We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Budapest Buda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mercure Budapest Buda
Ranked #113 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    675
    354
    106
    69
See reviews for
222
560
136
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swieqi, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I came to this hotel since it was offered to us as a package. The hotel is decent, the staff is not particularly friendly and the room is sized, although the bathroom is very dated.

The worse thing about this hotel is its location- getting to/from the city centre on foot is quite challenging and the metro, which is very close, closes at 11.30pm. I would suggest staying in Pest when visiting Budapest.

The view from our room was nice, but a bit noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Cahrleme M,

I greatly appreciate that you chose to stay with us. The Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda is fortunate to have convenient rooms in the Castle District area that provides an ideal base to explore many of Budapest’s attractions. Our standard rooms are spacious, very comfortable and supplied with all the modern conveniences, not to speak about privilege rooms that can cater the most sophisticated needs as well (double bed, coffee-tea making facilities, LCD TV, rain shower, special setup in the bathroom, bathrobes, slippers...). I was surprised to read your thoughts on my staff. We are always ready to give the best services for our clients and they always appreciate it. Service and attention to detail are of paramount importance to our team and to this end we have an extensive training and induction program called MSense for all new employees to complete and pass.
Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your observations. I look forward to having an opportunity to be of service to you in the future.
Best regards,

A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The hotel was just 4 metro stops away from the city centre and within walking distance from the main sightseeing areas. There were several restaurants around the area and a large supermarket just behind the hotel.
We were upgraded to a premium room with coffee making facilities and this was definitely a plus point as we were traveling with a 20 months old baby. A cot was also provided free.
The metro station was 5 mins away and it was very convenient to get around. A halal kiosk selling kebabs was also located nearby.
Although the hotel was located at the buda area and we had to climb up numerous steps to get to the castle, it was still managable even for my elderly parents.

Room Tip: Get the premium room as it was bug and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolnymph2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Coolnymph2003,

Thanks for the great feedback and I appreciate you choosing Mercure Budapest Buda for your hotel needs in Budapest.
I will be sure to share your comments with the entire team! We have a unique location only a few steps away from the Budavár Castle ( World Heritage Site ) and 15 minutes walk from the Chain Bridge.
I hope we get to cater to your needs again one day soon.

Best regards,
A Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Room is clean, reasonable size. Wifi available in the rooms but one needs to keep signing. Toilet and bathroom is clean. We were on the 7th floor ( non-smoking) and it was noisy in the wee hours of the morning. Can hear people talking loudly along the corridor outside. We stayed 2 nights and both nights were noisy. Our room faced the city (Pest side) and it was a lovely view. Breakfast was good, though range is rather limited. Behind the hotel is a supermarket and adjacent to the hotel is a shopping centre.

Room Tip: Friends on 6th floor said it was not noisy on their floor(smoking floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yim1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your experience about Mercure Budapest Buda. We are very sorr y that the noise caused discomfort for you.
We really value our prime location in Budapest and it certainly brings many guests to our hotel as a result. I trust you will choose Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda again if your needs bring you back to our beautiful capital in the future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stayed there in November 2012. A business associate made the booking, but they did not warn her that the price is without VAT and without breakfast, so it was a bit messy when we arrived at the reception and realised that we have to pay 40% more for VAT and breakfast. In total I paid 77 EUR for one night,. It is not expensive, but I think it is not worth it. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, the rooms are shabby and cold as the heating was not working in November and I was not impressed with the staff (although no one was rude or anything). The cleaning lady woke me up in the morning by trying to barge in my room...at 7 a.m. That was not very nice. Breakfast costs 12 EUR, and it is a generous one. If you are a breakfast person, 12 EUR is a good value for what they offer. I think one could find a better place for the same money in the city centre.
I will definitely not return here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Foks M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Foks M,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on Trip Advisor. In my opinion we are a reasonably priced hotel offering good value and services, this is the major reason why most travellers put their votes to us. We really value our prime location and it certainly brings many guests to our Hotel as a result. The Budavár Castle (World Heritage Site) is only a few steps away from us and the Chain Bridge is also not farer than 15 minutes on foot. We are fortunate to have large rooms in the downtown area and my Housekeeping and Engineering teams work tirelessly to ensure that all of our accommodations exceed our brand standards in terms of cleanliness and conditions. Our rooms are supplied with all the modern conveniences and can cater everybody's needs. We take pride in our award winning customer service and understand the importance of attention being given to the smallest details that make the biggest difference. I apologize for the waking up you mentioned. My Housekeeping Manager has been engaged to investigate your case, to report back to me with an explanation and action plan for immediate improvement. I hope that we get the chance to replace your negative experiences with far more favorable ones in the future at some stage. Should you be willing to give us another chance please do contact me directly and I will ensure your next stay is a much more pleasing one.

Again thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Best regards,
A Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Manchetser
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Great Hotel with all mod cons you need. Close to centre and excellant value for money. Have stayed before and will stay again. Restaurent is very good. Rooms tidy and clean.

Perhaps the rooms could be a better size

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LampBattMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear LampBattMan,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda.
We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay. We are very happy that you are returning guest, this is a real appreciation for us.
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Mercure Budapest Buda.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA PLATA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The upgrade came with LeClub membership. Do it and enjoy the upgrades. First time for us in Buda of Budapest and it was within walking (long) of Caslte Hill and the iconic monument. We really appreciated the complimentary breakfast and the complimentary computers in the business center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FtRitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear wairs,

Thanks for the great feedback. I am really pleased we were able to meet (and hopefully exceed) your expectations. I appreciate everything you said and hope we get to cater to your needs when you are in Budapest again soon.

Best regards,

A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#43 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#58 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#118 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Novotel Budapest Centrum
#79 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Property: Mercure Budapest Buda
Address: Krisztina koerut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Budapest
#79 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#95 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, centrally located 4 star hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District, 4 metro stations from the city centre (Deak ter station) and with direct access to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Easy to reach from the M1 and M7 with coach parking. 7 conference rooms for up to 300 people ideal for meetings, seminars, training days and family functions. WiFi internet, business corner, 24 hour reception, two restaurants, lobby bar, souvenir shops, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing