We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top shelf hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Top shelf hotel”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for one night prior to the start of a Uniworld river cruise. Even though we arrived in the middle of the afternoon, the front desk staff informed us that our room was not ready. To our surprise a manager came over and informed us because of our being inconvenienced, she was authorizing an upgrade to a bigger room. After catching our breath in the beautiful bar area for an hour or so, we were told our room was ready. We discovered that we were now in a suite on an upper floor with most incredible view of the Danube river and seemingly looking right down on the chain bridge. The 'stated' room rate on the door indicated that this was a 600 euro a night room. (thinking most folks don't actually pay this rate, but still, it was quite a bit more than the standard room we had pre-booked). We will never know if this is the standard practice for the Sofitel staff, but for sure we are quite happy with how they treated us. Lastly, we should comment on the breakfast provided by the Sofitel. Fellow Trip Advisors have indicated that they thought it may have been above average in terms of cost, but we felt is was one of the most expansive and eye-opening spreads we have ever seen anywhere-let alone at a hotel with a captive audience. If you are the 'hungry-type' at breakfast, then you will be in heaven at the Sofitel. We counted literally dozens and dozens of different items. In closing, first class staff, committed to customer satisfaction and first class breakfast offerings-everything a tired traveler could ask for.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor corner suite overlooking the chain bridge. Ask if you can get it at a discou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravenfans-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,562
    1,317
    273
    71
    46
See reviews for
772
2,639
248
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kensington, Md
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed two or three nights in August '13. Hotel is extremely well located from a tourist standpoint; rooms are adequate in size, but only just adequate for the price; beds are supremely comfortable; staff was helpful and courteous. Good pool and fitness facility. Standalone breakfast is $35 to $40, which would be high for a five star hotel, which the Sofitel Chain Bridge, though a fine property, is not. Would stay there again, but not without seeing what else might be available.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandM25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in August 2013. The entire Sofitel team was glad to hear that the services of the hotel staff and the Sofitel "MyBed" has exceeded your expectations.

We only hope to welcome you back in the near future to our beautiful city.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here initially for 2 nights prior to embarkation on a river cruise to Amsterdam. Great location, overlooking the Iron Bridge and the Parliament building across the Danube. Fabulous day and night views. Service was as expected for a 5 star hotel. A little disappointed that our room rate increased by $100 per day due to the cruise cancellation, after a Sunday am request to front desk. We had booked via a travel agent in Australia originally. Cruise was cancelled due to Central European floods. Susequently stayed 2 more nights.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overlooking the Iron Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge during your stay in our beautiful city.

We are all delighted to hear that you were fond of the hotel's location and services. We hope that we could serve you once again during your time back to Budapest.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

From this modern hotel, you can walk everywhere. It is right on the river, so accessible to both the Buda and Pest sides of the Danube. Rooms are good, view is great, and the concierge service was most helpful.

Room Tip: Get one with a river view - especially for at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting a review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, the entire team was delighted to hear such comments from our guests.

The concierge team was glad to hear such nice comments, and we all hope that we could have the chance to welcome you back to Budapest once again in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenfield
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I stayed in the Sofitel near the Chain Bridge on business from Oct 6-11. I was attending a course in the hotel for the week. I cannot fault the hotel- every day the breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice as were the lunches. The interior of the hotel is also very modern and beautifully finished. Although kept busy on the course I was also able to explore the Castle District one evening by bus from just outside the hotel, and walk to the local market at Fovam Ter on another occasion. The staff were also very courteous, regularly asking me if I was enjoying my stay, and very helpful with any requests I had. I would recommend that if you stay at the Sofitel, because the view is so spectacular, you ask for a room with a view, my room looked out onto the side street so I couldn't see the beautiful view from my room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Danube so you can see the beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShenfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay in Budapest. I hope you kept very nice memories of the city and of our hotel as well.

We were delighted to hear, that you were satisfied with the location and that the service and the helpfulness of our couteous staff exceeded your expectations.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge during your next visit to Hungary.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester Springs, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this wonderful hotel. The location, rooms, amenities, customer service, and bar and restaurant were all excellent. The Sunday brunch was the best brunch display I've ever experienced. I've traveled the world and this has truly been my best hotel choice so far.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting such a positive review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Your comments of the Sunday Brunch has made our entire Food and Beverage team extremely proud, and we all would like to thank you for your kind comments.

We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 333 in Budapest
3,300 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 333 in Budapest
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,240 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#11 of 333 in Budapest
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing