We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Great room,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #24 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were so pleasantly surprised to find that this was our favorite hotel of all of the river side hotels. The InterContinential was just to our side but it was really old and according to a friend that stayed their, our rooms were nicer and better. The Four-Seasons was across a park and busy street from the water. We were at this hotel to get on our Viking River cruise (which was fabulous) and we just walked our luggage right across to the boat early and spent time touring Budapest. We arrived 5 days early so it was great. The breakfast was wonderful. The restaurant has the best Goulash Soup and Dobos Torte of all I tried. The rooms was so clean and new. I would highly recommend this hotel. Easy to get to the main square, get on the train or walk. The location could not have been better. Budapest is beautiful, easy, everyone we spoke with spoke English. It is a real jewel and this hotel makes it better.

Room Tip: If you fly in from a long distance, have scheduled a massage. It is great to start a vacation relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigTuna94510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with our restaurant; we were especially glad to read that our famous Goulash and Dobos cake exceeded your expectations. Our kitchen staff gives their hearts into every delicious specialty. We are also happy to know that you liked the condition and cleanliness of your room .

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,433 - 2,439 of 5,624 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect position. Well priced and offers standard Sofitel services of a high quality. Their breakfast offers a good range of foods to suit many nationalities. The business centre is free, offers assistance to the bewildered and can supply tickets for trams etc. Hotel rooms are a good size and kept clean. We were given a fruit platter on arrival which was a nice touch. The beds are ridiculously comfortable too!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river and castle but at he end that doesn't have the Intercont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank druzzie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I've stayed here for one night on a business trip at the end of August.
The hotel really looks very nice, inside and out, but the rooms show their age.
Breakfast offers a lot of choice and is served in the lobby, which gives a strange feeling because you can see the whole inside of the hotel until the top floor from where you're sitting.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank S-Laurent-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I visited this hotel last year, and I returned this year, and the whole experience was amazing. This time we were in an executive room and had use of the executive lounge.

Executive lounge has it's own check in, which is discreet and personal. We paid extra to have a Danube view room and it was worth the money as the views are beautiful.

This hotel is very well located right next to the chain bridge, and is walking distance to the main shopping streets, the river, and many tourist locations. The outdoor bar is also a lovely feature here that very few other hotels have. The breakfast is fantastic here, huge choice, of continental and cooked food.

The staff went out of their way to look after us and I would like to give huge thanks to Allessandra in the Executive lounge who was so helpful with everything from Sight Seeing tours to shopping advice and to Emőke Konert for everything she and her staff did for us to make our stay special.

I will definitely return to this hotel when I go back to Budapest, and I will also always consider Sofitel hotels high in my future choice, based on my experience here.

I hightly recommend this hotel if you are in Budapest.

Room Tip: Pay extra for Danube room. Upgrade to Executive room is also well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location, the Executive Lounge and the Bar exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed a night at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge last week. Since we would be arriving Budapest returning from South America I pre-booked a transfer through the hotel. E-mailed them well in advance and got an okay price.

When arriving at the airport we immidiately spotted our names on a sign and was taken to a fancy black mercedes by our friendly driver. A 30-minute drive later we were in the lobby. What struck me as a bit surprising was that no one greeted us when we exited the car, or took our bags or anything, considering it is a five star luxury hotel. When checking in I asked if there was any chance that we could have a room with a view over the river. The guy checking us in said yes, and offered us that with some kind of breakfast-deal for 60 euros extra for a night. We declined, and was instead given a tiny room with absolutely no view at all. Not a great first impression.

The room was except for its size and non-existing view quite nice. A massive flatscreen-TV with great picture quality, nice bathroom with tub and L'occitane products, free wifi and an incredibly comfortable bed. We had been flying for nearly 24 hours before arriving Budapest and slept like babies for 10 hours in that bed. One of the best I've experienced so far.

The hotel itself is very cool with its 8-floor atrium that is lit at night making it even more spectacular. The look and feel of the entire place is very luxurious and definitely five-star. We also tried the pool/spa area with sauna, gym and swimming pool. Quite nice. Staff in general throughout the hotel was nice and friendly.

We had dinner in the Paris Budapest restaurant and enjoyed it. Decent prices and very nice service. They also gave us so many extras so we barely could walk back to our room after the meal.

Location is very good a few meters from the chain bridge and river. There are views over the castle, and you can walk to shops, restaurants, bars etc in a few minute's time.

So I guess first impression last. I wasn't particularly impressed by our arrival at the hotel, not being met or greeted by anyone and having to drag our heavy luggage in to the lobby (sorry if I sound too pretentious now), especially considering we had paid the extra to use a hotel car. It also felt almost as we got punished for not wanting to pay the upgrade fee to a better room, and hence got the smallest room they could find. In their defence we paid a very low price for the room, and considering that, still got great value. But regardless of price paid, I did not feel our initial service was five star, and therefore only give Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge a four.

Room Tip: If within your budget, pay for a river-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge as well as for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to read that you liked the hotel style, the modern lobby design and the comfortable Sofitel Mybed. However I was very concerned to read that your arrival experience did not meet your expectations, please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for two nights for city trip. Hotel is good, big clean rooms. Bathroom with all facilities. Service good, accurate and friendly. We were checked in in less then 5 minutes. Same for the Check out. Breakfast is good quality and lots of choice. Even during the peek hours there is sufficient place and food. Very well organized!
We tried to book a massage at the spa, but all was booked for the weekend! Better reserve in front!
The location of the hotel is just ideal! Right in front of the chain bridge that connects Buda with Pest.
If you like to have a view from your room you have to pay extra to get a room on the front! The view on the back is absolute no beautiful.

Room Tip: We had room 142 but I strongly suggest to take an other. It was still good but it's on the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for using the time to post such a positive review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.
Your Comments of our breakfast facilities will only help us to improve and satisfy all the needs of the guests staying in our hotel.

We all hope that we could have the opportunity to welcome you back to Budapest in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here in mid August prior to a river cruise. The room was excellent (clean and spacious) with a fine view of the Chain Bridge and the hills of Buda. Enjoyed the breakfast (You can use the buffet or have them make an omelet to your specifications) although I thought the coffee could have been stronger. We enjoyed sitting in the Paris lounge in the evening- watching the street performers in the plaza just outside and enjoying the lights of the bridge and the city. As has been mentioned you are only a short walk from the pedestrian mall with lots of outdoor dining and shops.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stever60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting such a positive review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Our hotel staff was delighted to read about your comments of the hotel and our services.

We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Budapest in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,513 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 336 in Budapest
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
7,460 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 336 in Budapest
4,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $148 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing