We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view to the river Danube”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #26 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best view to the river Danube”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

When thinking of Budapest Intercontinental I could imagine only best words.

The hotel is marvelous.
Rooms are spacious, cosy and very clean.
Breakfast is perfect - both food and service.

View to the river we have from the room was probably the best in the city.
Quite satisfied with our visit and staying - will definitely return back some day.

Room Tip: Definitely ask the room with the view to the river Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataliaS938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear NataliaS938,
I am very happy to read your comment. Such words of praise are warming up my heart. I am really happy that we could contribute to your well-being throughout your stay with spacious, cosy and clean rooms and enjoyable food&beverage experience. I am happy that you left satisfied after your trip and looking forward to the next occasion to visit us. I will be more than happy to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,204
    933
    175
    47
    22
See reviews for
502
1,405
164
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham UK
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days for a conference. I was very pleased that I had reserved a room with a view over the Danube and the Palace - what a picture. The staff were fluent in English and extremely helpful in all aspects. The food in the restaurant was very good throughout and room service was of the same standard. Comfortable room, ensuite with in bath shower, could do with a renewal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A9J5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear A9J5,
thank you for placing your review. I am pleased that you and your colleagues have chosen InterContinental Budapest as a venue for your conference. I am happy that you found the staff extremely helpful and that both restaurant and room service meals met your expectations on standard. I look forward to welcoming you again in one of our comforting rooms in the near future.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marssl
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The best part of this hotel is the location. It's right on the river adjacent to the chain bridge. All of the major sights are easily within walking distance. Rooms are large and nicely decorated. Our booking also included the breakfast buffet, which was large and very good. The only downside was the wifi, which they charge an arm and a leg for.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marssl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear marssl,
thank you very much for your review. Thank you very much for highlighting the "perfect" location of our hotel which enables our guests to reach the main attractive sights easily. I am happy to hear that you took advantage and enjoyed our buffet breakfast. In regards to wi-fi charges I would like to inform you that from 1st January 2014 all IHG Rewards Club members have access to free standard internet in our hotel. I very much look forward to a warm welcome on your next visit in Budapest and our hotel.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The hotel has magnificent views and the staff are well trained and courteous BUT the rooms are still set in the 1980s and are desperately in need of modernisation and in particular the bathrooms which really are more appropriate for a 3 star hotel than the claimed 5 stars!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew_MT5172BV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Andrew_MT5172BV,
thank you for taking your precious time to write your comment. I am happy that you liked the magnificent view and especially it makes me proud that you found the staff well trained. I am sad to read your personal opinion about the interior. It might have been disappointing for you to look for joyful experience through modernized environment. I would like to reassure you that we continuously pay attention to keep the building well maintained and the inside atmosphere carefully decorated for the most comfort of our guests in order to harmonize with the charm of the city heritage style. I hope we can welcome you again in our hotel in the near future.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This Hotel is really worth stopping in, facilities first class, staff wonderful, spacious room and bathroom with view over Danube. Quiet with the public areas spacious and comfortable all with a stunning view over the river. Breakfast delicious, plus delicious snacks in the bar area as well as full meals in the dining-room. a short walk to St Stephen's, attractions and the underground, three stations to the Opera House. Easy Walk over the bridge to the chair lift up to the castle.

Room Tip: Rooms on the River Danube side with view of the Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishAnnC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear TrishAnnC,
thank you for taking your time writing your comment. I am happy that you found our facilities first-class and worthy to stopping in. I see that you have spent quality time to go around the city as well. Thank you for taking a note about the comfort of the room and the spacious public area. I hope we can welcome you in Budapest again.
Best wishes,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

On arrival we upgraded to a river view and it was just amazing! Great view.

The rooms were very clean and luxurious. The sleeping comfort was fantastic.

Wifi was free and strong signal.

Breakfast was delicious. Very large selection to choose from.

Staff were friendly.

The dinners were reasonable priced.

I'll definitely be recommending this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma-Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Emma-Leigh,
thank you very much for writing your comment about your hotel experiences. I am really happy to read such a satisfying review. I am very much pleased that you found the room luxurious and you could sleep well. Thank you for mentioning that you found the wifi connection strong and for recommending other Budapest-visitors to stay in our hotel.
I hope to be hosting you again in the near future.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Århus, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This hotel has a fantastic location right next to the river with a magnificent view to the castle. You will love your stay. The breakfast buffet was terrific. The rooms are clean and spacious. The service is great. You are in walking distance to the Buda Castle District, shopping area, parliament etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gottrup_friis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear gottrup_friis,
thank you for writing your review. I am happy that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and Budapest. I am glad that we could contribute to your memorable vacation by hosting you and providing a great service.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,955 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
340 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing