We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent and well designed hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #27 of 337 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent and well designed hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms on the executive floor sport Hermes toiletries, the world's most comfortable beds, and excellent views of the Danube. Service is personal and attentive throughout. I have never been a Sofitel fan but this hotel could certainly turn me into one. A most pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henriett K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. The entire Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Team are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Sofitel Bed which is a signature to all the Sofitel beds around the world. Your comments of us turning you into a Sofitel fan has made our colleagues very proud, as we always try to create an unforgettable experience to all guests staying in our hotel. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,031
    1,165
    238
    64
    43
See reviews for
629
2,291
215
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (986)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rzeszow, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have been to Budapest many a time, but this was my first experience of the Sofitel. As I am an A-Club Platinum member I wrote to the hotel prior to my visit asking if they would honour my status. Received a very polite email in reply confirming that my status would be honoured.

Got the upgrade, free drink and gift on both days. As with all Sofitels bed is extremely comfortable, location is excellent and breakfast in the morning was simply wonderful.

Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I have been told that the Danube facing rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mnw-rzeszow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment. It is always a pleasure for us to receive such a positive feedback.

Here, as in all Sofitels, our Ambassadors are working very hard to make every guest feel special, so your feedback will serve as an encouragement for the entire Sofitel team.

Thank you very much again for writing a review, and we do sincerely hope that we can welcome you back at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge soon.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I had a city break for 3 nights last week at Sofitel it was a great. We even used the spar which was so relaxing. Brilliant hotel. Professional, friendly and helpful staff. 5 star comfort
the most comfortable beds. Wonderful views of the Danube. Excellent breakfast the best croissants in the world. could not fault anything. Very central for all the sights. Strongly recommended a most pleasant experience. We would love to go back there again.
.
.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a river view it is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hakan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our relaxing spa services and Sofitel MyBed™. Also it was nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lovely bedrooms and bathrooms on the executive floor sport Hermes toiletries, the world's most comfortable beds, and excellent views of the Danube. Service is personal and attentive throughout. I have never been a Sofitel fan but this hotel could certainly turn me into one. A most pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Go for executive club admission. Worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHMH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment. It is always a pleasure to receive such a nice feedback as yours.
We were especially glad to read that you have enjoyed our services so much that you could turn into a Sofitel fan.

We do hope we were able give you a very good impression and we are sincerely looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

The staff at the Sofitel Budapest are beyond compare. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they all genuinely were interested in making our stay the most enjoyable possible. It was clear to us that every staff member of the hotel LOVES their job. I've never seen this in any hotel before. The food is excellent.. And the views of the chain bridge and the castle were very romantic. The room was very comfortable, immaculate, and well-appointed. We also enjoyed the massages at the spa very much. Everything was Just Right during our 3-night stay.

Room Tip: It is well-worth it to have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spectacles88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know our staff was working so hard to fulfill your needs at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am a travel agent based in Houston TX and recently stayed at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge after my Viking River Cruise ended. The hotel is very nice, rooms comfortable and we loved
the spa and indoor pool. Location was great, right across from the Chain Bridge.
Front desk staff could have been a little friendlier and accommodating.
Sunday brunch was very nice with a great variety. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a city view room and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CTGUY799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Sunday Brunch and the Spa in our hotel. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This hotel lived up to the reputation of the top-of-the-brand Accor Hotel Group. The floors and rooms are arranged around the exterior of the central atrium which goes all the way up to the 8th floor and the light aircraft flying above. We were offered an upgrade for a charge, but this included a corner suite (5th floor) overlooking the Danube, Chain Bridge and Gresham Square as well as access to the executive lounge facilities. This offered free drinks and canapes on an evening and breafast was also served here, but we preferred to have breakfast in the restaurant on the first floor. The suite was fantastic - with a separate lounge, bathroom, and bedroom. The views from both rooms showed Budapest in all its glory. The hotel is well placed on the Pest side of the Chain Bridge, and walking to Buda as a well around Pest was very easy. I'd highly recommend this hotel for the first time traveller to Budapest and to those who return again and again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DRRHyvots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

It is our greatest pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, it was a delight to hear that you loved your room overlooking our panoramic view of the river Danube and Chain Bridge . Your review will motivate our colleagues to continue to work hard to exceed all the expectations of guests staying in our hotel. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#25 of 337 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,905 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#35 of 337 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 2,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 337 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 stars 837 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#14 of 337 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 stars 6,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing