We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #27 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Intercontinental hotel located on the bank of river Danube, in the heart of Budapest. Easy access to shopping streets, social clubs and restaurants. Rooms are clean but the toilet is small. All the rooms are not overlooking the Danube. They have a good spa and Gym facing the street. Only indoor pool is available. A spacious open bar near the lobby with a good view of the Buda. Advance reservation is highly recommended if you are interested in a massage. They have dedicated area for group check-in to enable smooth and quick handling of the groups.
It is a highly recommended hotel in the prime location.

Room Tip: Request for a room overlooking Buda as all the rooms do not have the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacob t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Jacob T,
thank you very much for placing your review. It makes me very proud that you took a notice of the excellent cosmopolitan location of our hotel meaning easy-to-reach social, shopping and dining facilities. I am glad that you have found the check-in with your group smooth and the group related procedures quick.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,620 - 1,626 of 3,509 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2013

Recently spent three nights at the InterContinental Budapest before traveling on a river cruise.

Must agree with other reviewers the view from our room (riverside) was spectacular. Our room was an average room but no disappointments.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful and polite. We had one dinner at the hotel which was fantastic, service was top notch. A full buffet breakfast was included everyday, which is easily one of the best I've ever seen. Each night we visited the lounge which provided superb service along with good entertainment.

The location of the hotel is within walking distance of great shopping and restaurants, we only took a cab once and only because it was raining.

I wouldn't hesitate in staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear RRlover,
thank you very much for placing your review about your three-night stay in our hotel. I am really pleased that you found the staff extremely helpful and polite. It makes me feel good that our full buffet breakfast was among your best experiences.
I would be more than happy providing a warm welcome on your next visit as well.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel is situated near the Danube and it provides an astonishing view over the Fisherman's Bastion and Danube. Especially at night, the view is magic. The hotel is also clean with a competent an polite staff - trust me, this doesn't matter compared with the view :D

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Christian W,
I am glad that you found our view over the river Danube and the Fisherman's Bastion astonishing. I am happy to hear that you were impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and by the politeness of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The beautiful Intercontinental proved a wonderful place to stay in Budapest. Our River Cruise on the Danube was cut short by a day due to bridge repairs, and our lovely Gate One cruise line provided a night at the Intercontinental to replace the lost day at sea. We were impressed from the moment we arrived with the excellent appearance of the lobby and rooms. Perhaps the most outstanding aspect was the concierge desk where someone was available from early to late. They provided helpful information about any aspect to visiting Budapest. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FirstCoastTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear FirstCoastTraveler,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us.
Also thank you for praising the services of our Concierge Team.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back.
With kindest regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Arrived by river cruise and hotel is literally across street. Very nice hotel. A bit on expensive side but great rooms. Wonderful buffet breakfast. Great location. Easy walking distance to everything. Staff very helpful. Free wifi cards Good for 2 hours but you can get as many as you need.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Terry4206,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I was very impressed with this one. The room was very clean, the staff were exceptional, the location suitable to our needs and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast service was good and the variety of food exceptional. Dinner and Cafe service as well as the food and wine served were five star. An enjoyable stay for our first few days of honeymoon.

Thank Maree S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Maree S,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me extremely delighted that you started your honeymoon in our hotel.
Congratulations on your wedding and I wish you happiness, health and joy for entire time of your marriage.
With kindest regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed during end of October 2013 for a meeting. The location was excellent. It was walking distance to everything...market place,Hard Rock cafe and sightseeing even if you have time it is a walking distance to cable car to go up to Buda hills. The best part as Moslem travelling to Budapest, the hotel management was very helpful on the meals served at their buffet. There was also a nearby Moslem Restaurant that served Halal food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azzaomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear azzaomar,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you enjyoed your stay with us.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 335 in Budapest
3,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 335 in Budapest
4,377 reviews
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $136 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing