We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #24 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
281 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“This hotel has superb location”
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located on the Danube with views over the Palace on the other side of the river and the Chain Bridge, which lit up at night is magical.

Be advised though that your room could over look the Intercontinental in front or the street behind and so be sure to ask for Chain Bridge view.

The hotel is modern and trendy, the decor chic and there is a sense of openness due to the layout of the rooms which open into the central courtyard where the "Bibliotek" is located.

The check in was smooth and generally the staff were friendly and efficient. The concierge team was also really helpful.

The rooms themselves are a bit more classic and do not match the trendy exterior.

All amenities in place but the safe does not hold a laptop computer. The bathroom amenities were really good.

Overall the location cannot be matched as you are close enough and central to all attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasonleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our magnifique location and the concierge service. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,567
    1,318
    273
    71
    46
See reviews for
774
2,641
249
719
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,138)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Perfect location, neat rooms, free wi-fi, nice breakfast, contemporary design that I really liked. The staff are not as perfect ( At least the ones I dealt with) but still have got my 5. A good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so very much pleased with the style of the hotel. However, I am terribly sorry for your impression regarding our staff.

We sincerely hope to get the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

As soon as you enter the hotel you feel like in a glamorous place, however not in over rated way.
The hotel reception are really friendly and efficient and there is always lots of staff around to help with any information needed.
The rooms are very spacious and managed to get a view of the bridge. The bathroom felt luxurious and loved the L'occitane products to go with it.
Breakfast was very good , so much variety and choice .. There is even a Japanese breakfast section , although I didnt try it I could appreciate how much they cater for their guests.
I had dinner in the Paris Budapest bar .. food was superb, service was fast and helped me with choosing a cocktail from their extensive range.
Had few coffees outside as well , again service was perfect . The staff always had time for you and got to know you personally to make your stay even special. Make sure you have a drink outside in their comfy garden furniture with the wonderful view of Chain Bridge.
Just a few mins walk behind the hotel is the main square with a big choice of restaurants, bars, cafes and loads of ice cream as well as shops such as H&M etc.

Room Tip: Try to ask for mid to high floor with any sort of view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel1986_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was nice to hear that the front desk and the Paris Budapest Bar and Restaurant's staff exceeded your expectations. They work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Very good hotel in the heart of budapest, on the Danube banks, with the greatest view in the city (Intercontinental has the same). Good common spaces (reception/lobby, elevators, an airplane hanging from the ceiling of the patio(!), good a la carte rstaurant, very good breakfast. Bathrooms will need renovation soon.

Room Tip: ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimitrisbAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review of our hotel. We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge and we hope to see you again very soon for your next stay in Budapest.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Se England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having advised the hotel of our special celebratory visit, what a lovely surprise for Troy to arrange a bottle of bubby after we'd arrived for our wedding anniversary.

The view of the Danube, the castle and chain bridge etc from the room was amazing; the staff were really nice and friendly - nothing was too much trouble; the breakfast was amazing; the location was perfect; but the beds ...... wow! so utterly comfy if felt like sleeping on a cloud - the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.

Our first stay at a Sofitel but hope it won't be too long before we get the chance to stay in another. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CountryLady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were so very much pleased with our Guest Relations services and the surprise you received in our hotel during your stay.

It is always a pleasure to receive such a positive feedback like yours, it is a real encouragement for all our staff.

We sincerely hope to see you back at Sofitel Budapest in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I spent 5 nights and my birthday in this fabulous hotel. The staff were amazing, as were the views from our lovely room. The meals were fantastic and breakfast had so much choice. Budapest is a must go to destination.

Room Tip: ask for a River and Chain Bridge facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear guest,

We were delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at the Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge. It was very nice to hear that we were able to make your birthday memorable. Our colleagues work exceptionally hard to make every guest feel special. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you in the near future.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karkur
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed for one night at this hotel and I'm not sure that I will return.

There isn't any specific reason for that decision, it's just that I didn't feel "at home" in this hotel. My room had all what you need and expect, they offer free wi-fi connection (although a little slow), free mineral water etc.

The spa area looks nice if you are looking for swimming pool. If you are more fitness room's person as I, you may be disappointed. They have only one treadmill and the room is somewhat tiny.

Breakfast was alright and the onsite coffee/bar offering a good selection of drinks and cakes.

Altogether it wasn't a bad choice but some personal touch was missing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ybaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. We are very sorry that your experience did not exceed your expectations regarding our services; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#26 of 333 in Budapest
3,305 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 333 in Budapest
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 333 in Budapest
1,247 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
The Ritz-Carlton, Budapest
#11 of 333 in Budapest
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#21 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing