We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Buda-Pest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #29 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Excellent location close to all attractions. The staff were excellent and very professional, we were really impressed. Our room was upgraded to a suite with fantastic views on Danube River, the Citadel, Buda Castle, Chain bridge and Cathedral. There was a Marathon on that Sunday and I think the whole population of Budapest were running apart from myself! Great experience and I loved the place.

Room Tip: The higher the better Danube view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Entertainment100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Entertainment100,
thank you very much for writing your reveiw. I am pleased to read that you had a great experience in our hotel and writing your compliments about the professional staff and city attractions. I look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Budapest.
Yours sincerely,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,507 - 1,513 of 3,571 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

We upgraded our room to a top floor Danube River view and it was worth every Forint. Room 919. We were directly across from the Citadel and had fantastic views of Buda Castle and the Chain Bridge. The city is beautifully lit up at night. The room was large, quiet and very comfortable. Excellent buffet breakfast with an amazing assortment of baked goods. Very helpful front desk staff and concierge.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear Andrew C,
thank you for writing your comment. I am much pleased to read how satisfied you were with the right choice of room regarding price-value ratio, view experiment and comfort. Thank you for noting about the helpfulness of the staff and the great breakfast. I hope to be standing at your disposal on your next visit to the city.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I read the reviews here so I assumed I'd end my vacation on a high note. Needless to say I was shocked by what I found. The lobby has all the charm of a bus terminal, with a similar mix of tourists in shorts and t-shirts and people who look homeless. I can't believe Intercontinental put their name on this room, which would need upgrading to fit in a Holiday Inn. I've posted pictures to prove it. The decor is cheap, dreary and worn. The carpet is faded. The shower has a cheap plastic curtain around it. As for amenities, there's an electric kettle and packets of instant coffee, and the wifi disconnects you literally every minute or two. (This is my fifth try posting this.) And people have rated this the #21 hotel in Budapest? #22 must have the plague and wolverines.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RomanHans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Dear RomanHans1,
I wish to thank you for taking your time writing your review. Reading with concern your valuable customer feedback I understand you must have been disappointed looking for integrity and habitual convenience. I would be glad to draw your attention to our numerous room types and suites available with different levels of comfort and equipment that are designed to meet various kind of guest needs. Therefore with confidence I look forward to your next choice of accommodation in our hotel.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I am from Indonesia and stayed in this hotel on April 25-29, 2014. We were here as a group from Prudential Indonesia consisted of around 400 people who stayed at the hotel. The Intercontinental hotel is a Nice hotel with a good view. It is easy to reach by public transportation. Metro line 1 station is just walking distance that takes you less than 3 minutes. Tram 2 stop is right in front of the hotel. It is highly recommended if you want to stay for days in Budapest for holiday or business trip. The staff could manage our big group well

Thank Emmy Budi A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Dear Emmy Budi A,
Thank you very much for writing your comment. I am pleased that you took note of the hotel services as being a member of a group. Thank you for mentioning the easy ways of public transportation in the surrounding area and for recommending our hotel both for business and leisure travellers. I hope to have the chance welcoming you and your group in the near future again.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Spent 5 nights in April on business. Location is perfect – right on the Danube near the Chain Bridge on the Pest side of the city. No more than a 10-15 minute walk down to the Parliament or across the bridge to the castle district. Enjoyed a room with a view of the Danube. About a 30 minute drive from the BUD airport. And 5 minute walk to some pedestrian shopping and dining options.

Hotel buffet breakfast is extensive and included warm and cold options. Service was excellent!

No issues with the wifi connection in the room or common areas.

Gym was not the largest but was never crowded so no issues getting access to any equipment.

Would recommend property to anyone visiting Budapest.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear michekara,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about your five night stay in InterContinental Budapest. I read with delight that you found the service excellent, the wifi connection for your satisfaction and enjoyed the gym facilities. Thank you for recommending the hotel for other travellers. I look forward to welcoming you again in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Just got back from a lovely few days in Budapest this hotel was great on the river beside Chain Bridge on the Pest side, Read some reviews about WIFI just to clarify WIFI is Free for the standard connection which was great for reading a few emails and some 'Googling' If you are after a faster connection their is a charge. Personally didn't find the Free standard connection a problem and was a good strong signal all over the hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the river view it worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggy_jaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear baggy_jaz,
Thank you for writing your comment about your recent stay. I am glad that you had a lovely few days spent in our hotel and you enjoyed both the hotel services and the surrounding city attractions. I read with delight your compliment about the internet service. I look forward to be at your service on your next trip to Budapest.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Stayed here for the F1 weekend. Luckily, I stumbled on Bennie Ecclestone in the lift. I asked for a room with a good view Danube River and the Chain Bridge. I got it. Check in was quick and I managed to get a room straight away even though I arrived at about 10am. The restaurant downstairs facing the river is simply gorgeous. Live music at night and great food and lovely service. The salmon meal was the best I've ever had. The hotel is nicely located close to malls, shops and night life. When I come back to Budapest I'm staying here. No second thoughts.

Room Tip: Get a corner room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkn889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claus G, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear kkn889,
thank you very much for placing your reveiw about your summer experience. I read with delight that your check-in went smooth, you found the restaurant gorgeous, the live music great and the service lovely. I would be more than happy welcoming you to InterContinental Budapest on your next visit to this fascinating city.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 336 in Budapest
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#25 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $158 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing