We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location on the River” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #23 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Galway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Location on the River”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2009

Myself and 5 friends came to stay for 4 nights on a Citybreak and were initially thrilled at the location of the hotel. It is in such a central spot with great views over the Danube to the old Castle in Buda. The staff were so very accommodating, and would go out of the way to help with any enquiries. The rooms were well appointed, but very small, and indeed, the bathrooms were tiny. The lobby is a great open space with lots of comfy sofas and chairs again with good views out of the large windows. A great place to people watch!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,090
    862
    161
    39
    21
See reviews for
466
1,322
153
687
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (954)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2009

The view from the room made all the difference.
The hotel is located 3 minutes walk from the metro and the Vaci Utca - main street, and next to the Danube.
A nice breakfast is served. The hotel is clean and pleasant.
The room is big, comfortable, and well equipped with a huge window, and a great window bench. This is the highlight of the room!
The rooms with the view are more expensive of course, but I see no reason to come to the hotel other than that!
DO NOT take a room without the view.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sadde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2009

We spent two nights at the Hotel Incontinental Budapest and could not have enjoyed it better. Our room was very comfortable and had an amazing view of the Budapest Castle. The view of the castle is well worth the extra cost!

Our king size bed was very comfortable as were the pillows. This may be the quietest hotel I have ever stayed in. I did not hear a sound all night - not even the closing of doors.

The bar downstairs had great food and drinks. It is a wonderful place to sit and gaze at the amazing view!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megginc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

Hotel is right next to Danube, 3 min. walk to main Budapest str (Vaci), so a perfect location. Intercontinental is world famous hotel chain, so you pretty much know what to expect. But my biggest dissapointment was small room and narrow bad. And if there is anything I hate it is narrow bad. For over 300 euro/night I expect more. Much more.
And incident on check out when they wanted me to pay 200 euro for buffet?! Altough I spent only 20 Euro. Took 20 minutes to sort that out. Not an impressive service . Not at all.
Not a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankyslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2009

We have just returned from a long weekend. We found the hotel excellent, the room was a good size and very clean. The buffet breakfast was extensive, fry ups, omlettes, muesli, miso soup, fish, hams and cheeses.

The location was also very good for walking to the shopping area, castle district and great restaurants.

TIP: I called the hotel a few days before we arrived to see about a room with a river view and was quoted 40 euro/night. I decided not to bother. On checking in I was offered a room with a river view for 20 euro/night. We went ahead and it was really worth it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mancjim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed in for three nights over New Year. On check in we were informed that as the hotel was fully booked we had been upgraded form a standard room to one overlooking the river. I have to say the view was absolutely stunning, especially at night! The staff were always curteous and helpful and the choice at breakfast was massive. The option of a freshly cooked omlette or a freshly made fruit smoothie was very welcome.
The location of the hotel is brilliant, within walking distance of most of the main tourist attractions and also with a metro station nearby.
I can't fault our stay here and would definately stay here again. We got a 3 nights for the price of 2 deal, so for less than £100 per night it was hard to beat in terms of value for money.

  • Liked — The Location and views
  • Disliked — Difficult to find fault with an excellent hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedi_Donkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

This hotel has a fantastic location, and it is defientaly worth paying for the rooms wtih a view. It was my first visit to budapest and the view from the room of the Chain Bridge, Buda and the boats travelling on the Danube was a fabulous introducton. The hotel is well maintained and every member of staff we met was friendly,and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sansim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing