We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcoming oasis which was a pleasure to return to each day.”
Review of art'otel budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
art'otel budapest
Ranked #41 of 332 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2010

We stayed here while I was undergoing dental treatment in Budapest, and the hotel was recommended by the clinic.
Although the reception staff were slightly cool, everything else about the hotel was pretty much perfect. We dumped our bags in our room, which was large, with huge french windows overlooking a fantastic view of a church on a hill behind us. Nice bathroom, plenty of room, wifi facilities, decent tv, nice neutral colours. We then tottered down to the bar, where the lovely Monika made us so welcome. Unparallelled levels of service from her and her compatriots in the bar every day.
The lobby/bar area is open, spacious and warm-feeling, looking out over the Danube to the Parliament building.
The breakfast room/restaurant was comfortable and well-designed, and the food was excellent at all the meals we ate there.
The building itself was an amalgam of four old buildings around a small courtyard, and has been beautifully modernised with striking artworks - it was such a welcome change from most of the other hotels we saw which were old-fashioned and redolent of the Communist era.
If I was travelling on my own as a woman, I would be more than happy to stay here, as everyone was so helpful and accommodating, the whole place was spotless, and was generally a joy to stay at.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antigualover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,783)
There are newer reviews for art'otel budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,569 - 1,575 of 2,783 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and with the exception of the noise along the Danube on the Sat night, and that the pillows are small and lumpy everything was perfect.

You can walk to almost everything from the Hotel, and the staff are super helpful.

The internet is free, and you get yummy bathroom treats in your room - and best of all is the view from your room overlooking the Danube.

Stay here and you won't regret it

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

This hotel is just excellent. The attention to detail and professionalism of the staff was outstanding. Everything was perfect. The rooms are huge and spacious and the hotel itself is amazing. All in all, I wouldn't have any hesitation in recommending this hotel, I will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliciaHu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

Room big and spacious, bathroom was very clean with pretty and fancy facilities. Location is just so perfect it allowed us to walk everywhere, we took the underground once just to say that we took the oldest underground of the continent .
Would definitely recommend it and go back again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magica_martino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Our 4th time at the hotel this summer. We keep going back coz it's very good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lobsterdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My mother and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in July. We had booked on a room only basis but decided to go for the option to add on breakfast. This was definitely a good choice as the breakfast buffet had a huge selection of cooked items, cereals, yogurt, fruit, cold meats, bread, etc. The only disappointment about breakfast is that to get coffee you have to use a small coffee machine which there was always a queue for, tended to need refilling after every third cup and wasn't producing very hot coffee.

We had room 207 which did not have a river view, instead looking onto the courtyard. This was not much of a problem for us as we were out most of the day, but if you are wanting a room with a view, you should pay the extra money for a room facing the Danube. The room was extremely large, had air conditioning, clean, modern decor etc. The beds were comfortable (we had two single beds) but the pillows were a little flat for our liking.

The hotel corridors could do with a lick of paint and a new carpet, as well as better lighting, as at present, it looks a little tired and dingey. The art on display is that of Donald Sultan, which was not particularly to our taste but nice to see nonetheless.

The hotel is located across from the Parliament. I like the location of the hotel as it was near the Mattias church and close to the Chain Bridge to cross over to the Pest side. Most of the attractions in Budapest are on the Pest side, so if you are looking to cut out the 15min walk to the other side, you may wish to consider a hotel on the Pest side. However, the ArtOtel is a good base to explore from, the tram station is nearby and the metro not far either.

On the day we checked out, Betti saw to our bill and also arranged a taxi to the airport for us. She was extremely helpful and polite, a credit to the hotel. Overall a good stay, would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a good hotel without breaking the bank.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deeniebobeenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Booked through expedia and got a great rate for 3 nights, can$78/night total. We chose this hotel because of the reviews here and it did not disappoint.

We chose to save $20/night and have a room without a view of the Danube and parliament (room 209). The room was quite large and had a slightly odd odor when you first enter... not really sure what it was but it was unnoticeable once you're in the room. The bathroom was modern and clean. Only problem with the room was the curtain was broken so I had to use a paperclip to keep the curtains closed to block out the sun.

The employees at the front desk were great as well as the fellow in the bar/restaurant, who hooked us up with ice whenever we needed. It was bloody hot in Budapest when we were there!

The location was really great... a short walk across the Chain Bridge and just at the bottom of the hill of Buda Castle and Matthias church.

The hotel also had bike rentals for 15 euro/day, which we took advantage of. Saved a lot of time and energy in the blazing heat to bike around town.

There are 2 guest computers available for use from 7am-10pm. One of them is an old piece of junk and the other gets the job done. Nothing spectacular though.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 360flip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 332 in Budapest
2,447 reviews
Novotel Budapest Danube
#60 of 332 in Budapest
1,699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 332 in Budapest
4,375 reviews
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#53 of 332 in Budapest
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel budapest

Address: Bem rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Family Hotel in Budapest
#33 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#39 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $82 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Hotel set in 4 renovated Baroque houses dating from the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your art'otel budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Budapest Hotel Budapest
Artotel Budapest
Art Hotel Budapest
Park Plaza Budapest
Budapest Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing