We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #25 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Bourne End, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge”
Reviewed August 8, 2014

4 couples stayed at this hotel for 4 nights from 31st July - 4th August. Our first impression upon arrival was that the exterior of the hotel was rather dated circa 1960s. However, once inside we were all impressed by its modern, luxurious style. The Reception staff were all extremely smart and helpful. Our rooms were immaculate with every facility provided, from coffee-making machine and tea-making through to iron and umbrella! This is a 5* hotel worthy of its rating; spa and pool facilities are also available and there's even a casino! One disappointment for us was that the food was too expensive for us to dine in; however, this didn't matter as there are no shortage of cafes and restaurants in the vicinity. This hotel enjoys a brilliant central location, adjacent to the famous Chain Bridge from which it takes its name.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room eg 7th floor facing the Danube - views are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetShuttlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your holiday in Budapest. It is always our pleasure to read such a positive comment and to know that you have had a delightful holiday and could not find anything amiss during your vacation. We are content to know that you found the hotel's location to be convenient for your sightseeing plans and you liked your cozy and immaculate room.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back one day.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,473
    1,286
    266
    69
    46
See reviews for
746
2,573
243
705
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,108)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Just a short weekend break with family. Our rooms were upgraded , didn't have Danube view but ambience and quality of room more than made up for it. The breakfast overlooking Danube each morning was plentiful and more than met our needs . The position of the hotel suited our needs and we certainly enjoyed the bar service on the terrace. It was a first class visit at a 5 star + hotel! thanks for making our family visit exceptional .

Room Tip: Upgraded on arrival . I would always request an high rooms , see the room you have , then if necess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TREVONTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are delighted to read that your stay has been more than pleasant and the service provided by our skilled and friendly colleagues made your family vacation exceptional. It was our pleasure to read how much you have enjoyed the stunning view from your room.

We hope to welcome you back to Budapest soon.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here with two other couples. The hotel is very well located and the staff are exceptional. Staying on the executive floor is well worth it. Lovely lounge with plentiful snacks and virtually a full meal at the cocktail hour.
Rooms were nice and very clean.
When we arrived our room was not going to be ready for 1 hour but because it was check in time they spontaneously upgraded us to a two room suite overlooking the park at the same price.
Definitely would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Phillip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
We are delighted to know that the service and the food selection at our Executive Club have exceeded your expectations.
We always attempt to provide the highest level of service to every one of our guests and to make the check-in procedure as smooth as possible. Your kind words and the acknowledgement of the effort of our colleagues will prove to be a true encouragement for them to continue with the excellent service.

We hope to welcome you back soon in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This was an amazing location to do and see everything within the Centre of Buda and Pest. The staff were friendly and the rooms and breakfasts were great. We had two rooms and both were great overlooking the central atrium. We would book to stay there again if we go back to Budapest

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and sharing your experience with us. We are pleased to know that you have had a pleasant and enjoyable stay and that you found both of your rooms cozy and comfortable and over and above you would not hesitate to come back to stay with us again.

We hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back to Budapest soon.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, and we couldn't have picked a better hotel in a better city. The view from our window over the Danube (brown sadly, not blue) was breathtaking, and is the view used for publicity shots for the Viking Cruises. The room was 5-star, as was the service, location, staff and food. This is definitely a hotel i will be going back to, and can't wait!

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your time in Budapest.

We are truly touched by your choice to celebrate here such an important day with us and it was delightful to hear that your vacation was nothing but pleasant and you were utterly mesmerized by the breathtaking view you enjoyed from the window of your room.

We would be more than pleased to welcome you back next year for your 21st anniversary until then we wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We had a fantastic 4 night stay at the Sofitel in July . Its in the best location next to the Chain Bridge so you are right next to the Danube with views over to the Castle on the other side of the river . There are plenty bars and restaurants all within a short walk , and the main pedestrian shopping streets are also nearby .
Check in at reception was quick and friendly , and all the staff throughout the hotel provided a high level of service at all times.
Our room was spacious and comfortable , and we slept peacefully every night . The WiFi was free and worked quite well , and there was some English news channels on the TV. Complimentary bottled water was provided daily .
The breakfast was buffet style , but the selection was enormous and of a very high quality . Breakfast was a highlight every day .
There is a nice terrace bar at ground level , but the prices were ridiculously expensive . So we preferred to use a bar closer to the river at nights for a nightcap where we could also watch the boats on the Danube and the castle all lit up . Very picturesque .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us such a positive and detailed review of your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
It was our utmost pleasure to read through your feedback. For us there is no higher importance than the comfort of our guests therefore reading your kind words and acknowledgement means a lot to us. We are delighted that you could not find anything amiss with the hotel equipment and neither with the service provided by our attentive colleagues.

We hope to welcome you back to Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#24 of 342 in Budapest
3,212 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
2,780 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
6,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#22 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing