We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #22 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to spend New Year”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed here in Dec 2013 with my boyfriend. The location is perfect for exploring Budapest and is right next to chain bridge. The hotel has a great bar area and the cocktails are amazing. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and for your time to provide us a feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us and our standards has met your expectations.

It is nice to know that you have enjoyed the drinks at the Paris Budapest Bar. Some of the cocktails are the creations of our bartenders.

We would like to welcome you back in Budapest in the near future.

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,618
    1,326
    277
    72
    46
See reviews for
784
2,674
251
728
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,153)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Wow! arrived on a cold December evening to a warm welcome and given a choice of rooms plus a welcome drink. Fantastic views over chain bridge and well worth paying for. The most comfortable bed I have ever slept in . So much choice at breakfast I didn't know where to start ( or stop...). Highly professional , efficient, and friendly staff . Central location - around the corner from the Christmas market and also close to Tram and underground.
We left some items of clothing behind and the email advising me of this arrived before our flight home touched down - and the items themselves arrived within a couple of days ( on Christmas Eve!).
A fabulous luxurious base for a pre-Christmas break .

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazydaysagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile



Hey,
We stayed in sofitel in the week of the 23th.

When we came inside - the recipient was very nice and gave us good care.

The room - very big and clean.
The bed - wow, we did not wanted to wake up.
The breakfast - good, not the best.
The pool - very good.
The sauna - nice and clean.
The location - wow!wow!wow. By foot to the castle! Just wow.

We liked it.
Oren & Maria

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Loadex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us with your feedback. It is nice to hear that you liked the spacious room the hearty breakfast and the relaxing Spa area. We are glad to hear that your stay has been pleasant here in the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

We hope to welcome you back in Budapest soon.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Expected it to be a nice stay based on the price and reputation of these hotels and we were not let down. We booked a river view room, now I am not normally too fussed about paying extra for the view as we see the hotel as a base for visiting the city, but if you stay here I would recommend it as the view at night of the bridge was fantastic. It was comfortable and quiet and breakfast was good too. Location was great, a few minutes from the xmas markets and cathedral.

The taxi drivers all seemed a bit dodgy in Budapest, it is around 8,000 to 9,000 HUF to the airport, one driver tried to charge me 7,000 just to go from the hotel to Gellert Hill. Speaking of Gellert Hill, the citadel restaurant at the top is great, you need to make a reservation and it is not too pricey.

Finally, if getting the train, arriving at the station could be a bit daunting, lots of taxi and foreign exchange touts, but just ignore them. The foreign exchange booths are a rip off too, better using an ATM. When we arrived there is also a lot of building works out the front of the station, so we walked to the hotel, only took about 25 minutes and you got to see some of city

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chicken_or_beef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with the great view to the river and our location. We were happy to read that you also liked the delicious breakfast selection.

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I stayd in Sofitel Chain Bridge twice: first a business trip and on a second time family vacation.

Location and services are excellent. The concierge service took care of all our issues and we could just do our own plans.

In generall the hotel is excellent for business and family travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment about your stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We were very happy to read that this time you could visit us with your family as well. I do hope they also liked our beautiful city, and kept nice memories about this nice family trip to Budapest.

We are especially glad to hear that you were more than satisfied with our concierge services as well and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge!

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This hotel did not disappoint us. Excellent location, good value for money and friendly service. The breakfast was reasonably diverse and overall OK. In contrast, food selection and quality with room service (we tried once dinner in our room) not really up to standard for a top class hotel. But in any case there are so many excellent choices for dinner in Budapest!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_G_Konstas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to provide us a feedback. We are glad to hear that you have had a pleasant stay with us. It is nice to know, that our location and the breakfast selection was to your liking.

We hope to welcome you back in Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge soon.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 334 in Budapest
3,353 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 334 in Budapest
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#17 of 334 in Budapest
320 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
4,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing