We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #27 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hotel with stunning views”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a short weekend break in February. It was an absolutely fabulous trip and hotel was perfect for what we wanted. 5 star all round. Room was large, double bed felt more like a king size so lots of space. We were offered a room with a view of the river and it was great. Massive window ledge where you can sit and look out over the chain bridge which was lit up beautifully at night. The breakfast was the best we've had during a city break- a huge choice and all staff very attentive to bring coffee and tea. Location of the hotel is perfect for sightseeing. Reception very helpful and a good price for a taxi to the airport. Booked the stay through two different companies which caused a mix up with breakfast one morning. Slightly rude response from the staff on the breakfast entrance but all resolved quickly by reception. If we went back to Budapest we would definitely return to this hotel. Loved it!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LILY N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Mel N,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing about your experience in our hotel. I am much pleased to read that you had a fabulous stay and found the room comfortable and enjoyed the stunning view from the riverside window. I am glad that you found the staff attentive and even the confusion could be sorted out very quickly. Thank you for your compliments and I am looking forward to your return.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,192
    924
    173
    45
    23
See reviews for
498
1,393
162
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (999)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Only had the chance of a one night stay. On the Pest side or business side of the river it is conveniently located to the markets. Room was very nice, staff are friendly and courteous. The Avalon help desk is also in the foyer. Hassel free and convenient place to stay if are intending to do a river cruise.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear densmi,
Thank you for placing your review. It is great that you draw attention to city markets where citizens love to go finding fresh fruit, vegetable, food products, all kinds of materials, souvenirs or even mingling in the crowd at flea markets depending on the style of market. I am really happy that you felt convenient in InterContinental Budapest and I would be delighted to welcome your back once you decide to return to Europe.
With best wishes,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We ended our Avalon River Cruise by staying in Budapest an extra night. As others have stated, this hotel is in a wonderful location. We checked in early and the king room we reserved was not ready for us so we took a room with two beds and no view, as we had spent a week on a Danube river cruise. If you have not spent time on a river cruise, I would suggest upgrading to a room with a view. Our room was OK but boring. AC didn't work that well.
The front desk/reception area was busy but very accommodating. Our extra day was on a Sunday so many stores were closed. Since we only had the one day to see the sites, we bought hop-on hop-off bus tickets at the hotel. After seeing the city on the bus, we wanted to eat at an outdoor restaurant. The hotel staff told us to walk a couple of blocks to the main pedestrian street, where all the stores and restaurants were open, and we sat outside and had an early dinner and people watched - we saw a lot of beautiful people. That evening we sat outside at the hotel patio and watched as the city became a city of lights. It is a magical and beautiful city at night! We had a 2:30 a.m. wake-up call to get to the airport by 4:30 a.m. The reception desk had a to-go box breakfast waiting for us.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgetown78626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear austin78669,
Thank you very much for taking your time describing your stay. I am happy that you found the location of the hotel wonderful and that an early check-in could add relevant time to your stay. I regret that you were bored in the room on the other side it makes me pleased that upon the staff direction you could find the lively area where shops and restaurants were open on Sunday, too. I am glad that we could contribute to your convenient dawn departure with a take-away box breakfast. I hope you take nice memories with you about Budapest and especially remember the magical illumination of city landscape architecture.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Six of us stopped by for a drink before boarding our river boat cruise. The service was slow and the staff were rude. We did not leave a tip and the waitress brought back the bill saying we had given them a 1000 huffs note instead of a 10000 huffs note - we didn't! We reluctantly gave them another 10000 note but know full well that we were ripped off.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bazandcaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Bazandcaf,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing your comment. I feel sorry to hear that you haven’t been satisfied with our services with regards to the mentioned reason. It is at utmost importance that our guests feel safe and in comfort when being with us. Therefore I wish to kindly draw your attention that a manager is always available in our hotel to solve and clarify any inconvenient situation or misunderstanding on the spot. I regret that just now being informed about your inconvenience we have less opportunity given to improve our service performance towards perfection.
Yours sincerely,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location on the Pest side of the River Danube. Beautiful scenery sitting outside at breakfast time. Very good accommodation, good food and very helpful staff who made our stay in Budapest one never to forget. A lot of the Ferrari team staying here at the moment for the Hungarian Grand Prix. I think it would be very hard to find anything negative to say about this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bgoodey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear bgoodey,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing your comment. I am happy that you liked the beautiful scenery around the hotel and that you were satisfied with the accommodation and hotel staff making your stay unforgettable. I would be pleased to welcome you again in the near future.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights at the beginning of an Avalon river cruise from Budapest to Bucharest. Very nice room facing the Danube. Lovely breakfast buffet and walking distance to Central Market in one direction and to the Parliament Bldg in the other. Nice staff. Nice restaurants nearby all along the Danube. Beautiful!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Danube are an upgrade but worth the lovely scenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Vikki K,
Thank you very much for writing your comment. I am happy that it was a pleasant start for you staying at InterContinental to continue your cruise-trip. Thank you for complimenting the staff and the restaurant of the hotel. I hope you take nice memories with you to share with friends & family.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The InterContinental Budapest located on the banks of the Danube River is within easy walking distance of the Chain Bridge, the Parliament building and St. Stephen's Church. Or you can sit at the sidewalk cafe and watch the river traffic, tourists or view the spectacular buildings on the Buda side of the river.
The hotel has very comfortable rooms with wonderful beds and linens. Nice breakfast buffet and very accommodating staff.
Hop on the tram which stops right at the front of the hotel and take a nostalgic ride on an authentic aged tram to the huge downtown Market. Don't forget to buy Hungarian paprika!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koser5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear koser5,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing your comment. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hospitality with easy walking distance to city attractions, sidewalk cafés and spectacular buildings. I am happy that you were impressed by the comfort of the room, the breakfast selection and the attentiveness of our staff. I would be glad to welcome you again in the near future.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,927 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
322 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
4,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing