We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“New Year, 2012” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Budapest Buda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Buda
Ranked #106 of 337 Hotels in Budapest
Bijeljina, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Year, 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed there from 31.12.2011 to 02.01.2012. so it's very short time to get some wide impressions. First location of the hotel is ok, it's not in the center but you have some 5 min by taxi from Roosevelt square , just over the bridge. Hotel is very bog, lobby area nice and warm, clean also. Rooms are fine, nothing special but good for the price we payed. We stayed on bed and breakfast basis. Breakfast is ok, but could be better for such kind of hotel. Restaurant food is ok. So all in all for two days it was ok, only remark goes to fact that they didn't had hot water in bathrooms till 8 pm at 31.12.2011. Explanation- to much guest are showering at moment. Please! You must count on such kind of things , especially if it's New Year's Eve. That's not excuse. The best about Budapest if you go it's town for it self. And it's beautiful...

Room Tip: No tips, rooms are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brankica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Brankica M,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda. I am sorry that your experience did not meet fully your expectations and the "shower-case" caused discomfort for you.
At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    635
    331
    96
    52
See reviews for
202
521
128
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is up to the Mercure standard. Free wifi is a bonus. Breakfast was adequate. The only complaint I have is that a small bottle of complimentary water was provided with the first night but no additional bottled water was provided for the other two nights. Recommended for business travelers.

Helpful?
2 Thank highlandhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear highlandhiker,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay and your suggestion regarding complimentary water.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Mercure.

Best regards,

A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Mercure Budapest Buda, however on the other side of the Danube, is easily accessible by subway. There is train station and tram stops nearby. Staff was friendly and polite, the overall experience was satisfying too - I got what I expected, The problem was that I booked twin and got double bedroom. It's a good choice for travellers with moderate needs and budget.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SirGader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear SirGader,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your staying in Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda! I greatly appreciate the compliments on the location, cleanliness and staff. I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team!
We have a unique location only a few steps away from the Budavár Castle ( World Heritage Site ) and 15 minutes walk from the Chain Bridge.

Once again, thank you for the positive feedback and for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Best regards,

A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I came to this hotel since it was offered to us as a package. The hotel is decent, the staff is not particularly friendly and the room is sized, although the bathroom is very dated.

The worse thing about this hotel is its location- getting to/from the city centre on foot is quite challenging and the metro, which is very close, closes at 11.30pm. I would suggest staying in Pest when visiting Budapest.

The view from our room was nice, but a bit noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Cahrleme M,

I greatly appreciate that you chose to stay with us. The Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda is fortunate to have convenient rooms in the Castle District area that provides an ideal base to explore many of Budapest’s attractions. Our standard rooms are spacious, very comfortable and supplied with all the modern conveniences, not to speak about privilege rooms that can cater the most sophisticated needs as well (double bed, coffee-tea making facilities, LCD TV, rain shower, special setup in the bathroom, bathrobes, slippers...). I was surprised to read your thoughts on my staff. We are always ready to give the best services for our clients and they always appreciate it. Service and attention to detail are of paramount importance to our team and to this end we have an extensive training and induction program called MSense for all new employees to complete and pass.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your observations. I look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Best regards,

A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel was just 4 metro stops away from the city centre and within walking distance from the main sightseeing areas. There were several restaurants around the area and a large supermarket just behind the hotel.
We were upgraded to a premium room with coffee making facilities and this was definitely a plus point as we were traveling with a 20 months old baby. A cot was also provided free.
The metro station was 5 mins away and it was very convenient to get around. A halal kiosk selling kebabs was also located nearby.
Although the hotel was located at the buda area and we had to climb up numerous steps to get to the castle, it was still managable even for my elderly parents.

Room Tip: Get the premium room as it was bug and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolnymph2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Coolnymph2003,

Thanks for the great feedback and I appreciate you choosing Mercure Budapest Buda for your hotel needs in Budapest.
I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team! We have a unique location only a few steps away from the Budavár Castle ( World Heritage Site ) and 15 minutes walk from the Chain Bridge.
I hope we get to cater to your needs again one day soon.

Best regards,
A Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#101 of 337 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gellert Hill
Hotel Mediterran
Hotel Mediterran
#86 of 337 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#62 of 337 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 1,264 reviews
Novotel Budapest City
#85 of 337 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Property: Mercure Budapest Buda
Address: Krisztina koerut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Budapest
#70 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#96 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, centrally located 4 star hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District, 4 metro stations from the city centre (Deak ter station) and with direct access to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Easy to reach from the M1 and M7 with coach parking. 7 conference rooms for up to 300 people ideal for meetings, seminars, training days and family functions. WiFi internet, business corner, 24 hour reception, two restaurants, lobby bar, souvenir shops, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing