We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Buda
Ranked #114 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel for business”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for business as it was very close to the offices I was working at. In terms of value for money, it is excellent and much cheaper than nearby hotels near to the castle area. The rooms were clean & comfortable with all that you required and best of all (for me) was the free & reliable wifi.

My room overlooked the train station but even with the window open I was not disturbed by any noise but being in a city location I would not expect it to be tranquil.

Food at the hotel was good. I had dinner there as I was on my own and would recommend the sizzling chicken!

The staff were very friendly and welcoming on my arrival.

My only complaint is that there is no gym to use but despite that I will use the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear dndrw,

Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest Buda during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments. It is always a pleasure to know that our Guests are satisfied with our services. We really do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    681
    360
    108
    72
See reviews for
229
563
137
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
111 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I have returned to Buda Mercure a couple of times in the recent years, and I recognised the reason: this hotel represents a solid value and definitely worth the price!
I mean, maybe this is not a full 4 star establishment, but definitely above the 3 star category, and compared to the value it is very favourable in its pricing.
I spent a night in Buda Mercure this time, given its close proximity to sights and traffic options. Front desk was again very polite and quick, and a welcome card awaited me in my room on the 8th floor (recommended.) Yes, the place shows the signs of aging, and soon it needs some refurbishments, hwever, it is very clean and in good order. I missed a few amenities in the bathroom, including a magnifying mirror and a body lotion. Both the bathroom and the room was very clean, the bed was comfy. The minibar was okay, and the hotel offers a good roomservce menu. Not much change in the selection of TV channels, though....
Breakfast was fine, catering most tastes.
Wifi is free of charge and worked pretty well across the whole hotel. Checkout was again very efficient. I will return...again...

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Utas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Utas2,

Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest Buda during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your glowing review about your stay. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the location and hotel overall, especially regarding the staff. It is always good to read that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend are just back from 4 nights at this hotel.
We found the staff to be extremely polite, professional and helpful.
Our bedroom was very clean and contained everything we needed, despite being a little small- however we spent very little time in it. We overlooked a train station but thankfully we weren't distrupted by the noice.
The hotel is located in the Buda part of the city which is the best bit in my opinion. Its within walking distance of the stunning castle district, restaurants and shops etc. (The walk involves over 200 steps so maybe not for everyone!). We even walked back and forth to the Pest part of the city.
We were able to buy bus tour tickets and spa tickets from the hotel reception which was helpful.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel and we will certainly book Mercure hotels in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine--xxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Katherine--xxxx,

Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest Buda during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments. It is always a pleasure to know that our Guests are satisfied with our services. We really do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel was very clean and comfortable. The beds were comfortable and although not huge, sufficed. I spent two nights here and very little of that time, outside of sleeping was in the room. There wasn't much of a view from my 3rd floor window but the hotel is located a very short distance from a little shopping strip, train station, and grocery store. There is a little souvenir shop located downstairs of the lobby, the lady was extremely nice and the items were reasonable priced. Breakfast, I have to say, was not good. Most items were cold, and even after we asked that the eggs be warmed up they tasted quite horrible. I ate a lot of bread with butter and jelly to hold me over until lunch
Overall, good location and reasonably priced but I would not rate this a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 704CarolinaGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear 704CarolinaGirl84,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review on your recent stay. I am glad you found our property and guest rooms favorable and I appreciate the positive nature of your comments. I will of course take on board the issues of concern you raised. Service and attention to detail are of paramount importance to our team.
Should you have an opportunity to visit Budapest again, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel is located on the 'Pest' side and is good for a business trip or if you are a tourist this hotel is a good 4 star standard hotel. Friendly service, good food. The rooms may need an upgrade in decor but otherwise good hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCardu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear SCardu,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to pass on your comments on your stay with us at Mercure Buda.
I greatly appreciate the compliments on the location, services and food. We have a unique location only a few steps away from the Budavár Castle ( World Heritage Site ) and 15 minutes walk from the Chain Bridge.
Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to write about us.
We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Киев, Украина
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed in that hotel for two days. The location is good (the metro station few meters away, attractions on the Buda Hill can be reached by stairs nearby).
The room is spacious, comfortable and fine. There is enough space for everything. Minibar, TV, kettle are there, Free coffee, tea and one bottle of water. All cosmetics you can need you'll find the bathroom. Everything is clean.
The stuff is friendly and helpful (our key card didn't work, they changed it in a minute). Parking is free outdoors in hotel's parking zone. If you need garage you should pay 12 euros per day.
Breakfast is very good. There is variety of foof to choose. If you stay for a long time you'll not be bored with the same food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aleksandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Aleksandra S,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff and breakfast. Your valuable words were a real recognition of our everyday effort. We really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

It is an average hotel with room enterier that needs to be changed soon. Our room was pretty dark and the window could not open. Outsided hotel looks really nice including the loby of the hotel but I was a bit dissapointed with our room. The service was excellent, brekfast was generous. Hotel is next to a metro station and tram station but be very carefull because there are a lot of homeless people and beggars so you should be very careful if returning late. All in all not a bad hotel, maybe a bit too expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Ivana S,

Thank you for your remarks. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our services and breakfast. Your valuable words were a real recognition of our everyday effort.
We really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Novotel Budapest City
#87 of 342 in Budapest
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#44 of 342 in Budapest
889 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#117 of 342 in Budapest
768 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#62 of 342 in Budapest
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Property: Mercure Budapest Buda
Address: Krisztina koerut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Budapest
#80 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#95 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, centrally located 4 star hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District, 4 metro stations from the city centre (Deak ter station) and with direct access to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Easy to reach from the M1 and M7 with coach parking. 7 conference rooms for up to 300 people ideal for meetings, seminars, training days and family functions. WiFi internet, business corner, 24 hour reception, two restaurants, lobby bar, souvenir shops, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing