We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #28 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Four of us stayed 3 nights , What a super hotel, can not find one word wrong. Food delicious, staff couldn't have been mor helpful at all times. Views of Buda and the Danube in the evening illuminations from the hotel are an added bonus.
jdm.rowthorne@btinternet.com

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank RedbrickJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear RedbrickJ,
I am happy that you enjoyed delicious food and recognized our staff as being most helpful. I am really becoming delighted when you write we are a super hotel and everything was satisfactory for you including the evening view to the illuminated city - as the cherry on the pie.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,591 - 1,597 of 3,513 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

Centrally located close to all attractions in the city center. My room was very spacious. The lobby and other areas were also very nice. Great for couples and people who want to stay close to the center.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleahx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear aleahx,
thank you for placing your review. I am glad to read that noted our hotel being close to several nearby attractions. I am delighted to read that you found your room spacious and the lobby nice. I appreciate drawing the attention to our hotel for couples and for those looking for a lively downtown location with a relaxing atmosphere inside. Looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully in the next year.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed there for 4 nights. It satisfied all our expectations. The hotel is the nearest one to the Danube, Castle, Basilica which means they are a hop away. There are nice hotels around. One main shopping street is also very near. Moreover since Christmas was approaching they set up small wooden shops near the large areas around shopping streets.It made a very warm atmosphere especially during evenings. In summary the hotel location is in the best place it can be. The hotel staff were great. The people at the concíerge were very friendly, speaking very clear English, trying to give their utmost help tirelessly. The city tour company is at the backside of the hotel which was a great help to take early tours. Breakfast was most satisfactory serving people from all regions around the world namely international The waiters were very polite and helpful. The room was very spacious overlooking the Danube. Who wouldn't like to have breakfast with a view of wonderful buildings on the other side of the river. One day I had to take an early trip and they prepared a satisfying breakfast box to have on the way. We enjoyed the free wifi with internet cards both in the lobby and in the rooms. I think that is the result of the criticism they received. I felt the secrecy from the reception desk while receiving these cards with the hush - don't tell anyone- gesture. The rooms were clean every day. Although the bathroom was alittle small for an executive room it was neat and satisfactory.The hotel was quiet and I witnessed no disturbance. The king bed was pretty comfortable with a nice mattress. The window frames were of the old style ones with alot of heat leakage to the outside cold during our stay. However this didnot create a problem since heating was ok. The price we paid was worth every penny for the service we received. I recommend Intercontinental Hotel Budapest to everyone who visits the city. Whenever I will travel to Budapest this hotel will be my choice again.

Room Tip: Choose the execeutive rooms that overlooks the Danube. It may cost alittle more but gives you more r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nkohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear nkohen,
First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking your time sharing your opinion. I am glad that our hotel satisfied all your expectations. I like the nearby Christmas market mentioned which really provides a nice and unique selection of handmade handicraft products and authentic local dishes. I think it really worth to see. It makes me feel proud to read that you were touched by the friendliness of our Concierge Team, the easiness of tour organizing and that you found the breakfast satisfactory. I am delighted that you liked the room comfort and all related services.
Thank you for choosing InterContinental Budapest for your next stay as well. I am very much looking forward to a warm welcome back.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stayed for three nights while touring Budapest. Great location for exploring the city. Fantastic views as mentioned in other reviews. Very helpful concierge desk. Disappointed that there is a charge for wifi internet use in room. Other hotels to check out which are very close are the Sofitel and Marriott, but you can't go wrong at the Intercontinental.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Jeff873,
Thank you very much for taking your time placing your review. I am very glad to read that you were fascinated by the location and the view of our hotel not to mention your comment on the helpful concierge desk. In regards to wi-fi charges I would like to inform you that InterContinental Hotels Group offers the benefit of free internet for Elite members and it will be available to all members in 2014. I am very proud to learn that you were satisfied with the overall stay experience and recommend our hotel as first choice among nearby ones.
I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Just spent three very nice nights in this lovely hotel. Great location and within walking distance of pretty much everywhere. Breakfast was a bit disappointing - ample buffet choice but most hot dishes presented tepid at best!
The biggest issue for me, and I guess most if not all business visitors, is that the hotel has no free wifi - come on Intercontinental, get in this century and keep up with the competition - you can even get free wifi on the 'hop-on-hop-off bus', (had to go to the nearby John Bull Pub to get e-mails), so you lost my bar trade!

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view and above the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Peter G,
Thank you very much for taking the time writing your comments. I am glad to see that you liked your overall experiences in our hotel. I am delighted to see that you find our hotel being lovely and well located. In regards to wi-fi charges I would like to inform you that InterContinental Hotels Group offers the benefit of free internet for Elite members and it will be available to all members in 2014. I very much hope for a warm welcome on your next visit to Budapest.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Budapest is one of the fastest rising stars in the corporate event and meeting scene, and the InterCont there is definitely part of this rise.

as far as business hotels go, this one got it right. it starts with the location. sitting right at the danube, you can hardly get any closer to the castle AND the basilica. take a stroll along the river, or head into the city for sightseeing, cross the bridge and go up the hills for the castle, or to the citadel, it's all just a hop away.

the nature of my business in these hotels includes that i get the back side rooms, so i can't report about the scenery other than from the breakfast restaurant, the meeting rooms, the hallway or from stepping outside, and hey - it's grand, make no mistake. get a waterfront room if you can.

the room itself sports everything one needs, from a huge bed with a firm mattress to a clean, functional and neat bathroom that could be, if i had to find something negative, a bit bigger but still has not only a tub, but also a heated mirror (doesn't steam up after a shower), which is a rare luxury. master switches next to the bed are convenient, and there's no card slot for power - you can charge your laptop when you're not in the room. and most importantly: it's quiet. never heard a neighbor, room service, hallway activites.

breakfast is enormous and diverse, their restaurant kitchen is overall performing very nicely. i loved the spa, the only weird thing is it's located on the meeting room floors, so there's some mingling with bathrobes and business suits around the elevators sometimes.

architecturally from the outside, well, the 70ies happened in Hungary also and people actually thought that's ok. good thing though, from the inside you don't get any of this, it's beautifully done and tastefully furnished.

service is impeccable, everybody is friendly, most speak english, and everything was found not only to my own, but to everybody else's satisfaction, and that's worth mentioning since there's some spoiled people in the company i travel with.

the bar has an exquisite selection of fine spirits, and is a well designed chill out zone. again, very friendly and helpful service.

overall, i know i'll be going back, and i'm looking forward to it. i can only recommend this place.

Room Tip: facing the danube will sport a grand view of the castle every morning. well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaseinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear chaseinger,
I wish to say thank you for sharing your thorough review. It makes me delighted to learn all your experiences throughout your business trip. I become satisfied reading that you recognize InterContinental Budapest being among the fastest rising stars as a meeting scene. I am happy that you found the room convenient in all different aspects and that you have liked the breakfast, bar and spa services. It makes me feel glad that you value our property as beautifully done and tastefully furnished. I am delighted that our staff interactions made you feel content for all of you in your group. I am very much looking forward to welcoming you back in our hotel on your next trip to Budapest and I would like to add that I am very proud reading that you recommend our facilities.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Oh my Goodness! We stayed here for 3 nights for a Business meeting. Oh my lord the view from our room was spectacular like a perfect photo! over looking the river and The Chain Bridge. This hotel is right next to Fisherman's Bastion. It's also lots of restaurants in just a short walked. I love this hotel. And great service as well.

Room Tip: ask for the river and The Chain Bridge view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsNixon_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Dear jr_2009,
thank you for sharing your opinion. I am so amazed how you enjoyed our view of the Danube, Chain Bridge and Fisherman's Bastion. I really appreciate you mentioning the restaurants in walking distance and the great service that met your expectations. I hope to be standing at your disposal on your next trip to Budapest.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 336 in Budapest
3,125 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 336 in Budapest
4,382 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Family Hotel in Budapest
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#25 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $135 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing