We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #24 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

You really couldn't stay in a more central location! It's close to everything. We had a "city view" room which is fine by me since I don't travel to sit in a hotel room and look out the window, so I can't comment on the nice views from the hotel. The room was very nice and comfortable. The staff that we interacted with was very nice and friendly. The lobby is very nice. The only thing that upset me was the lack of free WiFi. I can understand no free WiFi in the rooms, but there was no free WiFi anywhere. Not only was WiFi not free, it was exorbitantly priced to get the non-free WiFi! One day of low-speed WiFi is 4000 HUF (about US$18)! Most coffee places and restaurants in the city have free WiFi, so we went there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djtobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear djtobbe,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
In regards to wi-fi charges I would like to inform you that InterContinental Hotels Group introduced the new benefit of free internet, starting with Elite members in July 2013, and available to all members in 2014.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,114
    872
    164
    40
    21
See reviews for
474
1,339
154
694
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (964)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My room unfortunately was on the city side of the hotel so i had no view, however I stay in hotel for a place to sleep nothing more, while a view is nice it isn't my top criteria.

Room was good enough, two single beds was a suprise and very old school - perfect for two kids.

In the room was a tea kettle and requisites but I didnt take advantage of these. Toiletries in the bathroom were good but unfortunately no mouthwash but that's pretty commonplace as a missing element. Plenty of towels including facecloths so no complaints there.

Slippers and a dressing gown/robe were provided which was good.

The bed was comfortable, the airconditioning effective and the room on the whole very good.

The hotel itself is well staffed with attentive staff and the patio dining is good from the cafe with some awesome dishes.

Local fare is available as part of the indoor or outdoor eating and drinking experience.

Breakfast was superb with many options for everyone including asian cuisine!

the daily newspaper, compiled in house comes late in the day and is a bit of a waste, they should eliminate that as it is wasteful.

internet access is available throughout the hotel and was robust,

I didnt partake in the spa but a colleague said it was very good.

excellent conference location and easy walk from the castle and the shopping and cafe night life.

Room Tip: higher floor, river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClintonJ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear ClintonJ1,
I appreciate very much that you took the time to place a detailed review about your stay.
I am happy to read that you had a great time and you were satisfied with the services.
I hope to have the possibility to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Words are not enough to describe the beauty of the views this hotel offers. Wide window from wall to wall giving to the Danube and the palace across the river, without any buildings or other obstructions in between. Excellent service and hearty breakfast, room clean and spacious, comfortable beds, convenient location, highly recommended all in all. As for the spa facilities, the indoor swimming pool was very small but the massage was incredibly relaxing.

Room Tip: I asked for a smoker's room and expected to be put in a cupboard under the stairs. Instead, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanya_lamprinidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear vanya_lamprinidou,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am happy that you had a great stay with us. Also it is great to read that you were impressed by the view and the massage treatment in our Spa.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

my husband gave me a surprised b'day present & took me to Budapest. we stayed in intercontinental hotel and they have a really good service. We left home super early in the morning to catch our flight & when we arrived in the hotel on the first day they allowed us to have a breakfast from the club member room (we upgraded the room) so we can have a breakfast & afternoon tea & some kind of snacks & drinks. but the best part is the view from the window..!!! AMAZING...!!! you can see the chain bridge, buda castle, fisherman battalion and some of the views from buda area...
the staff quiet helpfull as well when we asking for some information and the hotel itself is in a great location, very close from everywhere... so happy that we chose this hotel & really recommend it..;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Neesa M,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me happy that your husband chose Budapest and our hotel as destination for your birthday trip. I am glad that you were impressed by the view and also the services provided in our Club Lounge.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We have just returned from four nights at this excellent hotel. We were greeted by a very nice and helpful receptionist and found all staff to be welcoming and helpful. In particular the concierge staff were very helpful in arranging our sight-seeing and booking restaurants for us. We found that it was impossible to get a table at the most popular restaurants without this help. The hotel restaurant staff were equally welcoming and helpful even arranging dishes that were not on the menu for us.
Our room was large, well appointed, clean and comfortable and enjoyed an uninterrupted view of Castle Hill over the Danube. The hotel probably has the best location in Budapest, by the river it is also in the shopping, restaurants and sight-seeing area.
A short video played on the TV had been prepared by the head concierge to provide an introduction to the city. We found this to be an excellent introduction and watched it several times to help with planning our days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Danube, the view is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Christine_Roger,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am happy that you had a great four-night stay with us. Also I am pleased to read that our staff contributed to your stay with their welcoming, helpful and professional attitude.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
With kindest regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
158 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed here two nights while waiting for a river cruise. The view from my room was absolutely spectacular. The hotel is very convenient to shopping and just getting around. There are more expensive hotels in the city, but why waste money when the Intercontinental is waiting for you?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Rick H,
Thank you very much for your review.
It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I agree with you that our hotel rooms are privileged of having one of the best views in Budapest.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

If you want a room with an amazing view of the Danube, the Chain bridge, and across to the Royal Palace, this is the best place to stay. The Greshams Palace round the corner certainly has more elegant interiors but the views are not as good and it's at least 3 times the price!
The interiors here were pleasant, modern and clean. The breakfast was excellent, as was the sunday buffet brunch. There is a large patio restaurant right by the river which is lovely in hot weather as not many hotels here have any outside space.
Also, one of the main tour guide companies operates from the same building (although we only discovered this upon leaving. maybe the hotel could do more to recommend good tour guide services. We ended up using the hop-on hop-off buses which were not good as very infrequent. However the concierge were very good at recommending good restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on the diagonal have the best views , as you see up the river rather than straight across it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cina42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear cina42,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is also great to know that you liked the location and the outlets of the hotel.
We hope to have the possibility to welcome you back.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,144 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#10 of 342 in Budapest
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing