We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A city break in Feb 2013 with a perfect located hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #27 of 337 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A city break in Feb 2013 with a perfect located hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Firstly, this was a city break for a nice get away from the working world for a few days. Once of the plane the transfer was great (£20 for a taxi) to the hotel. Once arrived at the hotel the hotel looked pretty spectacular from inside. Real modern which was nice to break it up from the old style design that Budapest had to offer. Room standard i would say was ok, nothing special. But nothing to majorly complain about. The room service was very poor and so was the cleaning. We returned to our room after a few trips out and about, and the room was left the same way which we left it. But i am putting this down to out of season. I would recommend the breakfast because it saved us requiring lunch and the quality of the breakfast was second to none. Excellent! Overall the hotel proved perfect for us, the location was great, the hospitality was great, and we never had to get a taxi any where because it was so convenient for all things we had to do. The city is great, the food was great, and you must try the spa in Pest! Overall a very nice, romantic city break!

Room Tip: The higher up the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to post a review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed very much your breakfast at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge as well as the hospitality and location of our hotel.

Thank you for your comments of the housekeeping and room service department, as this will help us to pay special attention and to make sure that this no longer will occur in the future. I sincerely hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,029
    1,162
    238
    64
    43
See reviews for
629
2,287
215
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (985)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Nice hotel with a very good location in Budapest, overlooking the river and with an excellent view. Stayed there for a conference and all service was good and fast, rooms well-equiped. food truly great.
One sad thing happened though, which should make you a bit careful: a necklace disappeared from my room, my favorite one I wear when I am traveling for work to remind me about my family at home... Staff acted very professionally, helped me with the police report and everything, but yet, someone with access to the room must be the guilty one...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for posting feedback of your stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. I am glad to hear that you were fond of our conference facilities, customer service, and our view overlooking the famous Danube River.

I am concerned to hear that you were enable to find your lost necklace; although I am grateful to hear that you appreciated our reception staff that accompanied you to the police station - helping you with your report.

Here at Sofitel, we take lost belongings very seriously and we do have strict procedures that contributes to the investigation. Please acknowledge that these issues are our top priority at our workforce and please rest assured that in case with have any new outcome, we will contact you as soon as possible.

I would like to thank you once again for your comments, as this will continue toe enhance our customer service experience.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel has a very good price performance. Location on the side of the Donau river. Rooms with Donau view are great but also other rooms are very nice.
The rooms are nicely decorated and modern. Beds are very comfortable. Staff is very professional and friendly and try to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast is super

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank rene298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending your time to post such a positive review of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge!
I was extremely pleased to hear that your feedback of our services were so positive, and has exceeded your expectations.
I sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

A short review given that I went almost a year ago and can't remember the finer details but what has stuck with me is the following: as a person who values the cleanliness and service of a hotel, Sofitel did not put a foot wrong. Fantastic prices and fantastic breakfast too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nofoetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Budapest. We choose the Sofitel beacuse of its central location and wow it was in walking distance of everything and if not walking then the underground was a 1 min walk to take you to those places that were further away.
The hotel is amazing 5 stars at its best. Breakfast WOW everything you could ever imagine to eat was there for your choosing.
I believe the staff at this hotel makes it what it is I think it should be the staff that get the 5 stars as without them a hotel is just a box. So big congrats to you all.
The hotel standard rooms where a little boring, old fashioned and didn't match up to the rest of the hotel which was very contemporary.
A big shout out to Xenia on the concierge desk Thank you so much for the champagne you gave us for my friends birthday we enjoyed it after a very busy day in Buda.
We ate in the Paris Restaurant and our meal was lovely.
On a whole we love the city we love the hotel and we will be back !!!
Thank you all

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corfu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very delighted to read that you had an excellent stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with our well-trained staff, the service and the level of hospitality.
We are also very happy about the fact, that you were satisfied with the professional service of our colleague Xénia at the Concierge Department. Our Concierges are working very hard to make our guests feel welcomed and return home with unforgettable memories of Budapest and of our hotel – I am glad we succeeded in giving you ’the little touches’ in service, that made your stay memorable.
Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.
Many thanks again for your time and we do hope to welcome you back at our property soon!

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We couldn't find fault with the hotel, location or any of the facilities, services, staff and food. All of the staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and we were made to feel very welcome during our stay. The hotel was absolutely spotless and everything was beautifully presented.

Everything was excellent from the moment we arrived until the time of departure.

Highly recommended to anyone visiting Budapest and we would certainly stay with the Sofitel group again in Budapest or any other city break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicycle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our Ambassador staff exceeded your expectations. They work very hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a good modern hotel with great views of the Danube an Chain Bridge (if you have a river view room). We were on the 4th floor about mid way along and the views, particularly at night, were stunnning.
Staff are freindly and efficient.
Great pool and the breakfasts are amazing.
I have marked down sleep quality slightly because our room was too warm. I was told by reception that the ability to use the aircon to cool the room in the winter is turned off - heating only. This is something they need to address, however, that said I would still recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank razor127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you liked the modern design of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge along with our view of the Danube river. It was nice to hear that our staff has exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for sharing your comments of our room heating, it is very important that this information is shared in order for us to take action to improve our facility. It was our pleasure to have welcomed you in Budapest and we hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 337 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,904 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#34 of 337 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 337 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#14 of 337 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 6,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing