We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #23 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We made a reservation for two rooms with Danube view from May. When we arrived ( we had already prepay the rooms) they ask to take a deposit of 300 euros from our credit cards, per room. We didn't know that, i think that is a lot of money. Other 5 stars hotels asks 40 euro more less.
When we saw our rooms the first one was ok, Danube and Buda view. The other one had part side Danube view, and main view in a Plazza, they tried to sell it to us as the almost perfect room.
After my request, they change our room next day.
They have very big problem with towels and bathrobes. We didn't have bathrobes, and when we ask, the brought us just one.
Despite that we put the label " do not disturb" the housekeeper knocked the door from 8:15 am!!
The indoor swimming pool is not so warm, 27c. But ok.
Regarding the breakfast, they ask 27euro per person!! Totally crazy price!
The rooms need renovation!!
To summarize the hotel service, rooms are not for 5 star hotel. We have stay in 5 star hotels a lot of times, and we know what to expect.

Room Tip: Danube view only. Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lina189433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations regarding the room facilities and the breakfast in the restaurant, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,750 - 2,756 of 5,616 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Sofitel Chain Bridge is in the perfect location for sightseeing in Budapest. Most rooms over look the Chain Bridge and the location is within an easy walk of every attraction in Budapest. The staff is friendly and helpful as well. Can not be beat!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn_in_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

DearGuest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge on your visit to Budapest. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your time during your stay. We also thank you for the positive review of our hotel.

We share all the feedback with the management and staff and such feedbacks help in staff motivation and recognition.

We do hope to welcome you again on your next visit to Budapest!

Sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel around Christmas 2012 and everything about the hotel experience was absolutely fantastic. First off, the hotel is in a phenomenal location -- the Chain Bridge is literally just outside, and you're minutes away from Vorosmarty square (super-cute during the holiday season) & Vaci street (beautiful pedestrian zone). I walked almost everywhere and the hotel proved to be an excellent base for exploration on foot. The decor of the hotel really clicked with me with its modern well-appointed minimalism and gorgeous purple color scheme. The staff were absolutely wonderful. My favorite detail was the illustrated running map that was hiding in the desk drawer.

I was initially trying to decide between the Sofitel, the Kempinski, and Le Meridien and think that the Sofitel is the clear winner. I'd happily stay here again when in Budapest.

Room Tip: My room was on the 8th (top) floor looking out to a quiet street -- the view across the river is bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and for taking the time to leave a comment. It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback.

We were happy to read that you liked our location, it is wonderful especially at Christmas time, when you visited us, but I hope you can come back once maybe in summer time as well, because the city can show a completely different face at that time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon at Sofitel Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed there in Feb 12. We got a really cheap deal or never would have been able to afford it. they upgraded up to a suite, for free, which was huge including two tv's, a lounge and desk area massive bed and good sized bathroom with plenty of toiletries.
We were able to go swimming in the spa every morning which was included in the price.
The staff were brillaint, helpful and friendly and even made us reservation and made phonecalls to us on our behalf.
I wouldn't hesitate to saty here again, such a great location & lovely experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. On the other hand we were especially glad to hear that you liked our Spa area and the bathroom amenities in the room.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we do hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We got a great deal on this hotel for a short break at the start of December and we weren't disappointed. The very best thing about this hotel is it's fantastic location right next to Chain Bridge. It is within walking distance of most of the main tourist attractions and very close to the Christmas markets that were on when we visited. The hotel itself was very good. The public areas are pretty impressive and the foyer/ atrium definitely has the wow factor. Our room was decent with plenty of space and a comfortable bed although the furnishings were a little bit dated. The breakfasts were absolutely amazing with a excellent and huge choice of food options -definitely the best hotel breakfast I have encountered in my travels. The only very small negative was the patchy wifi which I often couldn't get to work in the room. All in all I would recommend this hotel for a city break base.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWilberforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us such a nice feedback. Your satisfaction is the most important factor, therefore it is always a pleasure for us receiving a positive review, what we can share with our team. We were especially glad to read that you liked our location and also the building itself.

It would be a great pleasure for us to welcoming you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

It is just opposite the Chain Bridge, what else should I say?! Daytime view may not amaze you, which might be due to the air pollution, but at night, the view is simply wow! It really worths the extra money you paid for river view. The view at night is just like postcard, the Chain bridge and the Castle, totally breathtaking!
Actually the location is quite convenient, and easily reached metro.... as I packed lightly with a carry-on wheeler from Vienna for 3 days only. However, after early morning train from Wien, I got confused at the main train station, and got on the taxi with my friend, it was a total rip-off which left bad shade in my heart for the whole trip. The location is really convenient, walkable distance to Vaci street for shopping and restaurants. Cafè Gerbeaud is right behind the hotel, well close enough to say that. Even small cafès nearby are also very nice.
My hotel deal didn't include breakfast, so I couldn't say much about it. There are loads of choices nearby so not a big problem.
About the room, it is a bit plain for usual standard of Sofitel, which disappointed me a bit. Bathroom maintained usual Sofitel standard though. WIFI works really well.
One thing to think about is, it is quite packed with different tourist groups.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view and the location of the Hotel. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

good hotel in a great location. we had a room overlooking the danube and looking straight across the water to the palace and ctadel. service in the hotel very efficient, clean and modern. the swimming pool and sauna were nice additions and we indulged ourselves with spa treatments
.the central location on the pest side of the river was excellent and the hop on and off bus was very good value.

Room Tip: overlooking the river
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank silverScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,510 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#32 of 335 in Budapest
3,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#16 of 335 in Budapest
7,449 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 335 in Budapest
4,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $147 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing