We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old worn out rooms, location ok,” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Budapest Buda

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Budapest Buda
Ranked #113 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Helsinki
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Old worn out rooms, location ok,”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

The first impression of this hotel is quite ok until you enter the upper floors. The carpet is worn out as well as the room. Especially the linen and the bathroom. Didn' t try any restaurant services except bfast which was ok. Location is slightly aside from a tourists perspective, however the taxis are cheap. There is a perfect bistro called Deryan or something close to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor towards the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Jan-Erik L,

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. It is always a pleasure to receive a feedback, might it be positive or negative.
I am very sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations and that you did not feel comfortable in your room. My Housekeeping and Engineering teams work tirelessly to ensure that all of our accommodations exceed our brand standards in terms of cleanliness and conditions. We indeed strive for providing all our guests an exceptional, individual and personalized service.
The historical Castle District is only few steps from the hotel and as the nearest underground station is right behind the hotel we could not be more central. Our hot buffet breakfast is substantial, healthy and shows a wide variety of Hungarian specialities.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at Mercure Buda and I really do hope that your overall impression still animates you to return.

Yours sincerely,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    675
    355
    106
    69
See reviews for
222
560
137
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed 3 times here over last 2 years and the hotel has always met my expectations. It is either new or redone, it is clean and feels like you are the first to stay in the room. Breakfast menu included local specialties. Professional and friendly staff. Very convenient location with a metro station 200 m away and a nearby supermarket open 7/7. It was easy to extend free parking for our car beyond check in/out hours.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Jan M,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks. We are more than happy that you were satisfied with our hotel and services and especially with our staff and breakfast. Your valuable words were a real recognition of our everyday effort.
Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
121 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

I can't remember when I stayed last in such horrible place. Customer service is a foreign concept here, the rooms are basic as you may expect in a 2 star hotel, the place is full of loud tourists like a train station, food is basic... Amenities non existent...in short, horrible place in a beautiful city!!! There are so many nice hotels in Budapest so do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else!!!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Laetiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Laetisz,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with us.
We are very sorry that Mercure Budapest Buda did not meet your précised expectations, and I investigated all your comments with my team in order to further improve our services.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to show you our best performance.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Highland, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. Very helpful front desk. We stayed on 3rd. floor on the park side and had a great nightly view of castle hill lit up. We did not have noise from the street that others mentioned. Grocery and Drug stores just behind the hotel.
Bathroom totally redone and very clean. We had a bath tub, which others mentioned they did not have. The room was just fine as far as size, much bigger than we have experienced in either Paris or London. Much cleaner and nicer than many I have stayed at here in the States. It was a fun quick walk up to Castle Hill. I thought the location was fantastic, among the local neighborhoods, a nice green park across the street. This hotel was much cleaner and nicer than many I have stayed at here in the States, and the breakfast buffet was way above any they serve here. The tourist groups had their own separate dining room, so there was no problem getting all the food we wanted, or a table. I thought they had a great typical European breakfast selection, catering to many tastes, lots to eat if you need gluten free, and you don't get that here in the States either. Fill up on Breakfast though, if you go off season like us, it was very hard to find a restaurant in the area that was open. We ended up eating at a place on Castle Hill.

Room Tip: Back of Hotel has views of the subway tracks, etc... which would have made for us, a whole different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BohemyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear BohemyJo,

Thank you so much for choosing Mercure Budapest Buda during your stay in Hungary. We appreciate your nice comments. We are very delighted to read your positive experience about the location and hotel overall. It is always good to read that our guests found our staff friendly and helpful. Special thanks for staying with us next time when you come to Budapest.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Washington, Usa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Travelled by train to Budapest and an enjoyable journey.
On arrival at the railway station we went to a taxi rank, told them our destination and was told 'no', go to another location.
Found a cab and it wasn't too far away.
The Front Desk staff were very good.
Nice room on the 8th. floor.
Went for a walk, up the many steps to the top where there is a big church and old palace. Great views over the Danube and Parliament House. Nice walk back and found a nice restaurant.
The hotel is only a couple of hundred yards from the Metro (end of line) and a number of tram destinations. The restaurant is also nice and we had a couple of evening meals there.
Attended an Hungary Folk Dance concert and night cruise - all wonderful. On the cruise there was a trio playing as well.
Lots of walking and thoroughly enjoyed Budapest.
Anyone going to Europe should visit Budapest (we also visited Vienna and Prague - turned out to be a nice culture tour as we went to about 6 concerts in all).
Ron

Room Tip: Beautiful buildings and plenty of trams, which I really like. They are building new lines next to Pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Ronald F,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Among the advantages of our hotel there is the good location, the helpful staff. Thank you for your remark again and we sincerely hope to see you back in our hotel in the near future.

Best regards
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#43 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#117 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Novotel Budapest City
#88 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Gellert Hill
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
Gold Hotel Wine & Dine
#112 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Property: Mercure Budapest Buda
Address: Krisztina koerut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Budapest
#80 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#95 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, centrally located 4 star hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District, 4 metro stations from the city centre (Deak ter station) and with direct access to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Easy to reach from the M1 and M7 with coach parking. 7 conference rooms for up to 300 people ideal for meetings, seminars, training days and family functions. WiFi internet, business corner, 24 hour reception, two restaurants, lobby bar, souvenir shops, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing