We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view but, Oh Dear.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Ranked #26 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great view but, Oh Dear.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good things first. If you get a Danube facing room you won't have a better first sight of Budapest. Also it is very central.

But, I would only ever come here again if the company was footing the bill. The carpets are tired, some of the electrics were hanging off the skirting board and the service at breakfast went at slow march pace.

The hotel was heaving with conference guests and when I arrived at 9.30am on a Saturday for breakfast the queue was about 30 deep. There were tables but there was no efficiency for clearing and turning them.

In short, great view but don't go unless your widget company is coughing up.

Room Tip: Danube every time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDadofChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, especially the room and the breakfast service; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,409
    1,267
    261
    68
    45
See reviews for
720
2,542
238
691
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,095)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed there a bit over a year ago. It was after a biking trip and I wanted to treat myself and decided to get a room facing the Danube. I was surprised that it was less than USD 200 per night. It was actually cheaper than the hotel had I booked a room through my trip organizer.

It was late morning when I arrived at the hotel. I asked for a room on the higher floors. They didn't have it at that moment, but could possibly get me one if I wanted to return later. It was fine with me. So I wandered around the city a bit and returned early afternoon. I surprised to find out that I was upgraded to the top floor with a nice view of the river. The room was well appointed with nice French linen. The bathroom has a separate shower and tub.

I will definitely stay at a Sofitel again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a river view room. Price can be better if you book direct with them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Sofitel! The hotel is beautiful, the locations is great and the staff ie. female concierge are extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!! 5 stars!! Cannot wait to plan a trip to return!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My daughter and I visited Budapest or 3 nights in October and stayed at this hotel. We absolutely loved it. The location is perfect, and so close to so many attractions and transportation. The view of the bridge and castle was amazing, especially at night, The hotel was very clean, the rooms were spacious and the staff was so helpful ,friendly and accommodating. Couldn't have asked for better. We loved Budapest; it's an amazing city--safe and very clean with friendly, helpful people. Staying at this lovely hotel made our visit even better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Location is great...practically next to the Chain Bridge. Parliament about a 15-minute walk from the hotel. Tons of restaurants and shops near the hotel. Bed linens were fluffy and terry robes and slippers were provided. Included buffet breakfast great and the hotel staff were very solicitous. Free internet and computers in the Business Office. Negatives were that the room windows don't open and my room had a view of the building across the street. Request a river/bridge view. Also, rooms are not made up until mid-afternoon or later, despite requests. Since it's a chain hotel, one gets consistency in terms of amenities but no local charm.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank serpentine215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments about your stay with us. We are very sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations, especially regarding the Housekeeping service; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. We are also very concerned to hear that you were missing the local charm in our hotel. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address these problems and prevent future occurrence. For us it is most important that our guests leave Budapest with wonderful memories of their stay with us, therefore we thank you very much again for sharing your concerns with us.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Philippe Godard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We've just recently stayed in this hotel for a few nights. The location is just great. We were able to see so much of this beautiful city as such interesting places are within walking distance of the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants nearby which was a bonus. Our room was large and well appointed....and the beds were so very comfortable! The only disappointment was that use of the computers in the business centre was limited to 10 minutes free time. One would think that in this day and age there would be free computer use for all the guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank platzyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed for four nights over an extended weekend in a Luxury room with river views (#407). As a Le Club Gold member, I got my room upgrade, drinks vouchers and welcome gift (snack in the room) without asking, which is always nice.

What I liked was the impressive and stylish lobby/restaurant area in the middle, the friendly staff throughout the stay (reception, bar bellhops and business center) and the central location. As I had forgotten my mobile phone charger, I was happy the business center was able to charge the phone for me.

Having stayed at six different Sofitels, I get the impression there are two types: The very modern design hotels (Brussels and Strasbourg) and the more classic luxury ones (Dubai, Washington D.C.). This one in Budapest is an odd mix. While the lobby is very stylish, the decor of the rooms could be described as dated. A room refurbish would do wonders!

The suggestion I can think of is to improve the turndown service by turning on some nice relaxing music and leaving a chocolate in the room, as they do in many other places.

The Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge is a great choice for anyone looking for a very central hotel with rooms in a classic design.

Room Tip: The river views are great in both daylight and in the night, thanks to excellent lighting of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe_Godard, General Manager at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge as well as for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We are pleased to read that you liked the room upgrade and welcome amenity and that the business centre service exceeded your expectations, which is a great encouragement for our future work.
Regarding your notes about the room style and the turn down service, I can assure you that as a management team we take all comments very seriously and share them with our staff, so we may solve any and all issues. Again, thank you for your comments, which will help us in all ongoing efforts to improve our service.
We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge.

Your sincerely,

Philippe Godard
General Manager
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#23 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,171 reviews
District V / Inner City
Kempinski Hotel Corvinus Budapest
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Budapest Marriott Hotel
Budapest Marriott Hotel
#33 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,800 reviews
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge

Property: Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Address: Szechenyi Istvan Ter 2, Budapest 1051, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#11 Family Hotel in Budapest
#11 Business Hotel in Budapest
#18 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#23 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Budapest blends comfort and elegance with modern technology and French flair. This comfortable high-class hotel offers breathtaking views of the Chain Bridge and Royal Castle. The Paris Budapest Cafe restaurant at this luxury hotel fuses French and Hungarian cuisine, prepared in a show kitchen for all to see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Chain Bridge
Hyatt Budapest
Budapest Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing