We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #23 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Corfu, Greece
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best central hotel”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in Budapest. We choose the Sofitel beacuse of its central location and wow it was in walking distance of everything and if not walking then the underground was a 1 min walk to take you to those places that were further away.
The hotel is amazing 5 stars at its best. Breakfast WOW everything you could ever imagine to eat was there for your choosing.
I believe the staff at this hotel makes it what it is I think it should be the staff that get the 5 stars as without them a hotel is just a box. So big congrats to you all.
The hotel standard rooms where a little boring, old fashioned and didn't match up to the rest of the hotel which was very contemporary.
A big shout out to Xenia on the concierge desk Thank you so much for the champagne you gave us for my friends birthday we enjoyed it after a very busy day in Buda.
We ate in the Paris Restaurant and our meal was lovely.
On a whole we love the city we love the hotel and we will be back !!!
Thank you all

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corfu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
We are very delighted to read that you had an excellent stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with our well-trained staff, the service and the level of hospitality.
We are also very happy about the fact, that you were satisfied with the professional service of our colleague Xénia at the Concierge Department. Our Concierges are working very hard to make our guests feel welcomed and return home with unforgettable memories of Budapest and of our hotel – I am glad we succeeded in giving you ’the little touches’ in service, that made your stay memorable.
Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.
Many thanks again for your time and we do hope to welcome you back at our property soon!

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,532
    1,304
    269
    70
    46
See reviews for
762
2,616
244
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We couldn't find fault with the hotel, location or any of the facilities, services, staff and food. All of the staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble, and we were made to feel very welcome during our stay. The hotel was absolutely spotless and everything was beautifully presented.

Everything was excellent from the moment we arrived until the time of departure.

Highly recommended to anyone visiting Budapest and we would certainly stay with the Sofitel group again in Budapest or any other city break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicycle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our Ambassador staff exceeded your expectations. They work very hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a good modern hotel with great views of the Danube an Chain Bridge (if you have a river view room). We were on the 4th floor about mid way along and the views, particularly at night, were stunnning.
Staff are freindly and efficient.
Great pool and the breakfasts are amazing.
I have marked down sleep quality slightly because our room was too warm. I was told by reception that the ability to use the aircon to cool the room in the winter is turned off - heating only. This is something they need to address, however, that said I would still recommend this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razor127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you liked the modern design of the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge along with our view of the Danube river. It was nice to hear that our staff has exceeded your expectations. Thank you very much for sharing your comments of our room heating, it is very important that this information is shared in order for us to take action to improve our facility. It was our pleasure to have welcomed you in Budapest and we hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I booked the Sofitel as part of a package. The best part was that my daughter and I were close to shopping and yet were able to walk to the Castle District. We were very happy with the location on the Pest side of the Chain Bridge. Lots of services nearby. The concierge booked hair appts for us. The breakfast included in the package was outstanding. Beautiful setting and a wide variety of local and continental foods.The beds were comfy, the view to the city side was striking, room service good, bar good. The hotel also offers a car service which we used often. Beware of taxis in this city it is easy to get ripped off. We will most likely return to the Sofitel for our next visit to Budapest.

Room Tip: View of the Szechenyi Chain Bridge cost around $50 more. Budapest is so enchanting and beautiful ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melannneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that due our location you enjoyed your stay with your daughter.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge on your next shopping tour.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is a very modern hotel, surrounded by history. Everything about this hotel is comfortable. The rooms are quiet, large, comfortable, and seem to be newly remodeled. The entire center of the hotel is open to roof, which has a plane hanging from the top. The breakfast buffet is vast! However, all the nice things I can say about this hotel pales in comparison to the view. We had a room on the 5th floor over looking the Danube, Chain Brain an castle. Unbelievable! The rooms have huge bay windows that you just want to sit by and look out. Which we did. In the evening, we turned out the room lights and just enjoyed the view. Honestly, it was one of the loveliest views of any hotel we have ever stayed in. There is another luxury hotel next door, but the windows aren't as large, and the Sofitel is newer. In Budapest, take the history tours, but stay in the Sofitel.

Room Tip: Pay for the room with a view of the Danube, the 5th foor is great. Higher floors might even be bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frodo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the stunning view from your room exceeded your expectations. It is truly something special, especially at night, when it is illuminated.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Bought this from last minute.com as a 3 for 2 nights - went for a 1yr anniversary with my girlfriend - first of all i would recommend using fo taxis from the airport as they A) are the only official taxi firm u can trust and B) give you a discounted return fare if you chose to use them.

The location is incredible - right on the river and right by the bridge - with the best views you could ask for. I would highly recommend a RIVER view room - well worth it.

Service is incredible - i have been to some of the top hotels in Vegas and this hotel provides service to the same standard - which is remarkable and very impressive given the price i paid for the stay. Immaculate attention to detail and personal service - always ready to help and make your stay as relaxing as possible. They helped me arrange a few surprises for my girlfriend which was invaluable service for me.

The hotel room is more classy than modern - but still very nice - especially the bathroom.

Incredible stay and very reccommended!!

Room Tip: River view room. Well worth the money as any other room would have a room of pretty much just standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krish127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for your splendid words about your stay and the services of our hotel. We were more than happy to read that you had a lovely time in our hotel, and the provided services exceeded your expectations.

We are also glad to know that everything went smooth with the anniversary surprise, hopefully your girlfriend will keep also nice memories of Budapest.

We are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Western Finland, Finland
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We are a couple from Finland and spent three nights at Sofitel Chain Bridge and can truly recommend it. The hotel is peaceful, has good location, nice view, lovely breakfast and helpful staff! Especially doormen were friendly and welcoming! Great job, Sofitel Chain Bridge!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heinikainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so very much pleased with our standards and level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay. We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,253 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#6 of 333 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing