We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of art'otel budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
art'otel budapest
Ranked #42 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Going to Budapest was a last minute decision. We were in Vienna and realized how close (and on our way) was Budapest. So, we decided to stay 2 nights, looked up a hotel and called from the road. Art'otel had a room that could fit our family of 4 and was well situated, we took it.
The hotel is not only nice aesthetically nice and modern. Service was very good, they were totally prepared for our arrival even though we had made reservations less than an hour before, the room was spacious and very comfortable, and breakfast offered an amazing assortment food. It pleased all age groups of our small party.
Last but not least the location is incredible overlooking the Danube right opposite the Hungarian Parliament.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EC1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here in the art’otel budapest. We were pleased to read that you were happy with your stay at our hotel and we highly appreciate your kind comments in regard to our design, our rooms, the rich buffet breakfast and the service provided by our staff.
On behalf of our entire team we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,276 - 1,282 of 2,847 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

I read reviews of the hotels on tripadvisor and decided that this hotel fitted the bill. We booked for 5 nights in January at a very reasonable price, and when we arrived asked for a room on one of the upper floors, with a view of the river as reviews had suggested. Unfortunately Betti, the receptionist on duty, told us that there was a conference taking place, and none of these rooms were available, but if we went back in the morning she would make sure that we had a better room. Our initially allocated room was nice, and if I hadn't known about the better rooms higher in the building I would have been happy with it, but it overlooked an interior courtyard with no view, so we went back to see Betti next morning. True to her word, she gave us a lovely room on the 4th floor overlooking Parliament. Thank you Betti! We also asked for a kettle, extra milk and more pillows. Everything we asked for was provided promptly, and the room was kept beautifully clean. On the downside, no English speaking channels apart from the news on TV, and the room was very hot (but all the buildings in Budapest seemed to be extremely warm). If you like to sleep in a cool room, then take earplugs and open the windows!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeStradling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.
I was very glad to read that you were so satisfied with your expereience at art'otel budapest. I will definitely praise Betti for her excellent work and service she provided for you - although it is a standard in our hotel.
On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you will be back in Budapest.
Best regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The room looked great, with a modern though cozy interior. It was clean, big enough and not too expensive. Moreover from our room we had a great view of the parliament.

The breakfast is a bit expensive but definitely worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear valued Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you found your room spacious, nice and clean.
On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you will be back in Budapest.
Best regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend in the beginning of January. The hotel has a great location on the riverside, and is a short walk away from both the city centre and castle hill. It's also just a 5 minute walk to a big public transport station from where you can reach the whole city with ease. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have a nice view of the river but can get noisy. I recommend the rooms on the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobinMeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear valued Guest, we appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor.I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the views, the location of the hotel ,
On behalf of our entire staff at art'otel budapest we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the Art'otel from the 31st of Dec till the 3rd of Jan 2014.
Upon arrival we were very impressed, room with a beautiful view.
Spacious room, good bed, nice bathroom, everything clean, good breakfast, perfect location.
New years eve, we dined in the hotel, nice menu, correct price, only a shame that the food was cold when served.
We would recommend this hotel to other people.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lobke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here in the art’otel budapest. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the views, the perfect location of the hotel and that you found your room spacious, comfortable and clean. Thank you for your recommendation, this is much appreciated.
On the other hand I am sorry to learn that your dinner was cold when served. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience. I appreciate that you brought your experience to ourattention. Please rest assured that this was an exception and not the usual standard of our service.
On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you will be back in Budapest.
Best regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great rooms with pleasant deco... room overlooking the Hugrian Parliament Buildings is incrediable... location is close to trams and the underground. Walking distance to supermarket and a some great restaurants

Room Tip: Room with a view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKB2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear valued Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the views, the location of the hotel and that you found your room great and "fabulous".
I do hope that we will have a chance of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.
Warm regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Let me start off by saying that the location of this hotel was better than we expected. Directly on the water and within easy walking distance of the chain bridge. Additionally, there are a handful of nice (and cheap) pubs and restaurants within just a couple blocks. The rooms themselves are nice enough. The beds were actually quite comfortable for a European hotel. We had only two issues with the room. First, ours was an interior room (no windows to the outside), and we found that over the course of our five day stay the room got a bit stuffy and hard to air out- this was a relatively minor issue. Second, despite the fact that the rooms were very clean and neat, the carpets were in horrible shape. Normally I wouldn't even notice such a thing, but the number of stains and scars in the carpet was hard to miss. Again, I consider this a minor issue. We found the staff to be quite helpful and prompt. All in all, this hotel was a very good experience, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple, ensure that you specify that you want a double bed, and not two tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bamberger603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear valued Guest, thank you for taking time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
First of all I am sorry for any inconveniences caused because of the stains and scars in the carpet. The red carpet does show the slightest stain I know, and we have a " small army "of cleaners going room by room cleaning them.
On the other side I am pleased to read that you found our location perfect, the staff helpful and prompt which could contribute to making your Budapest trip to a memorable great experience.
Thank you for your recommendation, this is much appreciated.
On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you will be back in Budapest.
Best regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 334 in Budapest
4,453 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 334 in Budapest
2,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Budapest Danube
#63 of 334 in Budapest
1,742 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#41 of 334 in Budapest
3,304 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 334 in Budapest
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel budapest

Address: Bem rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Family Hotel in Budapest
#35 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#39 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $72 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Hotel set in 4 renovated Baroque houses dating from the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your art'otel budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Budapest Hotel Budapest
Artotel Budapest
Art Hotel Budapest
Park Plaza Budapest
Budapest Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing