We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location next to the Chain Bridge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #21 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of an Insight vacations tour in June 2013. This hotel has the perfect location next to the Chain Bridge. It is literally a 2 minute walk and you'll be on the bridge or a 2 minute walk and you'll be on the main pedestrian only street with lots of shops and restaurants. It was a 15 minute walk to reach the shoes on the Danube memorial and at that point we were almost at the Parliament building, so a few minutes more and you would be there.
There were several tour groups staying at this hotel, which can make the front desk area very chaotic at check in and out times. There was a nice buffet breakfast with lots of choices, but we found that the bacon and the eggs were under cooked both days.
We had an average to large size room with a king size bed. The bathroom was also a reasonable size with a separate tub and shower.
There is a minimart next door to the hotel where we bought 1.5L bottles of water for 185 forint each, seemed very reasonable to us.
There is also an ATM outside of the hotel. If you would prefer an ATM inside a bank, there is one within a 5-10 minute walk to the main pedestrian square, where you'll find a bank and also a money exchange office.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lithlith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, especially our location and facilities. On the other hand I would like to also thank you very much for you remarks regarding the breakfast, I will personally forward it to the concerned departments.

All in all I do hope that you had a lovely tiem with us and to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,454)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,412 - 2,418 of 5,454 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Spent a glorious 5 nights here. Booked a room with views over the Danube river, Chain Bridge, Castle & Gellert Hill, especially stunning at night. OK, enough about the view, the room was quite spacious with the most comfortable bed and pillows we've slept in for a long time. Felt like we were sleeping in a cocoon & as such, we slept very soundly. Very large, plush bath towels and a constant replenishment of soap, shampoos, gels and lotions. Our room was very quiet, didn't pick up any noise from neighbouring rooms. Hotel location very central to all attractions, either by foot or tram. Breakfast had a huge selection of foods on offer to cover most tastes. Service prompt, efficient and friendly. Our concierge was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and general information. Enjoyed a brief sauna and swim in the pool, the gym looked well equipped. My only complaint would be the overwhelming smell of cigarette smoke that struck us each time we left the elevator on our floor, however, it was not prevalent around our room.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, go for a river view.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Sofitel MyBed, and the comfort that you have received from our bed's design.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were in Budapest for one night and stayed at the Sofitel. We hadn't known exactly what date we'd make it to Budapest or for how many nights so we neglected to make a reservation but they had a room for us anyway. Reception was very friendly and efficient. The room was much more expensive than we would have liked, but we likely could have found at least a slightly better rate had we planned a bit better. Anyway, we had a fabulous room with an amazing view of the Danube and the Chain Bridge. The room was clean, spacious, quiet and the bed was so comfortable that it felt like we were sleeping on a soft, fluffy cloud. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Definitely splurge on a room with a view. It is worth it, especially if you are only in Budapest a s...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our location, and our panoramic view has exceeded your expectations.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for three nights on a business trip. This is my third time in Budapest and it is certainly the best hotel by a long chalk.

I was astounded at the design with the enormous atrium and glass lifts. The staff could not do enough for their clients. The room was outstanding, spacious, very comfortable and clean.

I also found the food to be brilliant, I had breakfast and lunch in the hotel and was always vey happy with the quality and variety on offer.

The location is perfect for just about everywhere. I took the hotel shuttle bus to and from the airport. It is okay, but if there are three or more travelling together a taxi is probably a better option.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zometa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a positive review about your stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are all glad to hear that you were very satisfied with our hotel services during your three nights stay with us. Our entire Sofitel staff works exceptionally hard to satisfy all guests staying in the hotel.

We would be very happy if we could welcome you back soon to Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Situated right by the chain bridge, the hotel is in prime location, just a short walk from the basilica the main squares and attractions on the other side of the Danube. A good place to stay if withing one's budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H_Bastaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Aom F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 333 in Budapest
3,414 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
3,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
365 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 333 in Budapest
4,258 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#19 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $159 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing