We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Views, and Good Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of art'otel budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
art'otel budapest
Ranked #38 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Views, and Good Base”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

What really sold us on this hotel was the wonderful views it has- looking out over the Danube to the Parliament building, and the chain bridge. It is about a ten minute walk from the nearest metro, which we took to both the train station and the airport, and across the street from the tram. Our room was clean and modern. The staff was very helpful, giving us tips on what to see. Also, the hotel has a very convenient location for visiting castle hill and the Buda side. At night, we sometimes wished we had stayed on the Pest side of the river because nearly all the restaurants and bars we went to were there. But, this is just personal taste. We didn't include breakfast in our reservation, as we prefer to have it in a café, but it looked nice. All in all, I would recommend this hotel for a pleasant stay in Budapest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale_Cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here in the art’otel budapest. I appreciate the fantastic feedback on our location , on the room and specially on our staff members.
On behalf of our entire staff at art'otel budapest we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    1,036
    182
    46
    20
See reviews for
306
1,130
123
451
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The room had great view of Danube but sewerage smell was overpowering. There was a nice breakfast area/good buffet selection.. The lobby bar was ok (good bartender & waitress) but seating area was small. I wouldn't stay here again.


Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our brekfast area and our buffet selection however I was extremely sorry to learn your experience regarding the bad smell.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused because of the smell, which came most probably from outside, the public sewage system and that's why it could not been handled fast and efficiently despite of our all efforts .
On behalf of our entire staff at Park Plaza Hotels & Resorts we thank you for your business . Although I understand the disappointment you felt because of the inconveniences , it would be our pleasure to welcome you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Located just opposite the Parliament, the art'otel has a central place in Budapest at the Buda side. Professional staff and big rooms together with a good breakfast buffet makes this well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the views, the location of the hotel and the breakfast, and that you found our staff's work professional.
On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you will be back in Budapest.
Best regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I have just spent a very pleasant four days here on business, the staff are very friendly, the rooms bright clean and modern, a good base for travel as most places in Central Budapest are within walking distance. The hotel food appears good and reasonably priced, but at times a little slow to arrive. Breakfast is good with lots of variety to please any nationality,the restaurant staff are efficient and pleasant. Overall a nice hotel. Worth a visit!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank andjod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here in the art’otel budapest. We are delighted to see that we were able to meet your expectations.
On behalf of our entire staff at art'otel budapest we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here because a tour we were on ended with a night at the Art hotel, and we decided to stay a few extra nights to enjoy Budapest.

We had a room with a lovely view of the Danube and the beautiful Parliament building. The breakfast had a large number of very good options, although a few items could have been warmer. The hotel handles large groups, so try to time breakfast before or after they have moved through. We ended up walking to many sites, and the location of this hotel made it easy - up the hill to the Castle District, or across the bridge to Pest. My only complaint was the pillows, which needed replacing long ago.

I found the staff to be mostly friendly and helpful. Most speak English quite well. We had our last dinner in the hotel's restaurant, and were pleasantly surprised by the food, service and value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swimmom1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us here in the art’otel budapest. I was delighted to see that you enjoyed the views, the location of the hotel , the breakfast and the dinner in our hotel's restaurant.
On behalf of the entire team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you will be back in Budapest.
Best regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Excellent hotel in excellent location. Just opposite to the Parliament House on the other side of the river Danube. Very nice view from the window especially at night. Only if you have the room with the Danube view. First night we had standard room which was ok, just a little bit strange smell in the room though. Next night we changed the room to a junior suite, which was marvellous. Bedroom, living room, bathroom and room for the clothes. Very nice. Hotel is in the walking distance to a city center. Also trams stop in front of the hotel. Easy to walk to a many sights-seeings from the hotel. Friendly staff. Hotel arranged fixed-priced taxi ride to the airport, which was convenient. Only minus is that the breakfast didn't include to the hotel price and was expensive. The breakfast selection wasn't wide. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pariscity044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued Guest, thank you so much for the review and the recommendation! I was very glad to read that you were so satisfied with your expereience at art'otel budapest.
On behalf of our entire staff at art'otel budapest we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Kind regards,
Tamás Márton
Front Office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights on our first visit to Budapest, picking it due to being a member of the Carlson Club.

Reception was first class, we received a room upgrade, very friendly but professional check-in and were soon in our room.

We were given a Danube view room, with fully opening French doors to a view over the Danube, straight at the amazing Houses of Parliament, and across at the Chain Bridge.

The room was immaculate, tastefully decorated with a fully stocked but expensive minibar. The bed was comfy and the bathroom well appointed. One of my pet hates is two people in a room but only one comfy chair, so I was delighted to see two chairs and a table. A free safe made the room complete.

The hotel provides free WiFi, using login sheets valid for three days at a time, from reception and the bar. Some comments have been posted about its slow speed - we were able to Facetime home easily with no dropped connections.

We ate in the hotel twice in the evening and had coffee there each morning. The food was excellent, hot, well served and tasty. The service was perfect by attentive but friendly staff, all willing to chat and practice their English.

There are some bars and restaurants within 100 yards either side of the hotel, but the main area is on the other side of the river, a 15 minute walk to the Chain Bridge and across it. If you want a lively area, this hotel is not amongst it. But, the main old tourist sights, castle, Fisherman's Bastion and the Citadel are on the hotel side and easily walkable.

We bought tickets for the Hop on Hop off bus, we made great use of it over two days including the river tour.

The hotel and room were above their star rating, the staff made sure of it. We will return their early next year.

If this review helps you, please click on the Helpful button!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonJan_Wirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamas M, Front Office Manager at art'otel budapest, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear valued Guest,
Thank you so much for this fantastic, detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. Reading such a nice review our entire staff is very proud for the hotel and for the service we provide.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your personal art'otel's experience in Budapest with all the travelers around the world and hopefully we will have the pleasure to welcome you back soon!
Sincerely,
Tamás Márton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#56 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#28 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Novotel Budapest Danube
#58 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel budapest

Property: art'otel budapest
Address: Bem rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Family Hotel in Budapest
#31 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#39 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Hotel set in 4 renovated Baroque houses dating from the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your art'otel budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Budapest Hotel Budapest
Artotel Budapest
Art Hotel Budapest
Park Plaza Budapest
Budapest Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing