We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (5,849)
Filter reviews
5,849 results
Traveler rating
3,967
1,428
312
84
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,967
1,428
312
84
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschain bridgeparis restaurantluxury roomriver viewthe club loungefamous chainperfect locationexcellent hotelbreakfast buffetbuda castleacross the riverroyal palacean upgradechristmas marketjunior suitefour seasonsbeautiful city
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,174 - 2,179 of 5,849 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2014

This lovely, luxurious hotel is well located in the heart of the city. It's a very walkable location, near the stunning Parliament building, some markets, antique shops, and recreational sites. It's also close to the Metro and across the bridge from a incline-cog tram up to the Buda area. The buffet breakfast was marvelous, and the on-site Paris Budapest restaurant served wonderful food. We left a Viking River Cruise on the Danube just across the street, and our junior suite was more than triple the size of the Viking stateroom. The spa offers reasonably priced treatments - the massage was excellent, and the pool was beautiful. Highly recommend.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nan5049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us a review and also for your kind words you described your experience. It is our pleasure to know that our Spa area was to your liking and the various breakfast offer has exceeded your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Top class hotel & staff very helpful, location is ideal, easy walk to metro and just about all the attractions, we had a room overlooking the bridge fabulous view, bridge looked stunning at night, if you can stretch it book a river view !
Paris Budapest restaurant is also nice we just had lunch there on arrival, lovely to sit out in the open air with a beer and the view !

Room Tip: Book early to get a good deal and book a river view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deise_Boy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us a review of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are delighted to read that you were mesmerized by the stunning view you could enjoy from your room and you were utterly captivated by our amazing capital. Hungary is really proud of its cuisine and it is nice to know that you have found it tasty as well.

We hope to welcome you back to Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

On arrival, the location is excellent - close to everything and right on the river. Reception/lobby/restaurant area is beautifully presented. However, I was checked in to the wrong room - given a twin room with no views despite having paid for a luxury suite with view. This was promptly resolved when I raised the issue with reception staff. I was still not satisfied that the room was really what I wanted/had paid for, but I didn't wish to cause to much trouble and I was exhausted anyway. The room was still nice and the view was incredible, but it had a very outdated feel to it and certainly wasn't the luxurious suite that I thought I was paying for. Whatever room was pictured on the website sadly was not the room I was given.

This being said, I had a comfortable stay. Bathroom is nice and modern, though small. Room service was fantastic. Beautifully presented, good value and very tasty.

Overall it was a good stay, but just not the five star experience I was hoping for and that it was made out to be. Would return if I were guaranteed to be provided one of the nicer rooms.

Room Tip: Be careful choosing room - may not be exactly what you think you're paying for!
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ksjalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and your thorough description of our services. We are pleased to read that you had a wonderful time with us our colleagues provided the highest level of service for you which has met your expectations.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel on business for 5 nights. Being an Accor Platinum member I was upgraded to the next level of rooms which had a fabulous view over the historic bridge and castle.
Rooms was comfortable with all the usual amenities you would expect for a 5 star hotel.
The atrium is very impressive and the breakfast is excellent.
I would also add that the gym and pool are worth a visit - I seemed to be the only person there in the evenings!

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WaimanCheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are more than delighted to know that you have had a pleasant holiday and you were impressed by the location of the hotel and the stunning view you could enjoy from your room.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews