We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the heart of Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #22 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I was at Sofitel Budapest for two weeks during my business trip in July.
My room very nice but in the back of the hotel so no nice view of the Danubio River. The room and the service in general were quite good.
Breadfast quality in general was good, also the Spa and the Gym which i used several times.
Things i didn’t like: 1 - The carpets in all floors were smelly... and this is not nice in a such an elegant place. I guess some extra cleaning is needed! 2 - Some days the hotel was very crowed specially at breadfast time. During some days an international east countries television event was held in the hotel and so the pleace was really messy and noisy.
Except from these 2 things, I can fully recomend the place specialy becouse it's located right in the hard of Budapest and at few meters from the Danubio where you can have stunning views of the city, the castle, the chain bridge and the amazing paliament.

Room Tip: You will have an added value if you ask for a room in the front or in the right side of the building...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hudi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and the facilities of the Spa.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,436)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,378 - 2,384 of 5,437 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location, and were very happy with our decision. We stayed at the Sofitel Chain Bridge for three nights, and enjoyed our stay very much. We were at the Junior Suite and must say it's one of the better suite that we've ever stayed at. The room was spacious, modern, clean, with a nice lay out. The bathroom is also spacious, clean, and it's practically gleaming. There's a nespresso machine which was very convenient, and a Bose sound system in the room. We love the Hermès toiletries provided in the bathroom.

The location is perfect. We are treated with great view as soon as we stepped out of the hotel. There's a tram stop within two minutes walk. The Danube river and the Chain Bridge is within two minutes walk.

The staffs were attentive and provided excellent customer service. They sent a personal email a few days before our arrival, which made our arrival at the hotel completely perfect.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for a great stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eiffel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilities of your suite and the location near to every special sights. We are especially glad to read that you were extremely satisfied with the service our staff provided.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Wow! Where to begin. This turned out to be the best hotel my wife and I stayed in during our honeymoon. To begin, we arrive on a sleeper train at 7 am, at which point the hotel held our bags before check in (which they provided to us early). Our room was well kept with an amazing view of Castle Hill, the Chain Bridge, and the Danube. The concierge staff was friendly, helpful, and remembered me by name days after check in.

But most importantly, the hotel provided my wife and I a surprise bottle of champagne/personalized note for shortly after check in. Overall, I feel this hotel went above and beyond during our stay, and I would absolutely recommend staying here to anyone going to Budapest.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65ToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the concierge staff and the spacious view exceeded your expectations.

I was also especially glad to read that you liked the champagne surprise which we provided you with. I hope it created a nice ambiance matching you special occasion.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

It is a beautiful hotel! The location is excellent, it cannot get more central than this!
The only hitch is that the staff is very arrogant & not at all helpful! Except the Guest Relations Manager.
We were traveling with an infant and they have a lot of amenities listed that they provide for children, but when we called in, they had nothing available & were very rude about it. We were ready to pay as well!
Instead of apologizing the staff on duty told us that we should go out in the market & buy these things ourselves! After complaining at the reception, the guest relation manager came & apologized & provided the things that we asked for, which were already listed in their guest folder to begin with.
For this I would give it a 4 star & not a 5.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarishmaLalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

However I am terribly sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding the baby amenities. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for that.

Me and my colleagues are always striving to provide an excellent service to our guest that is why I am especially sad to read about negative impressions, but I can ssure you that I am going to take the appropriate measures to avoid any future accurance.

We do hope to see you again for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

A great hotel in which almost everything went perfectly.
An extraordinary breakfast, and excellent room. With a pillow menu!
I appreciated the care and the staff attention. They tried to antecipate your wishes and delivery a great value for money service.
My stay at the hotel wasnt perfect once they didn´t credited points in my hotel loyalty card.
Otherwise, everything was great
..

Room Tip: Don´t miss the pillow menu.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FFToledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, your comments could only help us to improve in order to provide superior services to all guests. Regarding your loyalty credit, our colleagues are investigating on the matter.

I thank you very much once again for your feedback, and we hope that you would give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank portarthurvillas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed April 2013...Firstly upgrade to a room with a view, you most definately will not regret it.

So hotel; Rooms could do with updating, but are pleasant, clean and do the job, just a bit dated. Only coffee or herbal tea in rooms. If it affects you, then be advised the TV is mainly French and Eastern European some German very little English, mainly news channels, didnt worry us but for some it may be important.

We did bed & breakfast and it was a lovely breakfast lots of choice, could not want for more, service was good, all staff polite and helpful. Paris Bar nice for drinks particularly as we had wonderfully hot weather for our 5 day stay, so sitting outside taking in the view of the chain bridge with cocktail in hand was wonderful.

Budapest itself is great, something for everyone, most things walking distance from hotel (well we think so, some may be a fair walk but you see everything). Hotel is so well positioned. We also bought tickets for the hop on/off open top buses, we bought 2 day ticket so these were brilliant to go around get you bearings then off you go.....Also felt very safe and if you make the effort to speak Hungarian, it is so appreciated and a great ice breaker, even (like me) if it is only the basics, we find this, in general, everywhere we go. Go it is definately worth a visit. We will return.

Room Tip: Upgrade or you will not get a view....it is worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jools66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location and services has exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#30 of 332 in Budapest
3,409 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 332 in Budapest
3,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#19 of 332 in Budapest
362 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 332 in Budapest
4,252 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $159 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing