We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Buda
Ranked #120 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Star City, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Restaurant”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We recently spent three days at the Mercure while we explored Budapest. Our room was on the eighth floor with a window facing Krisztina street, so we had a great view of the park across the street and other parts of the city. The hotel had multiple elevators so there was never a wait going up or down. For the price the hotel and rooms were very nice. The restaurant was a bit pricey but the food was very good. We usually ate breakfast in a little café behind the hotel as it was much cheaper. Lunches in the bar area of the hotel were very good and reasonably priced. The hotel is located in a nice safe area. We came to Budapest by train and the hotel was easily reached by taking the M2 Metro right outside the train station and exiting at a stop within a block of the Mercure. The Metro was extremely clean and nice. If we return to Budapest, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doodles45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Doodles45,

Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest Buda during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the location and hotel overall.
Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    695
    381
    116
    77
See reviews for
240
580
141
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pemuteran, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We were out for meetings most of the day and shopping at night, so the small room wasn't much of a bother as long as it's clean, though the bed and pillows were way too soft for any form of support. Yes, the air-con was way too loud.
What you will really appreciate is the proximity of the metro to Vaci utca for shopping, trams to just about everywhere, supermarket for drinks and snacks and short walk to castle district. Ah yes, very important is the free wifi, even in the rooms.
The breakfast is adequate, but the lack of variety will leave you bored after 3 days or so. Basically, everything is self-service (including the coffee) and lack of smiles, which is fine by me as handling big tour groups couldn't have been much fun with just a couple of staff. What peeved me somewhat was breakfast on the day of my departure at a smaller breakfast venue. No one was even bothered to show me to a table and the wait staff were more interested in talking amongst themselves (including the manager) after giving me the once over as if I wasn't a guest or something. Well, he could easily have asked for my room number to confirm, but I supposed no one really could be bothered.
In all, I will choose this place for the location if I'm not going to stay much time in the room. And go elsewhere for breakfast if it's not included in your package.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusutsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Rusutsu,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda.
We very much appreciate all your comments regarding your stay.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stay here about 6/7 times a year

Great value for money and convenient location

Good transport links and local eateries.

There is a supermarket behind the hotel for drinks etc rather than mini bar prices - fridge in room

ATM next to the supermarket

Free Wi FI

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the Privelige rooms, they are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peccaviman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Peccaviman,

Many thanks for the nice words which you posted to TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read your positive remarks regarding your stay in our hotel; we will share them with our team. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I felt like im at home with The lovely staff, delicious food, renovated rooms.
Metro station is just behind the hotel, a park is infront of the hotel. It is only 20 min. To walk fashion street via Chain Bridge with a very nice view of Budapest.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fraxinella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear YKyn,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff and food. Your valuable words were a real recognition of our everyday effort. We really look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Just stayed here for two nights. It was a decent price to be fair and is not that far from the Pest side of the city, very close to Public Transport. Breakfast was a bit on the expensive side at 12 euro!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mohammad K,

Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest Buda during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments. We really do hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

not really kind reception staff.They seemed like they were bored to help you and sometimes ironique!!ask for room with view in the front side because the back side is ungly!The good thing is that it is near the castle so very near!!The other good thing is that you can use the tram number 18 BETTER THAN TO TAKE THE METRO!!very good breakfast !very small rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vergis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Vergis,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. We greatly appreciate your comments regarding our location. We consider ourselves to be fortunate as the fundamentals of the hotel are particularly good. One of the main railway stations as well as the nearest metro stop is only 100 meters from the hotel, and if you want to get to the castle district area which is part of the World Heritage Sites you needn't have to walk more than 10 minutes.
Thank you again for taking the time to post all of your thoughts and I do hope we get to cater to your needs again in the future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Novotel Budapest City
#90 of 334 in Budapest
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#123 of 334 in Budapest
831 reviews
Novotel Budapest Danube
#62 of 334 in Budapest
1,652 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 334 in Budapest
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Property: Mercure Budapest Buda
Address: Krisztina koerut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in Budapest
#60 Business Hotel in Budapest
#84 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#95 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, centrally located 4 star hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District, 4 metro stations from the city centre (Deak ter station) and with direct access to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Easy to reach from the M1 and M7 with coach parking. 7 conference rooms for up to 300 people ideal for meetings, seminars, training days and family functions. WiFi internet, business corner, 24 hour reception, two restaurants, lobby bar, souvenir shops, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing