We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$184
View deal
Expedia.com
$183
View deal
Destinia.com
$179
View deal
Hotels.com$183
Algotels
Lol.travel$208
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,303)
Filter reviews
4,303 results
Traveler rating
2,804
1,172
225
63
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,804
1,172
225
63
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river view chain bridge buda castle across the river perfect location excellent hotel an upgrade breakfast buffet is buda side beautiful city tram stop corso concierge banks doorman europe hop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 4,303 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2019 via mobile

A but if a mixed review but mostly positive. Nice riverside restaurant. Excellent fitness and spa. Rooms a bit small but we had a riverside view and it was spectacular. Nice location. Good hotel option if you are arriving early for your river cruise.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank CtownRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PeterPottinga, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2019

Dear CtownRon,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. 
We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Peter Pottinga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2019

I stayed in this hotel seven years ago and was the slightly disappointed. But now this hotel has really stepped up its game and is on the TOP notch side of the game. Where to start? Arrival: Met by super polite staff in door who chatted away with my kid about football that is his main interest. Check in: Smooth. Room: We had a room that didnt have a view to the Donau river. But we looked at a beautiful builing. Also it was super quiet. Clean. Freshly decorated and spacious enough for two persons. Had roomservice at arrival night and got two beautifully made Angus burgesrs served on door within 25 minutes after we put in the order. Breakfast next day: Advice: DON NOT miss it. Fantastic selection of fresh fruits, melons, grapefruits, pineapple and fruitsalad. Freshly squeezed juices. Orders of lovely coffees. Bread, cakes, gluten free breads. Cold cuts AND a cook theat made omelettes upon request. Do not miss this its probabaly the best hotel breakfast I ever had. Also the hotel has a lovely spa with super professional service. I did a fantastic pedicure with a super clever lady. I can not recommend this hotel warmly enough. Go!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank qualitytravels74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PeterPottinga, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2019

Dear traincarplane,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Peter Pottinga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019

We arrived in Budapest hoping the Intercontinental would be luxe. Instead it was dirty, crowded, and out dated. The reservation and concierge staff were nice. Unfortunately their recommendations for dinner were much more expensive than we expected. All menus they showed me were outdated in both offerings and prices. We were told a 15-20 minute walk to one restaurant (maybe if you ran...and we are young!)...to moderate price (which ended up at well over $100 for dinner for two...and we were hungry afterward).
The hotel is well located within walking distance for many things on the Pest side of the city.
Breakfast is well appointed but filled with masses of people. Hundreds crowded the food areas...making it lack any intimacy or plush feel. The Hungarian sparkling wine helped ease the burden.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Evlyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PeterPottinga, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2019

Dear ec4stx,
Thank you for your candid review.
We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Sincerely,
Peter Pottinga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2019 via mobile

Right on the river bank, Very well located to explore Budapest.
Clean rooms, comfortable beds and good water pressure for the bathtub. Definitely book a room with view to the castle/river.

Excellent quality of food. Loved their breakfast, tried buffett and A la Card. Definitely try their signature cocktails on the terrace.

When back in Budapest, i will definitely be staying here!

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank kimmysm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PeterPottinga, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2019

Dear kimmysm25,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. 
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback.
We hope you will visit us again.

Sincerely,
Peter Pottinga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2019

It’s a very short walk from Vörösmarty tér metro stop to the Intercontinental Hotel and it’s magnificent views of the Chain bridge. Having stayed here 2 years ago I upgraded from a classic standard room to a superior room river view and it was definitely worth it. The view of the bridge is awesome, it’s pretty by day but when lit up at nights it’s fabulous and all from your room ( it switches off and goes to bed around midnight) I was on the 4th floor and the view was perfect.

The room itself did not appear any bigger than a classic standard but it was perfectly acceptable. The bed was very comfortable and clean , the bathroom a tad on the small side but there was a tub , lots of soaps and gels etc. Wi-Fi was easy to connect to and very well. In room coffee machine was simple to use and the capsules replenished every day. There was also a minibar if you felt the urge for a late night/early morning cocktail.

The whole hotel although it is old still looks good, very spacious, classy and well maintained, the staff were always happy to help. Breakfast was not included in my rate and it was a jaw-dropping €28 per person for the buffet so it was better to order from the à la carte breakfast menu card and order bacon and eggs – HUF 2,200 ($7) and some coffee and a bread basket to share , a lot cheaper than the buffet. The prices for the à la carte menu was comparable to nearby cafes so why not eat at Corso and admire the views from the terrace.

The hotel is used by a lot of the river cruise companies so checking in and out can sometimes be very busy, but you can checkout using your tv which was useful assuming the invoice is correct. There is also a business center on the ground floor which was useful for printing tickets or airline boarding pass. The location is super, walking distance to everything and the nearby metro if you fancy a trip up to the Szechenyi baths on the historic metro line 1 or coffee and cake at nearby café Gerbeaud. Make sure you collect the Intercontinental Concierge Welcome to Budapest map from the front desk as it is very useful and has some good recommendations too.

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PeterPottinga, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2019

Dear UncleDom,
Thank you very much for your review,
I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us. I am sure that your detailed feedback will be much appreciated by other travellers, too.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back,
Kind regards,
Peter Pottinga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews