We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, faded glory rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Buda
Ranked #132 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

First floor ok, nice bar and restaurant, friendly staff. Rooms are no more then 2* ... Small and eastern european style. Lack of ventilation, poor airco. Not Mercure worthy. But price not too high, in spite of formula 1 weekend. Good place, close to M1 metroline, 4 stops to city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrianus4185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Adrianus4185,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda. I am sorry that your experience did not meet fully your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nicenc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one week. The rooms were fine and so was the breakfast. Service at the desk is good with nice help! However upon changing euros for forints they held an exhange rate of 271 while the ATM next door was 285. If Mercure really wants the best for their customera they should have send us there instead when I asked for the best rates in this area of budapest.

But overall we had a good stay at Mercure with nice service ( asking for extra lotions, making a call or printing tickets).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Thomas6266,

Many thanks for the nice words which you posted to TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read your positive remarks regarding your stay in our hotel; we will share them with our team. We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Best regards,
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is amazing. One of the best places I've ever stayed at. The hotel has a free parking as well as a garage for a small fee. The restaurant and food are just awesom!!! Lot's of shops, bars and restaurants around.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiktorLem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear WiktorLem,

Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. We are happy that you had a wonderful stay with us. It is our pleasure also that we succeeded to exceed your expectations in terms of service. We are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, and felt like a really safe area. It's close to the metro and supermarket and has a lovely park across the road. The rooms are not modern but very clean and comfortable, with great beds. The breakfast was plentiful and the fresh fruit lovely. We were part of a Cosmos tour and were treated very well indeed. Thanks.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ngaire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Ngaire B,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Among the advantages of our hotel there is the good location, the helpful staff. Thank you for your remark again and we sincerely hope to see you back in our hotel in the near future.

Best regards
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lovely location for Budapest castle and the Deli P metro station. Business hotel with lovely spacious rooms and reasonably priced although located on a busy road is reasonably quiet. Would recommend it and use it again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puffin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear puffin_10,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. We greatly appreciate your comments regarding our location. We consider ourselves to be fortunate as the fundamentals of the hotel are particularly good. One of the main railway stations as well as the nearest metro stop is only 100 meters from the hotel, and if you want to get to the castle district area which is part of the World Heritage Sites you needn't have to walk more than 10 minutes. I was pleased to see you generally enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to provide a totally satisfying experience to each and every person who visits our property. Thank you again for taking the time to post all of your thoughts and I do hope we get to cater to your needs again in the future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed on business trip with meeting in hotel. Booked 2nd floor 'privilege room' at 20EUR extra.
Had breakfast at hotel and one dinner.
The location is fine. Just use the metro (3 stops) if you want to go to Pest, and the trams for the Buda side. Yes there are 300+ steps to the castle, but if you are reasonably fit, you can do it in 20 min (I did it in 10 min after a 5km run...) Otherwise - taxis are cheap (for Europe). There is a supermarket behind the hotel. Rudas and Gellert baths are 3 and 4 tram stops away respectively.
Breakfast was unexciting, but fine otherwise. Mix of European breakfast (cheese, sliced meats, bread/pastries, yogurt) done well; and American (sausage, waffles, eggs) done not so well. Hungarian smallgoods on offer, which was nice. Coffee was ok.
Dinner was surprisingly good. I didn't expect it to be, and was happy with the meal and the service. It was more expensive than looking elsewhere, but no more so than other tourist trap eating in this city, and at least I could room charge.
The 'privilege room' is small. But it did have a comfy bed, a decent shower (no bath), kettle and bar fridge. No iron/board, which is common in Europe (fire regulations?).
Wifi was fine. See my photo of the speed test I did. And it was free throughout the whole hotel. I'd give this place 4 stars for this alone.
The air conditioning did work in my room.

So, I suggest if you are going to stay here, please pay the extra 20EUR for the better room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarbonOffset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear CarbonOffset,

Thank you for your remark regarding your stay in Mercure Budapest Buda. Our hotel has a very good location as you mentioned in your comment. We appreciate that you enjoyed the upgraded Privilege Room with its many extra features like Nespresso machine in the room, complimentary mineral water, etc. We hope you choose our hotel during your next visit as well.

Best regards,
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#96 of 336 in Budapest
804 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#63 of 336 in Budapest
427 reviews
Expo Congress Hotel
#90 of 336 in Budapest
601 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#49 of 336 in Budapest
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Address: Krisztina korut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Budapest
#88 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#95 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $54 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the 4-star Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel and enjoy the convenient transport links, direct metro access from the city center (Deak ter) and next to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Our hotel is located in a green neighborhood, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District. The hotel has 390 well-equipped rooms. Our professional staff will help you organize your conference, seminars, training days up to 300 people while you relax and enjoy the event. Just relax in our restaurant or bar after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing