We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #24 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My husband and I were delighted with the standard of service, the very pleasant and helpful staff who went out of their way to make us welcome and answered any questions with sincerity and knowledge not to mention their excellent English language skills. The hotel, overlooking the Danube is in an ideal situation allowing one to take advantage of all that the city has to offer.
I have to say that the breakfasts were by far the best I've ever had and the choice was second to none. In the evening we dined at the Paris restaurant where again the staff were most helpful and sincere as well as being highly skilled.
Should you ever have the opportunity to visit I would thoroughly recommend it.
H

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so much pleased with the level of hospitality you experienced in our hotel during your stay.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,700 - 2,706 of 5,622 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

...and what a great price for early January. Five star luxury, French chic - it goes without saying - and, as an Accor/A-Club card holder (you just have to join and stay in their hotels!), an upgrade to a room overlooking the Danube. First time in this hotel after many visits to Budapest. And this will be my new first choice. Very comfortable bed, L'Occitane toiletries (the best), stunning atrium, ideal location, very friendly service. And how lovely Budapest is in January.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suppiluliuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our special Sofitel MyBed™ and L'Occitane toiletries.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for a long weekend from 15th Feb to 17th Feb...We arrived 2 hours early before the 2pm check-in time, however that was not a problem, we were asked if we wished to upgrade our room to a Club room which overlooked the Danube and entitles you to the use of the Club lounge and facilities..ie drinks,snacks and pastries most of the day and also included the cost of the magnificent full buffet breakfast...excellent value. The hotel itself is located quite close to the Chain Bridge which one can walk across the river to the vernacular railway on the other side of the river which will take you up to the town of Buda.The main central area of Pest is just around the corner from the hotel, so everything of interest and shopping is within convenient walking distance. All in all the hotel and staff at the Sofitel are delightful and extremley helpful...strongly recommended!!!!!
I would also like to make a special mention of Lelemen Gyorgy who is the Maitre D'hotel in the Paris Restaurant in the hotel,Lelemen was extremley gracious. welcoming and helpful and suggested various courses to us for dinner which we found extremley delicious.....Thank You.

Room Tip: If asked if you wish to upgrade room to include access to a Club room and full buffet breakfast take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topaz60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments.
We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge - that you were more than satisfied with our well-trained staff; especially our Maitre D'hotel in the Paris Budapest Restaurant.

Your feedback is a great encouragement for our future work and we are pleased to pass it over to our colleagues.
Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

An absolutely fabulous hotel with a great atmosphere. Although the AC was sometimes not working properly, the perfect location and nice staff compensated for this and I'll certainty come back next time I'm in Budapest.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sikyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending the time to post your feedback and comments of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We are pleased to hear that you liked our services and facility. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at our hotel.
Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I just wanted to say I can generally find fault with hotels , however this hotel far exceeded our expectations which led to a fanatasic stay in Budapest for 4 days. The staff are simply fantastic, we left something behind and guest services simply paid to have it sent to us 4 days later helf way across Europe it arrived. From the moment we arrived we were given excellent attention from every member of staff. It started when they "found" a table for us on Valentines day in the packed however excellent hotel restaurant, my wife loved it and being given roses as well for an amazing price! We stayed in a luxury room overlooking the water which again was excellent and very clean. The pool and sauna's were used by myself and the spa in generally was spotless. The amount of food avaiable at breakfast was the best I have every had in 20 plus years of travelling. Just incase I forgot to mention, the staff cannot do enough for you, AND THANKS FOR A GREAT STAY!

Room Tip: Check to see if the restaurant is offering a fixed price menu that evening, the value was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the guest services exceeded your expectations. The entire Sofitel team works exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is rated 14th on Tripadvisor I would rate it no 1. What a fabulous place. Staff are so friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. We were upgraded to the top floor (8th) with a Danube view. Spacious room with Hermes toiletries all replaced every day. Robes and slippers provided and pillow choice if you want it. Tea and coffee facilities replaced every day. A nespresso machine in the room was a lovely touch. We had an espresso every morning to start the day. Very centrally located hotel. Walked to all the sites. Paris Budapest restaurant in the hotel was fabulous. Try the Hungarian tasting menu at 7500 florins each (about £20 each) excellent a value. Spa facilities very good. Was lovely to be able to have a swim and sauna after long days walking to the sights. Used Zona Taxis to and from the airport. Booked via email in the UK before coming away. 4600 florints from the airport to the hotel and 3600 back to the airport. Breakfast is excellent. Anything you could possibly want is there. Service was excellent too. If you are thinking of booking this hotel - don't think..... Just book it you won't be sorry. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a room with Danube view, well worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silgrim54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire Sofitel Team we would like to thank you for such kind feedback and comments about our hotel! Your comments of ranking us number 1 in Budapest will definitely motivate our entire hotel staff to continue to provide and strive for excellent services for the future. I wish you a wonderful day and sincerely hope we would be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is situated in an excellent location, a short walk from the centre of town. On arrival we were welcomed and our bags were whisked off to our room - the check in process was quick and easy.
The rooms are good with very comfortable beds.
Breakfast was amazing - this hotel stands out from the rest when it comes to freshly made breakfast and the quality is excellent.

Great hotel and great location - I would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEDF81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for spending the time to post your feedback and comments of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you liked our services and facility. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,513 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 336 in Budapest
3,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 336 in Budapest
7,458 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 336 in Budapest
4,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#10 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $148 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing