We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #26 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel situated perfectly on the Danube. Our room overlooked the river and sunset and night views of Buda were stunning. Breakfast really good, what you would expect of this quality hotel. The Business Club room was brilliant with food, drink and amenity second to none. Airport transfer was good and location on riverfront near modern shopping centre also useful. Arranged a driver and tour of the old Buda area with the hotel and concierge assisted with arranging dinner cruise for family.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TadGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear TadGlobal,
Thank you very much for writing about your recent stay. I am much pleased to see that you were impressed by the stunning view of the sunset behind the river Danube and the Buda Castle. I find it great that you chose our Club InterContinental services with brilliant food and beverage selection. I am happy to hear how much satisfied you were with our Concierge services. I would be glad to be standing at your disposal when you visit Budapest again.
With kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,201
    932
    175
    46
    22
See reviews for
501
1,404
162
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,002)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
york
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We are four ladies who regularly have girly city breaks. We've just returned from a fabulous trip to Budapest. What a lovely city! From a seamless and efficient prearranged pick-up at the airport we arrived at the hotel. Everything about the hotel surpassed our expectations, from the bedroom river view to the wonderful staff. Nothing was too much bother - from the attentive bellboy leaping to open the door for us to the excellent dining room staff to the immaculate and well-informed reception and concierge staff. We used the hotel pool and booked massages - another lovely experience. I even took photos of the fantastic breakfast buffet! We ate in the restaurant and sat outside every evening for a night cap or two. Ok, the drinks are expensive, but this is a city and the location and view made it worth every penny. We booked our tickets for the hop-on,hop-off bus and the evening river dinner cruise from the ever-helpful concierge. We really couldn't find fault with anything. We also loved the beautiful enormous hotel foyer with huge vases of fresh flowers, piano player, pictures and sculptures. The whole place was stunning and spotless and an absolute credit to the manager and staff. Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: River view room more expensive but worth evert penny. No need to take hair dryer or shampoo etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roombudYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear roombudYork,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing your comment. It is really delighting to read your review through. I especially like that you mention the attentive and well-informed staff ready to be assisting you and the decorative flowers, art pictures and sculptures in the lobby spiced with piano-music. I would be most happy to welcome you back on your next city break with friends or family.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
411 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

The big plus about this hotel is it's location....right on the Danube in the town Center. You can walk to most of the main attractions and the metro station is a five minute walk from the hotel. Metro line one takes you to the Szcheny Bsths and Hero's Square for just $7 round trip. But you really should book a river view room. The view is amazing and a joy to wake up to. Guests on the city side look out onto a busy street and buildings. Another helpful hint: if you do get a river view room and you come in the summer, email the hotel and ask that the air conditioning be turned on in you room prior to arrival. Our room was unbearably hot when we arrived, but cooled off in a couple of hours.
The hotel staff is very friendly and we used the concierge to book dinner reservations for us at near by restaurants, easy to walk to...Cafe Kor and Tigris, both very good.
The breakfast buffet is HUGE with so many choices...cooked to order omelettes, fruit buffet, hot food buffet, cold meats and cheese, and bread and pastry buffet and so much more..the food choices are endless!
We did feel that the prices in the bar were really exorbitant...$12 for a non- alcoholic drink, $9-$12 for s beer! Just step outside, wander down the river bank and visit one of the restaurant bars next door, where you can get s freshly made mojoto and other drinks for $3.50.
But if you want an excellent location that let's you walk to the parliament buildings, castle hill, St. Stephen's Basilica, Jewish Synagogue and more, then you will be very happy!

Room Tip: Do get a room with a river view..it's spectacular at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenLakeReener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear GreenLakeReener,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing your review. I am delighted to read your comments about the city attractions, public transportation, amazing view and your compliments on the hotel staff and the services provided. I regret that you disliked the price-value ratio in the bar on the other hand I am happy that you were cheered up by our concierge recommendations. I am sure there is still many things left to see from this ever changing city and I would be delighted to welcome you back to InterContinental Budapest in the near future.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
13jan47
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Although it is a great location, but unfortunately beware of being ripped off.
I requested an airport pickup for my midnight arrival from London which had a rate in the local currency. It was 18600 HUF which is equal to around €60. When I was checking out two days later I see on my bill that airport drop off in the same black Mercedes was 8500 Huf.
After paying €88 I realised on my way to airport that I was misinformed and ripped off. As they should have charged me 8500 HUF for pick up as well for the same car.
So I asked the driver to turn around and I went back to hotel reception to request a refund for the 10000 HUF they charged me as extra. They agreed and paid back the money they owed me.
To my greatest surprise, they forced my sisters who were checking out five hours after me to pay them the 10000 HUF they paid me.
This is very tricky, I am writing a complaint to the top management.
Terrible experience to me and my sisters.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Beshahhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Beshahhi,
Thank you for taking your comment and for having chosen InterContinental Budapest. I regret that you feel disappointed and unsatisfied about your transfer arrangements. Let me point out that the transfer rates of our limousine service partner are published and clearly communicated. Different price levels per route can occur due to various car types and transportation services based on official regulations. When guests reserve a transfer service than rates are openly communicated and the transfer itself is only booked if previously confirmed. Alternatively yellow taxis are available however charge will be calculated by the taximeter to be paid at the end of the journey. I hope to welcome you again at our hotel should your travels bring you back to Hungary.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

A wonderful location and very friendly staff. Rooms are ok even if a bit smaller than what you can expect from a 5 stars.
Restaurant is delicious with a large variety of choices.
The spa can be improved as the quality of the massage was below the average to me.
In general, I had a very good experience.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthieu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Matthieu R,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay. I am happy that you draw attention to the very friendly staff in our hotel. I am glad that you were satisfied with the room & the restaurant and regret that the massage could have been better delivered to your needs. Thank you for complimenting the generally good experience. I am looking forward to welcoming you back when you return to the city.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is in a great position, overlooking the Danube, being close to the chain bridge and parliament building and other buildings of note and the lively part of Budapest, with all it's wonderful attractions.

Service and breakfast are also excellent. The biggest let down with the hotel is the small standard rooms and bathrooms in desperate need of a makeover. They are also dark and a little dreary.

I did enquire about being moved to a room overlooking the Danube, but they wanted to charge me another 40 euros a person! ouch!

Room Tip: try not get put at the rear of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear david m,
Thank you for taking time writing your comment and for complimenting the benefits of beautiful location and excellent service. I regret that the room size and furniture did not met your expectations. Let me draw the attention that when creating a room reservation our hotel offers various choices aiming to fulfil various guest needs such as room size, view, equipment and rate-value ratio. I am happy that you show satisfaction due to cleanliness, service and sleep quality. I would be much happy to welcome you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the Intercontinental Budapest, mainly because we wanted a hotel near the centre and the main attractions. From the moment we entered the hotel were treated as special guests, the doormen were quick to move our bags, providing information about the hotel as we made our way to the room. The reception staff were extremely polite and also informative, providing this with a smile (such a little thing but how it changes the relationship!). The room was overlooking the river and what a view, the whole castle is on the opposite bank, whether its day or night this is a really great view! Despite being on the riverfront and near to the tramline that runs along the promenade, we had two great nights sleep.

We signed up for the Club Lounge instead of taking the normal breakfast, this turned out to be a great idea, as not only do they provide breakfasts, you can get lunchtime and evening snacks plus soft drinks during the day and some alcoholic drinks in the evening. There are PCs here for club guests and a printer if need to print boarding passes. The Club staff will help you get started.

The location is fantastic, a short walk to the Chain Bridge and over to the Buda area for the castle and some brilliant photo opportunities. The shopping district is just a few minutes away and almost everywhere you look, there are fantastic buildings and squares. The city has a lot or really intriguing bronze statues all around but the one we found the most popular is directly outside this hotel. This lifesize bronze artist attracted hundreds of people in the short-time we were having a drink on the terrace. If you like people watching this was up there as one of the most enjoyable we have ever had.

All round we felt the experience of this hotel was very positive, I can't recall a single member of the staff not greeting us and smiling. We will definately return.

Room Tip: Always try and get a river view, it really is worth it as the river always has something going on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Rob T,
Thank you very much for taking your time writing about your recent experience in InterContinental Budapest. I am much happy about your story that reflects information from the time of stepping into the hotel building and being warmly welcomed by the smiling and informative staff through a good night sleep, the Club Lounge exclusive benefits and easy boarding pass printing to the living art of the city. I will be very happy to be standing at your disposal on your soon coming return to the capital of Hungary.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
2,949 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
335 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, IHG, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing