deep pockets. If you don't fall in this category and just want to splurge as I did, then you may be disappointed by the lack of offerings that you would expect from lower-quality rated hotels. Despite its 5-star rating, I felt the hotel did not have the "wow" factor that InterContinental hotels are known for.

You will not find a tea/coffee bar in the lobby. Although a tea kettle and instant coffee are provided in-room, it would be nice to have freshly roasted coffee. Kimpton Seattle (4-star) provides complimentary coffee all day every day. When asked, an associate explained that breakfast cost a whopping €28. What could I possibly eat for that much money?! A juice, croissant, and maybe eggs would have been all to get me going until lunchtime. Derag Hotel Grosser Kurfuerst Berlin (4-star) offers a rate-inclusive full buffet. The most outrageous fee by far was for internet service. Either wifi or broadband will set you back €7 per hour, €20 daily, or €50 for 3 days!! Holy smokes! The 3-day option cost more than my 2 months of home internet service. Save your cash and head to Vaci Utca 12 where 10 minutes only runs you 100 forint.

Quite simply with IC Budapest you are really only paying for location. The hotel is conveniently located on the bank of the Danube, a 3 minute walk from the Chain Bridge. My daily rate of $135 (taxes included) for a triple gets you a non-river view. A river-view costs an additional €30. Let me reiterate, if 5-stars is not your norm then skip the river view room as there are plenty of public benches and restaurants riverside where you can enjoy the view of Gellert Hill, Chain Bridge, and Buda Castle. A tram line stops right at the front of the hotel which adds to its desirable location. The hotel is also 10 minutes from the start of Vaci Utca, and the yellow line metro.

The guestroom is decent for a double, but a bit cramped for a 3rd person. Nonetheless, I have no complaints. Everything is immaculate and functional. The housekeeping staff is amazing and took excellent care of us for the entire 5 nights. Requests for ice and additional packets of coffee were always promptly addressed.

And so continues my observation that one truly gets the best bang for their buck in the good ol' USA in terms of hotel amenities. If it is the view of the river and convenience of location you desire, then yes the IC Budapest is relevant. But be aware that Sofitel and Marriott are similarly located. As for me I was not thrilled to know that complimentary features I have become accustomed to are sorely lacking from the IC Budapest, and hence I must break from the status quo and give it the lower rating.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAnswer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miloscerovic, Executive Assistant Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 29, 2010
Dear TheAnswer:
Thank you very much for your balanced feedback. I am sorry that you felt disappointed with the value for money aspect of our hotel. We understand that some 4 star hotels may offer breakfast or internet at a lower price. On the other side, we pride ourselves on friendly and professional customer service and the consistency of it. I still hope that you will return to Budapest in the near future and give InterContinental another try.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
2,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,145 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 342 in Budapest
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Jetsetter, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing