We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a splendid vacation in an excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cochav yair
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a splendid vacation in an excellent hotel”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Sofitel is an excellent 5 * hotel in a very good location, close to central atractions. the rooms, service, breakfast and spa ith an indoor swimmingpool-all justify its famous reputation and high rating.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rivka_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,563
    1,317
    273
    71
    46
See reviews for
772
2,639
248
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

After traveling for 10 hours from London because Budapest airport was closed we were upgraded to a Suite. Very nice touch. The Room was quite big , with big lounge and big bathroom. The best of it is the BED!!! it was massive and super comfortable!
The bedrooms decor is a bit dated, it needs a renovation soon, but the lobby and public areas seemed quite contemporary.
Location could not be better, specially if you go in December, as they have a lovely Christmas Market round the corner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena2222186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable bed. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I stayed her for 4 nights in December with my wife. The hotel is situated on the Pest side of the Danube less than 100 metres or so from the Chain Bridge. The location is brilliant, right on the river (almost) and within easy walking distance of most of the famous sights and attractions (Buda Var with the Royal Palace, The Gellert Spa and Andrassy Avenue). At this time of year, the Christmas Market is just 2 minutes walk away in Vorosmarty Square as well. Upon arrival we were upgraded into a river view room free of charge and without any prompting or request. Consequently our room had a great view of the Chain Bridge, the Royal Palace and the Fishermans Bastion which were beautifully lit up at night. The room was as comfortable as expected with all the extras which make your stay that much more pleasant (tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, mini bar etc). Breakfast was excellent (0600 x 1100 hrs) with a huge variety on offer (cooked breakfast, pancakes, cereals, cold meats, cheeses, range of fruit juices and smoothies). All in all, an excellent hotel in a great, safe, central location and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mounthutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of the Hotel as well as our breakfast offers. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Situated in the heart of Budapest (on Pesta side), directly on the Danube river promenade and few meters from the amasing Chain Bridge, right across the Buda castle, the hotel is a experience itself, with the grandious reception reaching the upper floor (rooms situated on the sides/balcony floors, core is empty till upper wall were a plane is decorating the ambiance. Very confortable rooms, an amaising city view if you get a room on the Danube side, nice bar with piano, perfect service and a breakfast that leaves no wish open. You will feel like a queen/king. They have also a wellness club, unfortunately I arrived pretty late and it was already closed. I hope to try it next time!

Room Tip: Room with Chain Bridge view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miles_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the ambiance of our hotel.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I'll start with its location as it affects the whole expereince. The hotel is located within walking distance from the Vaci street and right next to the river where there is a beautiful view. The view however, in our case, was seen only from outside the hotel. Our room view was to the back of the river.
Room was convenient. Bed was comfortable, bathing room was OK although there was only one big bath, which we don't like that much.
Breakfast was rich and tasty.
The hotel stuff are extremely friendly and service-oriented. It starts from the waitresses through the receptionists and their concierge.
Overall, very good experience in there.

Room Tip: If possible, choose the ones with the river view. We weren't lucky to get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the attitude of our staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special.

Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washago, Canada
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Beautiful hotel. Top quality rooms, service, food and location. Incresible panoramic view of the Chain Bridge,and Palace, Castle and Cathedral across the river. Ideally located for tours of both sides of the river as well as the Old City. Doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I wish I had more positive things to say about this hotel, however there were only a couple of good aspects to our two night stay at the Sofitel Budapest. The location is great, close to the Chain bridge, Christmas markets and shops and our upgraded room had a pretty good view over the Chain Bridge to Buda.

Unfortunately the poor service started shortly after we arrived when we decided to get room service as it was already after 230pm and we we hadn't had lunch. I ordered the lasagne and my husband ordered a Hungarian stew with a side order of French fries. This is where the confusion commenced. The stew came served on top of the fries and without the potato dumplings that were supposed to accompany it. My lasagne was a re-heated serving which tasted like it had been made more than two days before. When I checked with the room service operator she advised there had been some confusion with the order and offered complimentary desserts. I requested a chocolate mousse and for my husband the vanilla ice cream. Again, confusion with the order. After waiting an additional 45 mins, the dessert finally arrived, however it was not two separate servings, it arrived as one scoop of vanilla ice cream and one scoop of chocolate ice cream in the same bowl (no chocolate mousse to be found!) This whole episode from the time we placed the first room service order to the time we received the complimentary dessert took close to two hours.

At the same time we discovered that the tv in the sitting room area did not work so a technician was sent to the room to fix it. He arrived half an hour or so after we had notified reception of the issue and as the tv could not be fixed, they replaced it with another one. This took a further half hour to sort out. As it turns out the problem didn't get fixed for the duration of the stay so we just used the tv in the bedroom instead. So our first couple of hours in the hotel did not go well, but we were sure it could not get worse and were optimistic about the rest of our stay so we headed out to explore the city the next day.

When we returned, our room had been tidied, but the minibar had not been checked/restocked and the Nespresso capsules had not been replenished.

On our second afternoon at the hotel we heard "bonjour" coming from the entrance area. I looked over in surprise to see one of the hotel staff there in our room - she had not even knocked!! The reason she was there was to give us a flyer advising of a party at the bar that evening. I'm still not quite sure why she needed to enter the room (without knocking) rather than just sliding the flyer under the door...

This was the final straw. I was so upset by all of these issues that I went down stairs and asked to speak to the manager to provide feedback. The manager was friendly, listened to my concerns and offered to waive the cost of the room service. Additionally he provided a 50% discount on the spa service I had booked for that evening. I have never ever asked to speak to a manager at a hotel before, however there were so many little things that went wrong during our stay, that I felt the Manager should be advised.

I wish I could say that the spa experience was relaxing and restored my faith in the Sofitel, but unfortunately that is not the case. I arrived for my treatment and was taken to a small room right beside the pool area (you actually have to walk into the pool area to get to this room). Its not particularly relaxing to listen to people swimming laps, chatting and kids playing in the pool whilst trying to enjoy a treatment. The spa therapist seemed to have a cold and blew her nose about 5 times during the treatment without washing her hands. I was in shock and completely disgusted by this, but didn't feel like I could just walk out. Whilst the mask was setting, the therapist started applying makeup to herself. I asked if she was getting ready to go out that evening to which she simply responded "yes" and kept on applying her make up. I thought this was quite rude and unprofessional.

Other minor annoyances during the stay:
- Wifi kept crashing every 10-20 minutes. I am so glad we did not pay for the wifi as it would not have been worth it for the coverage/service that the hotel provides
- Using the lifts. There were a couple of occasions during our stay where we waited over 15 minutes to get to/from the lobby as the whole hotel is serviced by only 3 elevators which is not enough when bus loads of French tourists descend on the hotel at once.
- The hotel itself is quite dated and could do with some renovations. The carpet was worn and had faded patches, the curtains had stains and there were chips out of the dated furniture- this was our impression of the suite so I would hate to think what the standard rooms are like!
- We stayed on the second floor looking over the bridge and also a very busy high traffic area and could hear the traffic throughout the night. I would recommend a higher floor if you are staying at this hotel.
- As a Platinum Le Club member you are supposed to receive a gift with your stay. I mentioned this at check out (and check in!) and was advised that the gift was some type of food platter and that as we had the do not disturb sign on the door, they could not deliver it. No big loss, but just another small thing that the hotel wasn't able to get right...

In isolation, none of these issues are major and could be easily forgiven, however over a two night stay at a five star hotel and as a Platinum Le Club Accor member, we were not left with a very good impression of the Sofitel Budapest. Would I stay here again? No. I'd probably choose the Intercontinental or Four Seasons which are both in the same area. Would I recommend the hotel to others? Definitely not based on the experiences we had. Such a shame as we had been very much looking forward to our time in Budapest. If you do decide to stay at this hotel, best to eat at one of the many restaurants in the area rather than the hotel, and don't bother with a spa treatment, it's really not that relaxing when you are listening to pool area noise.

Room Tip: Chose a room up high to avoid traffic noise. Don't bother with room service or the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eternalgringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow us to express our sincerest apologies.

Your detailed description about your experience in fact helps us very much in order to address the encountered problems and prevent their future occurrence. Please rest assured that we are taking appropriate measures to discuss the mentioned services with our team and improve them. As you have already met our Management team during your stay, we have acknowledged them right away and followed up with actions. We are very sorry that despite our efforts and compensation on the spot we were not able to restore your confidence; it was our highest intention to do so. Therefore please accept our kind apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; that is why your feedback is very important to us. We thank you once again for sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 333 in Budapest
3,300 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 333 in Budapest
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,241 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#11 of 333 in Budapest
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing