We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel - Delightful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #23 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very nice hotel with friendly staff and comfortable accommodations. The location is ideal for exploration to Buda and Pest while being next to restaurants and stores. We had a great view of the River, Chain Bridge and Buda Palace.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon_SH78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,755 - 2,761 of 5,566 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

Great location, great in-house restaurant, super helpful concierge, clean and nice rooms (we had a great view of the bridge, castle and Danube)... Maybe lacking that little extra that the Sofitel in Dubai had, but I guess thats the general difference between hotels in Europe/North America and Middle East/Asia... I would for sure stay there again and recommend it, well worth the price; excpet the hotel breakfast, fine with it being expensive if it delivers in par with the price but unfortunately this was not the case so we ended up having breakfast at the Starbucks which was just a 5-7 minute walk from the hotel! But ther than that it was great!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevreus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the Concierges exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Excellent service, breakfast substantial with wide variety of choice. Spa and swimming pool clean and service was helpful. Staff were very polite and helpful, would highly recommend this hotel. Beds were wonderful, so comfortable didn't want to get up on a morning!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laddie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Though I only had 2 nights booked in Budapest, I could not have done better in regards to location. With an 8th floor room, the view of the Chain Bridge and Danube was expansive, and just a little awe inspiring. I had easy walking access to the Grand Market Hall, pedestrian streets lined with restaurants and shops, ATM's, and the all-important Pharmacia for cold and stomach- ailment meds. The hotel is big, but you don't ever feel like you're lost. They have a humongous breakfast buffet, which is the only meal I had there. The rooms have all the quality associated with the Sofitel group - Hermes amenities, several kinds of coffees, a well stocked (but expensive!) mini-bar. The bed is incredible - so comfy. The bathroom is all marble with a tub and multi-head shower. The terry robe and slippers are so welcome after weeks of traveling. Well worth the expense for the location, view and genuinely friendly staff. And that breakfast buffett...............!

Room Tip: The higher floors have a grand view, but the 4th floor makes you feel closer to the bridge and river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room at the 8th floor, the location of the hotel, the comfortable bed and the breakfast. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was our second stay at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. Once again, the staff profesionalism, hospitality was excellent from check in to check out. We were upgraded to a suite room which was more than appropriated with our 2 kids. We used several times the room service : food was very good and served within 30 minutes. I would highly recommend to anyone who'd like to spend some good times in this beautiful city of Budapest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicomedbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge as your accommodation again and for taking the time to leave a comment. It is our real pleasure to receive such a positive comment, and an encouragement to all our staff, who are working very hard on it, to make every guest feel special.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Yours Sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Really impressed with this hotel! The staff were very welcoming and professional at all times!! We were told on arrival that we were 'guests of the day' and were upgraded to a deluxe room with a fantastic view in addition to a free buffet breakfast!! The hotel is in an excellent locatation right by the river Danub with the Christmas markets just a short stroll away!! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Budapest!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clazza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very glad to hear that you were chosen as the 'Guest Of The Day' in our hotel, and that you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. We hope to see you again very soon for your next stay here in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located on the Danube with views over the Palace on the other side of the river and the Chain Bridge, which lit up at night is magical.

Be advised though that your room could over look the Intercontinental in front or the street behind and so be sure to ask for Chain Bridge view.

The hotel is modern and trendy, the decor chic and there is a sense of openness due to the layout of the rooms which open into the central courtyard where the "Bibliotek" is located.

The check in was smooth and generally the staff were friendly and efficient. The concierge team was also really helpful.

The rooms themselves are a bit more classic and do not match the trendy exterior.

All amenities in place but the safe does not hold a laptop computer. The bathroom amenities were really good.

Overall the location cannot be matched as you are close enough and central to all attractions.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our magnifique location and the concierge service. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#28 of 334 in Budapest
3,483 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#31 of 334 in Budapest
3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#15 of 334 in Budapest
7,392 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#20 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $149 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing