We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple hotel in one of the cities least exciting locations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Budapest Buda
Ranked #114 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Lincs
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Simple hotel in one of the cities least exciting locations”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Work trip. Rooms are a little tired, buffet is very good and there's free wifi throughout the hotel. My room wasn't too noisy - but trams could be heard even 7 floors up. Collegues at the opposite end of the corridor were also aware of outside noise - so I can't recommend a quiet area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincsPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear LincsPauline,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda. We are terrible sorry that the noise of the neighbouring tram caused discomfort for you. Providing comfortable rooms is very important for us.
We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    681
    360
    108
    72
See reviews for
229
563
137
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Walking into the hotel it looks very simple and unwelcoming. The rooms are bland and have been furnished using Ikea tables and chairs. The on-suites are small but perfectly formed pre made cubicles.

Unless you like small spicy sausages there is limited hot breakfast options.

If revisiting Budapest I would stay across the river in Pest where I found more to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear RobWillTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. Our goal is to provide a totally satisfying experience to each and every person who stays at Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. Unfortunately, in your case we were not completely successful in accomplishing this goal. I will of course look into the points you raised and I apologize for the issues you encountered. Once again thank you very much to share your feedback with us which is invaluable to continually improve the quality of our services. Should your travels bring you back to Budapest I really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you here in Mercure Buda again.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The hotel has a great location at the Deli Station, which is easy reachable by metro from the main train station Keleti Pu.

The lobby and reception have nice decor, what you can not say about the rooms. The rooms are old with worn furniture, smelling after smokers, sometimes not really a place where you want to spend couple of days. If the reception staff persuade you to take the room with view on the castle do not go for it! This side of the hotel is sooooooo noisy due to the trams, it felt, that they are beside you in the room.
Beds are comfortable, but what surprised me was that the covers had patterns and over it was white bedclothes. it looked like there are spots of paws on it :-)
The bathroom is a nightmare, old bathtub and they even put the rubber not to slip in it which is all yellowish. Towels are worn.
Breakfast is nice with good selection of salamies, cheeses, cereals, juices and coffee and vegetables. I really liked the idea of the domestic corner with the hungarian specialties. The lunch buffet had also a very good selection of main dishes, soups and desserts.

All over the hotel is ok, but It is worth to pay extra surcharge to be in the renovated Privillege rooms!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michellina82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear karema,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Budapest Buda. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We are very happy that you liked the domestic corner with the hungarian specialties. By the way our a la carte menu has recently renewed. Please feel free to try it during your next trip.

Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a string of city breaks bolted together over 2 weeks. Of the 6 hotels we stayed this was comprehensively the worst.

We paid towards the upper end of the rates indicated on Tripadvisor. We were aware an upgrade was available for a further €20 a night from other reports.

Upon arriving in Budapest by train from the Pest side you can take the No 5 bus from across the road from outside the front of the station and that regular bus will speedily take you to within a 400m walk of the hotel. The hotel is not central but the Metro station is literally two minutes walk away and so a four stop ride will get you to the centre (Deak Ferenc).

The hotel block is a relic of the comminist era dating back o the 1960s/1970s.

The initial check in was friendly enough and we were to select breakfast which we did not book for €12 which we declined in the knowledge of the selection of breakfasts available in the centre/nearby quarters.

We made for our room on the 5th floor and it was clear that the carpet/decor of the corridors were very tired and in places threadbare. This was similar in the rooms. Our room fronted onto the main street through which trolley busses pass. The initial noises when the bus passed indicated that the window must be open but not the case - the windows were not effective in shutting out the noise.

The bedding appeared clean, the TV and aircon worked. The bathroom which included a bath was clean but the shower (over the bath) was very old. The tap over the sink was rusty.

We were tired so stayed local the first night. Requests to the reception staff for recommendations led to them only recommending a restaurant with whom they had a commercial relationship but we wanted something lighter and they suggested the hotel's own lobby bar which was very pricey and not what we had in mind. We headed out to a local restaurant where the prices were very reasonable.

On Day 2 at the hotel the air con broke down which was not the end of the world as temperatures outside had cooled remarkably but could have been an issue, the bath towels were removed but not replaced and a request to supply was met initially with hand towels. The lifts became unpredictable & caused much frustration amongst many. The hotel was packed full of budget tourists (which is truly the market for this type of accommodation) and the lobby was chaotic upon check out. My feedback to the check out clerk was not acknowledged and I sense that he must had been hearing the same story from a lot of guests - not even an apology as he was more interested in collecting the city tax due. I will certainly not be visiting a Mercure/Accor brand anytime soon based on this stay. Would rank as a 2 star hotel in my view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear nobby85,
Thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. Our goal is to provide a totally satisfying experience to each and every person who stays at Hotel Mercure Budapest Buda. Unfortunately, in your case we were not completely successful in accomplishing this goal. I will of course look into the points you raised and I apologize for the issues you encountered. Once again thank you very much to share your feedback with us which is invaluable to continually improve the quality of our services.
Best regards,
A. Nagy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Budapest hotels

Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Really! The staff is very friendy, giving you a feeling that you're really expected here. Special care during the lunch or dinner. Very nice breakfast with wide selection. I really like the Hungarian corner with regional bacon, paprika, home-made spreads.rooms are little smaller but very clean and comfortable. Good working wi-fi.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StefanG22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear StefanG22,
Thanks for your great feedback and for acknowledging the work of the Front Office and F&B team. Based on your positive feedback I do hope we get to cater to your hotel needs again in the future.
Best regards
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in a twin bed room for 4 nights and the weather was very hot. The airconditioning was not working and it was cooler in the corridor. Our fridge did not work and our food cooked overnight in it. We asked the front desk staff to check and they came and turned the dial up and it still didn't work.
We paid extra to have a room upgrade but it was not available for twin rooms but they provided us with a kettle, tea & coffee, dessing gown and fruit plate for a $20 fee.
Overall this hotel is adequate, a fair distance from the main part of town, a 15 minute walk from the hop on hop off bus, a supermarket close, a good breakfast but the rooms were in need of a reburbishment. Our beds and pillows were very lumpy and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Complain at the front desk immediately there is a problem with anything in the room in an attempt to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icehouse45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aniko N, General Manager at Mercure Budapest Buda, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear icehouse45,
Thanks for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. I appreciate the positive nature of your comments and was happy to see you overall enjoyed your stay with us. However I do very much apologize that the standard room was not able to meet your needs. I will of course take on board the issues of concern you raised - especially the air-conditioning. I hope we get to cater to your needs again in the future and that next time our service is more improved to meet and maybe exceed your expectations.
Best regards,
A. Nagy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest Korona Hotel
District V / Inner City
Mercure Budapest City Center
Novotel Budapest City
#87 of 342 in Budapest
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Castle Garden
Hotel Castle Garden
#44 of 342 in Budapest
889 reviews
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#117 of 342 in Budapest
769 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
Ibis Styles Budapest Center
#62 of 342 in Budapest
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Budapest Buda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Budapest Buda

Property: Mercure Budapest Buda
Address: Krisztina koerut 41 - 43., Budapest 1013, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Business Hotel in Budapest
#80 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#95 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Budapest Buda 4*
Number of rooms: 390
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished, centrally located 4 star hotel, just 5 minutes walk from the Castle District, 4 metro stations from the city centre (Deak ter station) and with direct access to the southern station (Deli palyaudvar). Easy to reach from the M1 and M7 with coach parking. 7 conference rooms for up to 300 people ideal for meetings, seminars, training days and family functions. WiFi internet, business corner, 24 hour reception, two restaurants, lobby bar, souvenir shops, friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Budapest Buda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Budapest Buda Hotel Budapest
Accor Budapest Buda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing