We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location...and what a stunning view you get with it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #26 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock, New York
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Location, location, location...and what a stunning view you get with it!”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was top notch from beginning to end. We were received at the Club Lounge for registration and served food and drinks while we registered. We were given a very comfortable room with a wonderful view of Buda and its Castle Hill. Seeing the hilltop of Buda at night from our bedroom was so spectacular, I could have stayed up all night just staring at this magnificent vista.

Of all the Intercontinental Hotels we stayed at during this European family rendezvous, I found this hotel to be the best. The staff were always eager to help, the breakfast buffets abundant, the rooms were clean and comfortable and most of the sites to see were within walking distance of the hotel. I wish we had spent another day or two more just to relax and take time exploring Budapest. it just felt like a jewel of a city best experienced at a slower pace to see, feel and enjoy the sites or even doing nothing! I could have spent hours at our hotel window just gazing at the unobstructed view of the River Danube and Castle Hill spread before our eyes!

My husband and I liked walking over the Chain Bridge to Buda and back before dinner and watch the city light up before us. We would then go back to the hotel Club Lounge for drinks and finger food which was always abundant and excellently prepared. A young man by the name of Viiktor looked after us so impeccably well during our stay there that he has set a standard in my opinion that Intercontinental Club Lounge staff should aspire to emulate. Always solicitous and eager to help be it another drink, a cup of consommé for Madam, or just interesting conversation about his city, he was charm and professionalism all marvelously rolled into one package. We never lacked for anything when he was around and are so grateful for that.

I would like to go back to Budapest again in the near future. We did not do the city justice because of our shortened stay there. I wouldn't mind another Intercontinental Hotel experience like this one again either!

Room Tip: a room with a view of Castle Hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Footloose916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Footloose916,
thank you very much for placing your opinion. I was very much interested in all your experiences that you mentioned to encounter during your stay in our hotel. I am delighted to read that you have found our hotel the best throughout your European tour of hotels. I am happy to see that you have been amazed by the beautiful sights of Budapest and the nearby attractions to our hotel. I am really glad that you could spend a memorable time in our Club Lounge enjoying all the facilities offered. I feel extremely proud that the staff of Club InterContinental has exceeded your expectations and please rest assured I will pass on your words of praise to Viktor.
I very much looking forward to welcoming you back in our property in the near future.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,204
    933
    175
    47
    22
See reviews for
502
1,405
164
729
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,003)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Although I was in Budapest for business and did not need to be near the hotel for the business the central location is perfect for tourism and for dining out. As a gold IHG member you get of course get some additional perks, and this time it included the stunning view over the Danu looking straight at the fort and castle.
Service throughout the hotel is perfect. English skills of all personnel are of a good level. Although the hotel looks a little out dated, the hotel is still is great condition and well maintained. Except that the fan of the heater/airconditioner is loud and opening a window will introduce a lot of noise.
A few remarks though: It seems there is an agreement with only one taxi company. This can mean that at rush hours the wait is long. Why not broaden the scope and allow for more taxis to pick up customers. Especially in the morning. The other remark; I prefer to see dairy products to be offered cooled when presented at the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14NABster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear 14NABster,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We value your feedback on all your experiences. I highly appreciate that you found our services perfect and that it was easy for you to communicate with our staff in English. I am very much looking forward to a warm welcome to our hotel in the near future.
Yours sicerely,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We booked a river cruise along the Danube with a start of 3 nights at this hotel room faced the road not the river a slight disappointment but then again I was there during the Festival of St Stephen so river views were at a premium did not detract from the hotel. Room’s great, Service great from reception to booking out. Food was spectacular Breakfast choice was second to none. I would recommend this hotel but if you want a River view ask for one when booking a trick that I missed but then again there is a rail line between the hotel and River so I don’t know if that noise may affect you.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the River but bear in mind that there is a rail road between the Hotel and River...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lHornchurchPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear lHornchurchPaul,
I am happy to read that you were not at all detractad from our hotel indeed you even recommend it to others. I am glad that you found breakfast and our services second to none. I hope that during your next visit you can enjoy our world heritage panorama from the river side windows.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Four night City Break through Jet2 holidays,being November we decided that a top class hotel would be a safeguard lest the weather became severe. Excellent hotel, really helpful and friendly staff, especially the concierge desk staff who gave us great advice on sites to see and restaurants to try. The facilities are good with a swimming pool and gym; we did take a look at the facilities but found so much to see and do that we never found time to enjoy them which was a shame.
The location made sightseeing easy and the river views at night were well worth the modest additional charge for a river view. We'd certainly consider another visit, perhaps in the spring or summer as a contrast.
We booked taxi transfers online and were met at the airport and collected for our return exactly as promised; all in cost both ways €41.00.

Wat

Room Tip: Request river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Wat,
I am glad that you have spent an enjoyable city break with us. It makes me feel especially proud to see that you found our staff really helpful, friendly and that you even highlight the great advices of our concierge team. I hope to welcome you back next year when I'm sure you will take a chance to find out more about the relaxing atmosphere of our Spa.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

What a stunning view of the Danube from our room..and so beautiful after dark..rooms were very nice. Lively bar area in the lobby. Very good breakfast buffet. Would highly recommend the hotel staff from the doormen,front desk to housekeeping.

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the Danube
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdeal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear cdeal12,
thank you for placing your comment. I am very much pleased that you highly recommend our staff from all professional areas. I am glad that you have enjoyed your morning meal with us. I am looking forward to welcoming you back again for a breathtaking evening panorama from our windows.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I booked this hotel with a BA late deal and received exceptional value with breakfast included.
We paid extra to have a river view room and it was one of the best views I have ever had from a hotel window. In fact we didn't close the curtains so we could lay in bed and enjoy the view of the Chain Bridge which just happens to be a replica of the one in my home town of Marlow so it was very interesting. This hotel is in the best location, everywhere is walkable and you can't get lost. All the staff were a credit to the Intercontinental brand. Excellent breakfast choice, busy but never felt crowded and no queues at the freshly cooked station. The Concierge were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We went to the Gellert Spa one evening (when in Rome etc !)...... what a disappointment, a dismal place in my opinion with miserable, grumpy staff, so expensive just to sit in warm water and then have to pay extra for a towel when you get in, so after a 10 minute soak we walked back to the hotel to use the spa there. It is small but it has everything you need with the exception of a Jacuzzi, it is also free and we wished we hadn't paid £17 each at The Gellert. It was so relaxing and after a session in the superb steam room I felt very relaxed for an evening in the bar, enjoying a cocktail and again the views.Our bathroom was smaller than average for a hotel of this size but very clean, and a problem we had with shower head was fixed while we were at breakfast, full marks to maintenance.
OK, the building is not pretty and doesn't have a local atmosphere but if its a smooth experience you are after you cant go wrong at this superbly run hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room on the diagonal on the river side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LWells2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear LWells2310,
thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel. I feel honoured that you mention the staff is a credit to our brand and that nothing was too much trouble to the Concierge. I wish to express my solidarity to your inconvenience in the city spa - on the other hand I am just grateful to hear that the relaxation in our Spa InterContinental exceeded your expectations. I will forward your positive remarks about the smooth and efficient job done to my maintenance team manager. It makes me especially proud to learn that you have found our property as a superbly run hotel in the aggregate.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

A hotel that has excellent staff and service in a great location. Bonus was to be able to sit outside in the sunshine and have the wonderful view too. Breakfast was very good with a large selection of food. Special mention to the concierge team - they know everything!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view on a higher level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hedgehog90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear hedgehog90,
thank you very much for placing your review. I am happy to learn that you have found the staff excellent and even more our concierge team proved to be In The Know with their support throughout your stay. I very much hope that we can welcome you back to enjoy the wonderful view on the Danube and the Castle Hill in the near future.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,955 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
340 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing