We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View from this Hotel room! the bridge is wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #30 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend, it was lovely. Very easy journey from the airport. Lovely breakfast. Very comfortable spacious room, with spectacular panoramic river views. When the bridge was lit up at night it was magical. Lovely city, very interesting place to visit. Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for River view its well worth the extra.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CouplefromStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Dear CouplefromStaffs,
Thank you very much for writing your comment. I am happy that you had a pleasant & unforgettable experience in our hotel and found the room comfortable. I look forward to your next visit in town.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,410)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 3,410 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel's architecture doesn't fit in with Budapest in general but I realized they probably designed it to have glass exposure so that the view of the Buda side cannot be missed!!! Everywhere you sit in lobby, lounge, and river view you see the beauty of Buda side! Day or night the view is unbelievable!!! Make the reserv. Early so that you don't pay arm and leg for view room. The breakfast is very good and the staff are nice. The cleaning crew is also very good. We were family of four so having two connecting room made our stay more comfortable. At night there is a great lounge band, The hotel is right next to bridge, river tour boats, and few blks from promenades, popular streets and the metro is close by. There are also tons of taxis. Be careful with taxi make sure they are badged or have hote/ restaurant call one for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewagner26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2014

Dear ewagner26,
Thank you for taking your time writing your comment. Thank you for taking note of the design-view correlation. I am happy that you were satisfied with the cleaning services, the breakfast and the evening music. I found your city related information useful. I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Had a great stay at the Intercontinental last week. Great location with magnificent views. Each room faces the Danube. Plenty of restaurants around locally and a cheap little mini market behind it down the road. Front desk staff were very helpful, but though door staff was a little stuffy. They didn't seem to enjoy their job much. Concierge was helpful and offered good insights, nice lobby were you can sit and have a drink too

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank osubarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear osubarry,
thank you for writing your comment. I am pleased to see how much you enjoyed the magnificent view and was interested towards the staff. I am happy that you were satisfied with the insight recommendation of our concierge team. I am looking forward to hosting you on your next visit.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on visiting Budapest for the first time. We are widely travelled and stay at many good hotels. But the customer service experience we had at this hotel was exceptional from our registration till departure. We wish to thank Bogdan Front desk Mgr and Gyula Rooms division director for making our stay at your hotel so memorable as we had one of the best rooms overlooking the buda castle and bastille church and freedom bridge. In particular, the attendants at the club lounge were so efficient, friendly and always willing to please. I wish to thank Zoltan and Eniko for all their kindness and making our visits to the lounge so nice as they were always so welcoming and offering their services. We will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and be visiting very soon again

Room Tip: Ask for the 7 th floor facing the river and the castle and church.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Julie K,
Thank you very much for writing your comments about your recent stay and experience. I am very happy to read that you found excellent service overall in our hotel especially comparing to your wide travelling experiences. Thank you for drawing attention to our nice staff standing at guests disposal and I will forward your compliments to them personally. I am delighted that you are recommending InterContinental as a great choice for visitors in Budapest.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The hotel is fantastic.

We were upgraded to a river view room free of charge.

The hotel is spotless and has a large number of facilities including a great gym and pool.

I would definitely recommend this to all ages.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhartles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear Rhartles,
thank you for writing your comment on your short break. I am happy that you found the hotel spotless, enjoyed different facilities and recommend with confidence.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here just before taking a river cruise. One of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. Staff was quick, attentive and respectful. Room was extremely comfortable with a glorious view of the river. Bath was good, bed was great and food in the restaurant was always excellent. Would definitely recommend this well located and well organized property to those on business or pleasure trip.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoomZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear RoomZoom,
Thank you very much for writing your review. I am much pleased to read that it's been one of the best hotel experiences with attentive and respectful hotel staff at the background. I am happy to read your compliments on the room and restaurant comfort. Thank you for recommending our property to other visitors.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

I've heard good things about this hotel, but actually I wasn't impressed. Firstly they messed up my room booking and whilst they were quick enough to change it, I ended up with a view of the buildings across the street, not the Danube as expected. The hotel commented that if I insisted on a double that's what was available to me. Very disappointed given this is a corporate account for them.

Next thing was that when they moved me, they also
Changed my rate - to the standard room rate, not the discounted corporate .... It took some arguing but they did sort it on checkout.

Beer - expensive! More so than the marriott about 0.5 miles down the road... And that's expensive itself.

Room 452 - not particularly spacious. Channels not a particularly great English. Wifi Internet does also not work well in this room. Bed felt small though was comfortable.

Bar - When ordering food and drink in bar this was fine, but the waitress assumed rather than return my change that it was a tip... I would have given it anyway, but that was completely the wrong thing to do.

Breakfast - this was good. Good choice, and not rushed to complete.

This is a real shame as I was looking for a place to stay when I bring the family later in the year. It's unlikely to be here!

I'm sure with the right conditions this hotel with its Danube views would be a much better place to stay.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear dbutcher,
Thank you for taking the time to write in regards to your recent stay. I was concerned to read about your experience in connection to misunderstanding about your allocation and meal service. Although it is painful to hear when the stay is not up to one's satisfaction I find it very important to be aware of how much every detail counts - especially when being abroad at a different cultural atmosphere and unfamiliar surroundings. I hope that this one-time experience will not deter you and we can welcome you with the usual prompt and friendly service again.
Yours sincerely,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 332 in Budapest
3,006 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 332 in Budapest
4,252 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#26 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $154 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing