We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Stay Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #27 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Must Stay Hotel!”
Reviewed April 13, 2009

A friend and I are both in our early twenties and have just returned from a long weekend in Budapest. On our second night, we had one of our handbags stolen. We went back to the hotel, and the concierge staff were extremely supportive. They rang the police and allowed us to use their facilities for free to cancel credits cards and call our insurance company. The following morning, we were personally contacted by the duty manager, who offered his support and condolences and arranged transportation to the local tourist police station. When we returned to our room, we were greeted with complimentary wine, fruit and chocolates. Despite this unfortunate event, the staff very accommodating and made this experience as comfortable and as easy as possible.

The location of this hotel is perfectly located, surrounding by stunning views and is within walking distance of most attractions, we only used transportation to and from the airport. The swimming pool is heated, with a free 24 hour gym. The sauna and steam room are very clean and staffs at the fitness centre are helpful. There are many restaurants and cafes within a 2-5 minute walk, Chain Bridge is a couple of minutes walk and shops are also a 5 minute walk!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littletraveller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,189
    923
    173
    45
    23
See reviews for
497
1,393
162
725
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (999)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

As hotels go, the InterContinental in Budapest has a lot going for it - fantastic location by the Danube and Chain Bridge, close to all the great sights, and easy to locate.

The rooms are typical "business-class" (on the no smoking 3rd and 4th Floors anyway), and are all very generic - no style or distinction to them - comfortable nonetheless and newly refurbished. Unfortunately our "double" room turned out to be two singles pushed into a double (I have seen this quite often now though). It is quite expensive too unless you can get packaged or loyalty deals (breakfast wasn't included either).

The problem that my wife and I encountered was the knowledge provided by the staff. Although they were relatively friendly and courteous, we did get some duff advice - they thought that the bus to Memento Park did not run; they did not know if banks were open on Saturday; they did not acknowledge our original request for a double room and we ended up with a twin on the first night.

These relatively small problems did not distract from a great weekend break in a great city. Try to get a river view room (although this will be more expensive).

I would recommend this hotel but with reservations.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ching L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Stayed in this hotel for a week. As an Intercontinental Ambassador, was booked in the "Club level", and used the club lounge almost every day. Hotel provided First rate service. The room itself is showing it's age a littel, but overall very well maintained. Gym was "in renovation", so I was provided with access to the Gym in the Sofitel across the road. Hotel location can not be beat... I had a river facing room, and could spend hours just looking out the window at the breathtaking view of the castle and chainbridge.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vereg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

This was a surprise 60th birthday treat arranged by my wife, and from the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. We were immediately upgraded to an Executive Room with a great river view, given a letter wishing me happy birthday, a bottle of champagne and a cake - what a great start. The location is excellent for the city attractions, the shops and restaurants all within easy walking distance.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation the staff made us feel so welcome and valued and nothing was too much trouble. Don't think I would agree it is expensive after all it is rated as a five star hotel and the cost of the drinks and food in comparable locations in the city was not that much different.
The food in the restaurant is excellent with a vast selection for breakfast and the bar is great for a drink and watching the world go by.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimg2247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Intercontinental with friends for the weekend. The hotel is superbly located with great views across the Danube, Chain Brdge, Castle etc. The view was magical in the evening light. The Hotel staff were charming and could not do more to make our stay very enjoyable. The staff on the Club Floor were more than happy to deal with our restaurant reservations, opera bookings etc. The Hotel Spa was closed due to building work but the Sofitel Hotel was available for our use. The hotel is undergoing a re-furbishment of the bedrooms and Club room.

A word of caution - we were returning from the Opera on Saturday night by the metro system. The Ticket Office was closed and we were unable to purchase a ticket. We arrived at our metro station when 3 people arrived on the train and put on blue arm bands. They said they were POLICE and demanded an approx £40.00 fee for travelling without a ticket. The Hungarians all exited the carriage very quickly - but we were detained and they demanded payment. We explained that we were tourists and did not understand. They were very unpleasant and we decided to pay up. We were given a receipt. Our friends who were travelling with us - were allowed to go free! It was a salient lesson.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisehertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for a week to discover Budapest and the location could not have been better. Right in the center of the city, walking distance to many attractions, including the castle, the market, the old town, several museums, the Gellert, and several other attraction which we did not discover yet.
The rooms were nice and we were upgraded to a suite. Mainly to my status, though also as the hotel was almost empty. The bathrooms were tiny, though the best feature of the room was the view, which gave an amazing view onto the Danube and the Castle.
What we did not like was paying five times the price per night, which we discovered by coincidence, since there were signs with offers all over.
The concierge services are excellent and if and when you do go to Budapest to discover the city, do make use of their services.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 062211d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

Myself and 5 friends came to stay for 4 nights on a Citybreak and were initially thrilled at the location of the hotel. It is in such a central spot with great views over the Danube to the old Castle in Buda. The staff were so very accommodating, and would go out of the way to help with any enquiries. The rooms were well appointed, but very small, and indeed, the bathrooms were tiny. The lobby is a great open space with lots of comfy sofas and chairs again with good views out of the large windows. A great place to people watch!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,922 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
320 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing