We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite for its view, location and overall impression”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #23 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

the hotel was not booked by me, but for me. somehow I thought it would be unaffordable. TBH the price is not too high and the experience is great. The rooms with the Danube view are fantastic, well- equipped and quiet. The pool and sauna are great, breakfast tasty and service on a high level.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asmigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,629 - 2,635 of 5,616 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've stayed in more than 50 European cities at many different types of hotels. This hotel has to be among the top or the top for best stays and locations. It's located right on the Danube river overlooking Chain Bridge and the Castle District in Buda. My husband and I enjoy taking part in day adventures and the nightlife. All are right at the door step. The nightlife in Budapest is great! Aside from the fantastic location, the hotel is affordable, especially givin it's overall rating. The staff was very friendly and English-speaking. You'll actually find that most people in Budapest speak English. You're greeted at the door with a bell boy ready to carry your luggage. Taxis are always ready to shuttle you around and the front desk is staffed 24/7. The hotel has an indoor pool, sauna, and a spa so you can get pampered. The room service is reasonably priced and prompt. They even have American style breakfast. But, I'd stay clear of the breakfast buffet unless you're willing to pay 27 euros a pop.

The room wasn't spactacular, though, it was restocked daily with free bottled water, which was nice. The room also has free wifi, hi-speed internet access and 2 ropes and slippers. The minibar has penty for your chosing but there is a quikstop store right next door with less inexpesive prices. I can go on and on about this hotel but I say, just GO and see for yourself! It was fantastic!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Danube River are about 30 euros per night more than others, but worth it, espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Honey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed 5 nights and really loved the hotel and it's central location. All The staff were amazing. Monica in the bar couldn't do enough to help us. Our meal in the restaurant was world class. We did have a problem however with the amount they put to our credit card as security. We had prepaid the room but they charged over $1000 AUD as security without advising us of the amount which we believe was excessive. It was credited to our account several days after checkout.

Room Tip: Upgrade to bridge view. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the Bar and the Restaurant exceeded your expectations. We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

first class in every way from all staff from breakfast to dinner brilliant room outstanding view of danube i would like to commend all staff for our i week stay you have a beautifull city and excellent hotel many thanks hugh and berni

Room Tip: danube view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anfield01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Spent 3 nights in this hotel with my wife ,daughter and son-in -law.
This is an excellant hotel with a very good Spa which I would recommend that you use during you stay.
We both had a river view room and the view was fabulous the best we have experienced . The only one that would compare was our room in Venice which overlooked the Rialto Bridge and Canal.
Budapest is a beautiful city 3 nights are not long enough and we would return and when we do we will stay at the Sofitel Chain Bridge

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank samlor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed one night and got A spactacular end for a vacation in Hungaria and Romania. The Location is perfect in the centre with an easy access to the city atractions.Great decoration, very good service. helpful stuff. They had a problem with the Wify and conected us Imidiatly, with no charge, to an a high speed cable access. Ouer room was large and inclooded all the facilities we needed and much more. The only "problem" was it was waste of time to fall asleep with such a vew of the bridge, the Danuba river and Buda's palaces in the large windows.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river vew. not all of the rooms has it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meir W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the front desk exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Like all the Sofitel hotels I've stayed at this one is no exception.It's perfection guaranteed in every aspect.Friendly,comfortable,emaculately clean with spacious rooms and bathrooms,great location overlooking chain bridge and the Donau river with a view of the castle on the other side and an amazing breakfast.All it needs to improve on is the coffee.Loved it!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bare-with-me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,511 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 335 in Budapest
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 335 in Budapest
7,450 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 335 in Budapest
4,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $148 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing