We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
InterContinental Budapest
Ranked #26 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Israel
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for the weekend”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

There are no words to describe how amazing was the InterContinental hotel in Budapest.
Our hotel reservation was made with airline ticket, so we were supposed to get a standard room without a river view. Before arriving, we informed the hotel regarding our wish to stay in a non-smoking room with a river view and early check-in. The lady that answered my e-mail, Agnes, was very helpful and did everything to fill our requests. One thing to mention- the river view room cost an extra 25Euro+tax per night, BUT it was worth every penny! The view was stunning! The room (618) was very clean and comfortable- the bed was to dream in! Breakfast (included in the deal) was excellent. The selection was wide, the products were fresh and very tasty. We also enjoyed the sauna and swimming pool. The hotel location is perfect! In the heart of the town where most attractions are accessible by foot.

This hotel made our weekend in Budapest a real treat.

Room Tip: River view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niro12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear niro12,
Thank you very much for your great review.
Our rooms on the Danube side indeed have a breathtaking view. I am glad that you experienced it.
It makes me delighted that you spent such a super weekend with us.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,166
    901
    168
    43
    22
See reviews for
487
1,374
160
714
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The hotel has an unbeatable location on the Danube next to the Chain Bridge. Standard Intercontinental property with good plush rooms - the ones on the higher floor were larger in size. We had access to the lounge which had great service and views. Breakfast was good but not much for the vegetarian. Pool was indoor and small with no life boy.

Room Tip: The rooms should face the river. Higher floors give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaviDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear SaviDelhi,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you liked the location of the hotel.
Also happy about your comments on our Club Lounge.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I have been in this Hotel many times and i allways forget to commend for it. I have spent business trips there , actually the only location i choose when i am on business in Budapest and also last Christmas with my family.
What can I say.....best view of the Kings Castle and the Danube , right in the center of the town , within few minutes walk from the famous pedestrian street , with the difficult name :)
The hotel it self offers all comforts of an Intercontinental and something more , the personal touch.
For those who wish to visit Budapest , i do recomend it strongly and of course visit their new SPA , which is very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear angelo A,
Thank you very much for your great review.
I feel very pleased that you always choose us whenever your travel plans bring you to Budapest.
It makes me glad that each time you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do look forward to welcome you back soon.
With best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I just recently returned from a 10 day stay in November. The hotel is located in close proximity to all the local attractions. The rooms are very clean and the beds were comfortable. If you are able to obtain access to the Club Level I would highly recommend it if you plan on spending a lot of time at the hotel. Since I was there on business I would spend hours in the lounge preparing for work and the snacks, drinks and service in the club lounge was a life saver.

I have seen the rooms on both sides of the hotel (river and city views). If you are there on vacation I would highly recommend the river view. It makes all the difference in your hotel experience. The city view (or lack of view) seemed to make the room smaller and a lot less desirable.

TIP: THE TAXI DRIVERS IN BUDAPEST WILL DO EVERYTHING THEY CAN TO RIP YOU OFF. I WAS TOLD ONLY TO TAKE "CITY TAXI" AS THEY ARE THE MOST RELIABLE. AFTER TWO VERY BAD EXPERIENCES IN OTHER CABS, I STARTED TO ONLY USE "CITY TAXI." IT MADE ALL THE DIFFERENCE. I MUST HAVE TAKEN 25 TRIPS IN CABS WHILE I WAS THERE AND THEY SHOULD ONLY RUN ABOUT 1,400 FORINT ($6.00) FOR EVERY 10 MINUTES.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Spencer702,
Thank you very much for placing a review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your 10-day-stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Got a great value last minute booking. Hotel is next to the Danube and in walking distance to most things. Lovely comfy bed, nice friendly staff. Bathroom bit dated. Only disappointment was that you had to pay a fairly hefty sum for the internet which is most unusual these days. Still, worth every penny for the fab location though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyfluzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear suzyfluzy,
Thank you very much for your review.
I am glad that you had a great stay with us and indeed location of our hotel is fabulous.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,UK
Level Contributor
158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was our first visit to Budapest and we were not disappointed.Being Ambassador Club members we were directed to check in in the Club Lounge.Greeted by Agnes this must be one of the best lounges in the Intercontinental chain.We were given a fantastic suite overlooking the Castle and Danube with a fabulous view of the Chain Bridge.Having unpacked we returned to the lounge to avail ourselves of the food and drink on offer and we were looked after royally by Viktor.
Breakfast each morning was a delight and when Viktor was on leave we were similarly looked after by Erika and Balazs who always remembered what we had for breakfast.Agnes arranged a private tour guide for us (Anna) and we had an excellent tour of the city.Madelene,lounge reception,recommended a fantastic restaurant (Dio).Everybody in the hotel was friendly and we were so impressed by the Christmas decorations we bought Christmas wreathes from the same supplier to the hotel being given the information by the concierge.
Definitely a return to Hotel and City.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanwManchester_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear AlanwManchester_UK,
Thank you very much for staying with us during your first visit to Budapest.
I am glad that you left with such positive feelings.
Also thank you very much for marking our club lounge as one of the bests. Club Lounge is extremely important to us and we work a lot on maintaining very high level of services. I am glad that you experienced it. I will pass your compliments onto our colleagues working there.
With kindest regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Intercontinental has an excellent location on the banks of the Danube with fantastic views of the Chain Bridge and Castle Quarter.

Efficient check in. Lifts to all floors, which require room cardkey to access. 50% of rooms have spectacular views over river and Pest – sadly we booked on an offer and were on the other side. Having said that rooms more than acceptable. Free in room safe, TV with other than BBC News & CNN in English available. Furniture and bed fine – never quite understood the light system on our short stay ! Bathroom smallish but perfectly sufficient, good power shower, good quality toiletries as would be expected from luxury rated hotel. Plenty of storage and drawer space. Never heard any other guests in adjacent rooms.

All the staff we encountered were very helpful and polite and the concierge answered all my queries and was most helpful. If you require a more comprehensive tour/trip then there is an agents office within the hotel – Eurama Tours.

Our deal included buffet breakfast which had all the usual variety on offer. We found everything very good and plentiful. Eggs cooked to order. Usual slow toaster ! The chocolate croissants were gorgeous. If lucky enough to get window seat, views are lovely and a nice start to a day.

Spa/pool/gym are located on first floor – usual lockers/shower arrangement but I didn’t find any personal changing cubicle, which I do prefer.

The xmas market was a short 3 min walk in Vorosmarty Square – and meandered up Deak Ferenc Utca to the crossroads of the main Metro lines – whole walk to station would only take 10 mins at most

We purchased the Hop On/Off bus tickets from concierge 5000 HUF each and they are valid for 48 hours from first use. An excellent way to orientate yourself to the city. 1st stop is a 3 min walk from hotel and started at 10.00 am. Whole route takes 2 hrs. Ticket also includes a secondary, smaller, route and also a brief boat trip on the Danube which takes in Margaret Island – although during winter not much happening there. Personally I really enjoyed the Pest – Castle Quarter well worth a few hours, and also Heroes Square with adjacent City Park – there was a lovely outdoor ice skating rink which was well used by young and old alike. The Yellow, smaller route also includes a stop (10) at Indoor Market which was a most interesting collection of meat/veggies/herbs etc with souvenirs etc on upper level. Due to timing we never caught the yellow bus, so got off red route at stop (9) and walked 10 mins very easily.

Eats/Drinks: Hotel as you would expect quite expensive and minibar exorbitant! Right across road is a pub called John Bull, we only had 1 meal there which was lovely. I ordered Club Sandwich which would really have been enough for 2 to share, couldn’t finish it. However top of my recommendation would be the Trofea Grill – map ref F2 on tour bus map. 3 mins from Deak Ter station. Cost 5499 HUF pp but includes drinks also (not spirits). Really good food/service and worth a visit. Very busy after 7.00pm so consider booking before - email: trofea.kiraly@gmail.com – located on 30-32 Kiraly Utca.

Transport: 3 ways to transfer from airport Taxi approx 6500 HUF one way, Airport Shared Shuttle (minibus) approx 9000 HUF return per couple. Public transport – which we did - very efficient and easy. Buy tickets from shop behind shuttle desk – need 4 tickets (320 HUF each) for 2 people. 1 ticket is valid for 1 mode of transport without changing. Exit terminal, turn left approx 100 yds to bus stop 200E which runs frequently. Once onboard insert 1 ticket per person into orange box which is then stamped. Stay on til end and you reach bus station which is also a shopping mall – about 20/25 mins. Cross road to access Metro line 3 (blue) Punch next ticket in boxes located just before going down to platform. Trains only go one way as end of line. Take 10 stops to Deak Ter – about 20 mins. Its less than a 10 min stroll to hotel from here, but you could purchase another ticket and transfer to Metro line 1 (yellow) for 1 stop to Vorosmarty Ter - but its so close I didn’t think it was worth it.

Budapest has some lovely buildings and was well worth a city break. Intercontinental is an excellent base. The main shopping street Vaci Utca is just off Vorosmarty Ter around the corner and is main pedestrian shopping area with usual designer names.

Hope you enjoy your stay we certainly did.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travisgud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClausGeisselmann, General Manager at InterContinental Budapest, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Travisgud,
Thank you very much for your review.
It makes me happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is great that your review includes so many suggestions regarding sight-seeing, transportation possibilities, etc. I am sure that other travellers appreciate it.
Best regards,
Claus Geisselmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 333 in Budapest
2,881 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#11 of 333 in Budapest
299 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
4,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Budapest

Property: InterContinental Budapest
Address: Apaczai Csere Janos utca 12-14, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#16 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Budapest 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterContinental Budapest hotel is situated directly by the Chain bridge overlooking the Royal Palace. This impressive hotel offers 402 beautifully appointed guestrooms, many of which enjoy a fabulous river-view. You may also choose from 18 exquisite Suites and a Presidential Suite. State-de-art conference facilities with capacity up to 900 person; 10 breakout rooms; Club Lounge with a breathtaking view of the Danube; SPA; 24 hr Fitness Centre, swimming pool, steam room and sauna; All day dining Corso Restaurant, Bar. An ideal choice for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your InterContinental Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Budapest Hotel Budapest
Budapest Intercontinental
Intercontinental Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing