We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #21 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I was there with wife for short holiday break. we had suite with fascinating view to Blue Danube and Buda Castle . Staff was friendly and helpful. Don't miss breakfast - it is generous and varied with several sorts of cheese, fresh juices, fruits, breads, cold cuts and deserts. if you stay there on weekend you will enjoy champagne for breakfast - it is included.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Maxim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us during your short break. We are very glad to read that you were so satisfied with the variety of the breakfast we provided to you and with the view of your suite to the Chain Bridge and to Buda Castle.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,454)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,126 - 2,132 of 5,454 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Booked for us by Dialaflight this was a very good value five star hotel in the best location in Budapest. Facilities and service excellent. Breakfast hard to fault. Swimming pool and sauna quiet and beautifully presented. This is a modern hotel, so not characterful but this is reflected in the price. You can have coffee in the Gresham Palace only 50 meters away and soak up character! Try to use the Metro as it is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are more expensive. How long do you really spend looking at the view from you...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmargerison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that you have had a pleasant stay in Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and that our unique location and various breakfast offer was to your liking, specially our relaxing Spa area.

We hope to welcome you back in Budapest in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

This is absolutely one of the best hotels in Budapest. The location is perfect, the staff is wonderful, the rooms are perfect and breakfast is great. Defiantly get a room with the view of the chain bridge! Nothing but great things to say about this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Sgrljevich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recommendation and for your amiable words. It is marvelous to know that you have had a nice stay in one of our spacious and cozy rooms. The unique view to the river and the castle is the most charming sight you can find in Budapest.

We hope to welcome you back in Budapest in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We picked the Sofitel Budapest for a four night break in February 2014 because of the reviews we had read on here . All I can say is we were not disappointed . From the moment our taxi pulled up outside till the moment our taxi left at the end of our stay everything was wonderful .
At the check in we were met by a guest relations officer Fanni Manek who escorted us to our room , giving us some helpful tips for our stay ...... at our room she turned to my partner and wished her happy birthday ( I had e-mailed to say it was her birthday , even though they got the wrong day ) In the room was a bottle of champagne for us ,very nice touch .
We had a room over looking the chain bridge and castle hill great view . the rooms are good size with every thing you would expect from a hotel of this quality.
Breakfast was superb ..... if you complained about this you must be hard to please .The bar area was nice and the views would have been great if not for the road works over the road.
On my partners birthday we were surprised again when she was left a small but very nice box of chocolates with a lovely letter from another guest relation officer Luca csondor ,now this lady was super efficient always helpful and smiling( as all the staff were ) and remembered our names from the start . In passing we just asked for some info on a good restaraunts that evening in our room when we returned we found some great info on where to eat ....very helpful .
Great hotel with Great staff .

Room Tip: Great rooms overlooking the river we stayed in room 619
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us such a positive and review. We are thrilled to hear that our service and the hotel itself has met your expectation and did not cause any hindrance during your holiday. Please allow me to forward your kind words to my colleagues whose service has made you stay a pleasant and relaxing experience which we hope you will hold as a dear memory from Budapest and the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Our friends booked this for the weekend to celebrate a special birthday. I contacted the hotel to let them know about our friends birthday, the hotel provided a lovely bottle of wine to celebrate this occasion, it was a lovely jester and very much appreciated by my friend.

The hotel is first class, staff very attentive. Breakfast was plentiful and lots of variety. The location is brilliant, right next to the chain bridge.

I would certainly come back here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor overlooking the chain bridge, absolutely fantastic views.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janlangton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are delighted to hear that thanks to our amazing location, assorted breakfast offer and mostly our friendly and attentive colleagues we were able to turn this year birthday into a really special occasion and a treasured memory.

We hope to welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Where do I start.......probably that I can't believe this is at Number 19 in the Budapest hotels list, it deserves Number 1. Everything from checking in to checking out was nearly perfect. The rooms are lovely ( apart from the 31 Euros a night supplement if you want a view of the Danube ), just as easy to take a pleasant walk and admire the views for nothing. Location of plug sockets leaves a little to desire, but you get by and the shower could of done with a little more power. Now to the positives,fabulous bed to sleep in...so comfortable fantastic staff, professional and helpful in every way. We booked Bed and Breakfast, and the breakfast is truly astounding...you don't want to leave, there is every breakfast food imaginable and all very tasty. at the concierge desk couldn't help enough to try to advise you with useful hints about Budapest. All in all a fantastic stay, and if ever I return to Budapest, this is where I shall stay . Cheers Sofitel for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Book through a third party and go B&B.. I paid £421 for 6 nights ...fantastic value .
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neil59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We also do appreciate your feedback about what we could improve in the future, please rest assured that we have shared these remarks with our management team as well, in order to work on these topics.

We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest and we remain at your kind disposal should you need our assistance in the emantime.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This could turn into a gush! I stayed seven nights and was amazed at the professionalism of the staff. Always helpful and courteous. The overpriced continental breakfast, more than I wanted, meant I went to The Paris Budapest Bar for an alacarte selection each morning. Andreas the bar man remembered my previous day's choices. The concierge desk arranged for my transportation from the train when I arrived by rail from Vienna. The door staff provided taxis for city trips- very necessary because Budapest has dodgy cab service. Good room service,amazingly comfortable bed and bedding. A satisfaction survey sent soon after departure was re-sent when it went unanswered, with an additional note asking if my lack of response meant I was not happy with some aspect of my stay. Really impressive.

,

Room Tip: Worth having a river view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barretteagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the room, the Concierge and Bell Service, as well as the attentiveness of our Barman exceeded your expectations. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service to our clients, and we are very happy that we succeeded in giving you memorable moments of your stay in Budapest.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we do hope to see you back in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 333 in Budapest
3,414 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
365 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 333 in Budapest
4,258 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $159 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing