We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #27 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superb location and service”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The beautiful Intercontinental proved a wonderful place to stay in Budapest. Our River Cruise on the Danube was cut short by a day due to bridge repairs, and our lovely Gate One cruise line provided a night at the Intercontinental to replace the lost day at sea. We were impressed from the moment we arrived with the excellent appearance of the lobby and rooms. Perhaps the most outstanding aspect was the concierge desk where someone was available from early to late. They provided helpful information about any aspect to visiting Budapest. I would stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstCoastTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear FirstCoastTraveler,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am delighted to read that you had a great stay with us.
Also thank you for praising the services of our Concierge Team.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back.
With kindest regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,134
    888
    165
    42
    22
See reviews for
482
1,347
157
706
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (971)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Arrived by river cruise and hotel is literally across street. Very nice hotel. A bit on expensive side but great rooms. Wonderful buffet breakfast. Great location. Easy walking distance to everything. Staff very helpful. Free wifi cards Good for 2 hours but you can get as many as you need.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry4206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Terry4206,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in a lot of hotels and I was very impressed with this one. The room was very clean, the staff were exceptional, the location suitable to our needs and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast service was good and the variety of food exceptional. Dinner and Cafe service as well as the food and wine served were five star. An enjoyable stay for our first few days of honeymoon.

Helpful?
Thank Maree S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Maree S,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me extremely delighted that you started your honeymoon in our hotel.
Congratulations on your wedding and I wish you happiness, health and joy for entire time of your marriage.
With kindest regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kota Bharu, Kelantan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed during end of October 2013 for a meeting. The location was excellent. It was walking distance to everything...market place,Hard Rock cafe and sightseeing even if you have time it is a walking distance to cable car to go up to Buda hills. The best part as Moslem travelling to Budapest, the hotel management was very helpful on the meals served at their buffet. There was also a nearby Moslem Restaurant that served Halal food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azzaomar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear azzaomar,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you enjyoed your stay with us.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

My wife and I had 2 day/night stay at the conclusion of an Avalon Waterways sponsored trip....we enjoyed our hotel stay and found the staff friendly and helpful at all times and room, bath/shower good to excellent. In room safe was easy to use. The "no-smoking" room we requested was without any detectable residua of prior use by a smoker.
We had an early flight with 5AM hotel departure...staff provided a "to go" breakfast snack box with a hot cup of coffee to have on taxi drive to airport which was much appreciated.
Overall, we readily recommend this hotel to other travelers, with exception of those who desire a 5-star type hotel experience.

Room Tip: The No Smoking room was as requested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandyT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear RandyT2011,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am happy that you and your wife had a great stay with us.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend during October. The location was fantastic right on the Danube and with the lovely weather sitting on the outside terrace was very pleasant. The room was quite small as was the bathroom but manageable for a weekend away. The staff at reception and concierge were very friendly and helpful for restaurants and what to see and do. The SPA was excellent after a day of walking with a nice indoor pool, sauna and steam room however you wouldn't know this existed as it is not mentioned at check-in or anywhere in the room.
Overall very nice stay but missing the wow factor!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Dan M,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am happy that you enjoyed your weekend stay with us.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at the Intercontinental Hotel in Budapest for 3 nights and could not have been more pleased. The location is perfect! Situated right on the Danube River at the base of the Chain Bridge. Ideal for walking across the bridge to take the Funicular up to Buda to spend part of a day. Lots of restaurants near by. We have been to Budapest many times and could not have been happier with this selection. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N2tiques4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear N2tiques4me,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you had a fantastic stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#24 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing