We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job, but little excitement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Buda
Ranked #131 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. Location is obviously good for exploring the Buda side and the Castle district. It's a bit more of a hike to the Pest side, but there is a nearby tram stop, part of the City's very good transport sytem.
The hotel decor feels a little tired and overall was not quite up to the standard of some other Mercure hotels. Having said that, the price was very reasonble, so in that sense it was fair value for money. My room had all the basics, with a comfortable large bed. During my stay quite a number of coach parties seemed to pass through, so there were waves of intense activity in the lobby and (separate) restaurant area.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when ordering taxis, printing boarding cards etc. The breakfast buffet was adequate, but not very exciting. I ate alone in the restaurant one evening - there was a longish wait for the food to arrive, but when it came it was freshly cooked and tasty.
Free WiFi is a bonus and very useful. The Conference facilities were fine and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baymadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Baymadge,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us regarding your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Among the advantages of our hotel there is the good location, the helpful staff. Thank you for your remark again and we sincerely hope to see you back in our hotel in the near future.
With best regards
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

543 - 549 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Reasonable hotel, sitting on the Buda Side of Budapest (there's another Mercure Hotel on the Pest side). Situated next to the tram and close to the Castle District, Matthias Church and about a 10-15 min walk to the Chains Bridge. Rooms are decent, a little cramped with the amount of stuff in them, but such is life sometimes. Breakfast is buffet style if that floats your boat and there are restaurants in the hotel for dinner. Good amount of elevators for a hotel, free wireless internet which is always a plus. For a good hotel, I was expecting it to have a fitness center however.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Christine G,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. We greatly appreciate your comments regarding our location. We consider ourselves to be fortunate as the fundamentals of the hotel are particularly good. One of the main railway stations as well as the nearest metro stop is only 100 meters from the hotel, and if you want to get to the castle district area which is part of the World Heritage Sites you needn't have to walk more than 10 minutes. I was pleased to see you generally enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to provide a totally satisfying experience to each and every person who visits our property. Thank you again for taking the time to post all of your thoughts and I do hope we get to cater to your needs again in the future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very reasonable. Good, clean room. Buffet breakfast was on sale at half the normal rate, so
we took it. Only noise was that of the tram line. We stayed on the 8th floor. Elevator was spacious.This is good for business people and couples. Prices were reasonable, so recommended for older couples.

Room Tip: request a room in the back of the hotel due to tram noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aszu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear aszu,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda. I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience in our hotel! The location of the hotel is one of the great features that make us a perfect choice for a holiday or a business trip!
Once again, thank you for the feedback and for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Next to a rail station, a TV that had wavy lines on it, and being asked to pay for a sachet of butter to spread on my bread at dinner and finally being treated like second class when requesting a kettle to have a cup of tea early in the morning. A 4 Star hotel?? NO WAY!! I will never stay in another Mercure Hotel, and we do travel quite a lot. Give this joint a big miss!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimih4213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Jimih4213,

We appreciate your sharing your concerns Mercure Budapest Buda. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; your feedback is very important to us. I am very happy that we could discuss in person the things you made unsatisfied during your stay. I am aware that your feedback is just to make our services even better.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Mercure Buda for three nights. It was exceptional value, within minutes of both underground station and trams. Close to castle. An easy walk to city. The hotel staff are very polite, helpful and most speak excellent English. Breakfast was excellent with so much choice. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. I was a party of five and we all enjoyed it so much it was quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1947AtteR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear 1947AtteR,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Mercure Budapest Buda.

Best regards,
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Mercure Buda is located near a metro station (M2) Deli Pú - only 4 stations till Deak fer - heart of the city center in Pesta. Also located near a park and in walking distance to Buda castle. The rooms are nice (especially the privilege rooms where you get also a complimentary bottle of water and tea&coffee kettle, free internet in your room, the breakfast offers a good variety of dishes, the stuff is kind and helpfull and the comfort is on a expected level for the price that you pay. Rooms are clean and bed is nice, you can choose the hotel while on business trip or leisure. Don't miss a dinner in the gourmet restaurant of the hotel, you will enjoy a really tasty food and a perfect wine.

Room Tip: It's nice to have a room in the upper floors (8th is the best) with a view to the park - front s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miles_more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear miles_more,

Thank you for the great feedback and I appreciate you choosing Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda for your hotel needs in Budapest.
We really value our prime location and it certainly brings many guests to our Hotel as a result. We are very anxious to share with our guests our new Privilege Level rooms that can cater the most sophisticated needs (comfortable double bed, coffee-tea making facilities, LCD TV, rain shower, luxury amenities in the bathroom, bathrobes, slippers...). Thank you for acknowledging our service - we take time to ensure that attention is given to the smallest details that make the biggest difference. Being another recent comment regarding the toaster in our breakfast room, I will certainly be considering the options available.

Thank you again for your post and I hope you choose us again in the future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for three nights and was delighted by how friendly the staff were, how clean the rooms were and how perfect the location was.
Because it was my girlfriend's birthday we were very kindly given an upgrade to a Privilege room and I couldn't have asked for more...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lukas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Lukas W,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! We are so pleased to hear that all your senses were satisfied during your time with us!
The Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda is fortunate to have convenient rooms in the Castle District area and my Housekeeping and Engineering teams work tirelessly to ensure that all of our accommodations exceed our brand standards in terms of cleanliness and conditions. I greatly appreciate the compliments on the staff! I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team!
Thank you once more for you fantastic feedback. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Best regards,

A. Nagy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
ibis Budapest Heroes Square
#96 of 334 in Budapest
787 reviews
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Budapest City
Ibis Budapest City
#51 of 334 in Budapest
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
Novotel Budapest City Hotel
#92 of 334 in Budapest
850 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#56 of 334 in Budapest
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Address: Krisztina korut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Budapest
#88 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#95 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $52 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the 4-star Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel and enjoy the convenient transport links, direct metro access from the city center (Deak ter) and next to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Our hotel is located in a green neighborhood, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District. The hotel has 390 well-equipped rooms. Our professional staff will help you organize your conference, seminars, training days up to 300 people while you relax and enjoy the event. Just relax in our restaurant or bar after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing