We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Nearby Hotels
$111
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $162/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $115/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$306
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
New York Palace, DA(Budapest)
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$181
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$618
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (5,927)
Filter reviews
5,927 results
Traveler rating
4,013
1,451
319
86
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,013
1,451
319
86
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschain bridgeparis restaurantluxury roomriver viewthe club loungefantastic locationfamous chainbreakfast buffetbuda castleacross the riveran upgradechristmas marketjunior suitefour seasonsbeautiful citybuda sidecentral location
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 5,927 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in the hotel. Very friendly staff. After the 1st night came back to them because ventilation in the bathroom seemed too noisy for me in the night. Got a new room almost instantly. In both rooms everything was clean, in good state. Mattresses in both rooms were a bit too soft for me, but both beds in general were very good. The rooms were quite big. Breakfast is really very good, with wide choice of dishes and excellent service.
If you can afford yourself - take this hotel. Located quite close to Intercontinental and Kempinski. All 3 are very similar, in my opinion.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank Boris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Boris,

Thank y ou for your feedback!

We are very grateful for your 3-day stay in our property and for your nice words about our colleagues and their services in general.

In fact, we are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience related to the ventillation and happy that the solution our Ambassadors offered met your needs.

Thank you for your comment about the general condition, comfort level and amenities of your room.

Eventually, we would like to thank you for your kind words about the the large selection of food and drinks served in our breakfast restaurant and for highlighting the services of our breakfast colleagues in general. Your review is very much appreciated and means a further inspiration for all of us for our future work.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel in the future, as well.

Yours sincerely,

Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were booked into this hotel by Avalon as part of a Danube cruise, and what a disappointing start to our holiday. The interior of the hotel is hollow, with rooms on 4 sides of a vast space and only a low balcony separating the walkways from the drop. If this wasn’t bad enough, all the lifts (elevators) are glass. This made every trip to or from our room a nightmare of epic proportions. When we asked the staff if there was a normal lift with solid walls, they laughed at us.
The rooms were smallish, tired and only had a feeble shower over the bath. Not pleasant. Although the main part of the room was clean, there were visible cobwebs and the edge of the carpets hadn’t seen the nozzle of a vacuum for weeks.
The breakfasts were OK, but there is a serious problem with bottlenecks. After our first night, we had to be out early for a tour, and there was a huge queue for the main dining area. If a waitress from the downstairs restaurant hadn’t come to siphon us away, we would have been forced to miss either the tour or the food.
Some of the staff were very good, others seemed to see us as getting in the way. One night, a woman mopped the whole area in front of the lifts, then gave us a filthy look when we walked over it. What were we supposed to do? Wait for it to dry?
The hotel does have a great location, and we enjoyed superb views of Buda and the Danube, but if we ever go back to Budapest, we certainly won’t be staying here.

Room Tip: River/Buda view is excellent on one side.
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Anne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your experiences regarding your stay at our hotel. We appreciate every feedback we can get from our Guests.
However, we were very concerned to read, that you experienced such an inconvenience due to the comfort of the room, and the elevator that we would like to sincerely apologize for. It was with regret to read as well that the cleanliness in the room was not proper in every aspect and that the service experienced from some of our colleagues was not according to the expectations, which were true exceptions to our normal high standards, kindly accept our sincerest apologies for these. While please allow us to ensure you, that it was not our colleagues’ intention to treat you improperly.
Kindly be ensured that I have shared your feedback with the management team in order to improve on our services and avoid similar cases happen in the future.
We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is at the heart of main attractions. You can walk to the Chain Bridge and if you’re fit enough you can walk up to the Matthias Church, Fisherman’s Bastion and the Budapest Palace. These three places are within 5 min. WalkingYou can also take the local bus up to the Budapest Palace and then walk down. I’ve also taken the funicular up there once but it is not worth the wait and it cost 1200 local currency that is not worth the 2-3 min ride.

The hotel staffs are very friendly and there is a pool with Sauna that are quite good. The breakfast buffet is amazingly well organized and quite a good way to start the day. They have fruit juice they prepared named Anti-Aging, High energy drinks.

The only complaint that I’ve is with the Concierge’s lack of local knowledge on activities in town during their national holidays other than telling us that shops are closed and main attractions shall be open. In fact, we’ve found that the town has quite a bit of activities around during that two days of national holidays.




Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Alvin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I don't usually like staying in big chain hotels. They are usually nothing to write home about and the service isn't fantastic. None of this is true however for the Budapest Sofitel.

Great location (on the bank of the Danube by the Chain Bridge). Large nicely decorated public areas , friendly and helpful staff. Very large room (we had 615) with lovely quality feel about the room and it's fixtures and fittings.

The beds were very sumptuous and comfortable , the aircon worked and was not difficult to understand. The noise isolation must be good as we didn't hear any noise from the tests of the hotel.

One of my favourites overall of all the hotels I've stayed in anywhere. I strongly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Budapest.

I only have one small complaint and that is there were not enough sockets in the room and one of those didn't work.


Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Jimbosyourman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean_Bowcott_Sofitel, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review to read! Thank you very much for this detailed summary of your stay in our hotel.

Firstly, we were happy to read how satisfied you were with the location of the property as well as its inner design.

Thank you for your kind words about our colleagues, their friendly and helpful attitude and for highlighting how much you enjoyed the magnificent views from your room.
We were also grateful that all room amenities and fittings met your needs and expectations and that the comfort level of your bed contributed to a most relaxing stay with us.
Moreover, we would like to thank you for letting us know about your opinion on electric plugs in the room-please rest assured that we have worked on it in order to avoid such inconveniences in the future.

Once again thank you for your nice words and we sincerely hope we will be able to greet you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Jean Bowcott
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Centrally located on the banks off the Danube River. All transportation available within walking distance.

Courteous staff, comfortable and spacious rooms. Breakfast is lavish and had variety.

Las Vegas casino is within the side of the premises. Definitely visiting again and highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled on business
Thank Rahulm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews