We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to Central Europe!”
Review of art'otel budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
art'otel budapest
Ranked #41 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our stay here was so wonderful. We, too, arrived during the St. Stephan's Festival. Below our sixth floor room overlooking the Danube, were festival tents hawking local bier, wine, nuts, tower cakes, goulash, lagos for 800 meters in both directions. Our first evening meal was spent in this beautiful open air setting on picnic tables looking at the stunning Parliament building. The next nite, we were overwhelmed watching the barges fire their fireworks simultaneously with accompanying music from near the Margaret & Chain bridges and one in front of us! Even without the festival, this location is perfect. We took a boat taxi from a stop 100 meters up (and free to "pensioners" over 65) to Margaret Island, ran around the island and stopped in to the water park with hot springs after, then walked along the Danube home. (Do your run first, before entering the spa, for once you are in there, you cannot go out and return)
It was another short walk to the Chain Bridge for entry to the Pest side or the funicular for access to the Castle & Museum. The restaurants nearby the hotel on the water were very good...wish I could remember all the names, but they were within 200 meters of art 'otel. One name was easy to remember the Carne di Hall...get it? Another was an outdoor grill with a nice duck breast and great steak, even if we did have to box it up to go see the fireworks from our room. It was St. Stephan's, and they were slammed. The third was a Belgian bier place. All had outdoor seating, but you might have to reserve those tables. The grill was all outdoors with maybe 20 tables. The location made the city wonderful and we walked from 10-10 each day eating unhealthy wonderful food and still lost weight!

Room Tip: Must have river view. That means street view, but, hey, it is the Danube. Higher is better. 612 i...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,785)
There are newer reviews for art'otel budapest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,269 - 1,275 of 2,785 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last month for National Hungarian Day which is on the on 20th August every year.The hotel is in an amazing location facing Parliament Building.We had a room looking over the Danube which we would recommend highly.The check in was fine we had to wait a little while for our room to be ready but it was a lovely room.Mini-bar was expensive for example 750huf(£3.00) for a bottle of water which you can buy for 129huf(30p) in the shops.Staff were helpful.We walked everywhere because we were there on a bank holiday.We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food or bar.We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We arrived late (train delays) but on leaving the metro at Batthyany Ter we were greeted by the sight of the Parliament building across the river, floodlit in the dark. A lovely introduction to Budapest. It was a short, straightforward walk to the hotel where we were checked in. Both rooms were in the old part. They were modern and well-appointed, with the kids' room having a view of the castle and cathedral. Beds were comfortable - bathrooms had a (very effective) shower over the bath. Our room was the smaller of the two (a double - the kids was a twin) - but none the worse for that. good quality furniture and comfy beds. Reception staff very helpful - we were interested in a restaurant nearby which we were not sure how to find having left the crucial page of notes at home! They googled it, showed us on streetview and described how to get there, and said they would like our feedback on what it was like! The rooms were kept clean and housekeeping was efficient. It was a good location in Budapest - easy to get to the main sites, although we did use some public transport - for a family of four, a good deal - for the price of 2 passengers, you get a 24 hour group ticket which up to 5 people can use travelling together. Breakfast was varied, plentiful and fresh, and the restaurant was lovely - in the old bit - you could sit in the food area, in a roofed atrium, or in a little courtyard outside (weather permitting). We booked online with a special deal and I thought it was good value - much better than Prague. We also used the bar - perhaps a little soulless, but good views over the river. Prices not too bad. for those in search of a

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hipposWiltshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile


The hotel overlooks the Danube and ia opposite the Parliament building. It is a short walk to Fisherman's Bastion and the Hospital in the Rock, and close to a Meteo station. It is possible to walk into the Pest area as the Chain Bridge is 5-10 minute walk along the Danube, but the walk is unpleasant due to a large number of cyclists weaving around pedestrains.

We arrived a bit early, but we were not allowed to check in until 2 o'clock. When we got into our room, we noticed it was a smoking room and asked to be moved to a no smoking room. We got a much nicer and larger room, with a sofa, in an elegantly decorated part of the hotel. My only criticism of the room and hotel was that the carpet looked stained and worn.

The shower and hairdryer were poweful and toiletries were provided. There was a mini bar, but it was quite expensive.

The staff at the front desk spoke excellent english, and were helpful. They let us borrow a plug adaptor and booked a Danube cruise for us.

We ate in the hotel bar twice and found it to be reasonably priced for a hotel and the food of good quality.

Breakfast is expensive at 14 euros per person, and the buffet selection seemed rather limited compared to other hotels, but the croissants were big and delicious. Unfortunately there are very few places to get breakfast near the hotel as most of the restuarants and fast food places are in the Pest area. We tried the only cafe we found open near the hotel and the hygiene was so poor, we decided to pay for breakfast on the hotel the next day!

3  Thank vanadia7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Everything about this hotel experience was lovely! Budapest is lovely!
Wonderful location on the Buda side of the Danube River.

Excellent service by everyone; front desk staff could not be nicer or more helpful, they even remembered my name.

We had a large room looking out to the Buda Castle and palace complex, stunning sight at night with everything lit up (we are going on a week long river cruise on the Danube so chose not to have a river view, very pleased with our castle view). I sat for 20 minutes admiring the view from the room, such majestic architecture.

Excellent extensive breakfast buffet.

Highly recommend, great value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Captain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great hotel for the price paid. Got a great view room to the Danube, Parliament and Chain Bridge. It even had a balcony. Very good breakfast. Free Wi-Fi and very nice hotel staff. Will stay again if I go back to the beautiful Budapest.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here with a group of 13 cyclists and finished our trip here. The check in took a bit longer than expected. They have 2 computers next to the check in desk to surf the net but they seem to keep getting cut off every now and then. But they were very helpful when I wanted to print and scan a few documents and didn't even charge me for it.
The rooms are clean and efficient. I think they upgraded me because of my Club Carlson card. Great views from the room of the river and the Parliament, Chain bridge. Its a bit of the walk to the other side though. They have free wifi. Breakfast was of good quality.
Taxis in Budapest are a rip off. Check with hotel before taking a cab or better ask the hotel to book a cab for you.

Room Tip: get rooms facing the river for a better view
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miteshgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 333 in Budapest
2,448 reviews
Novotel Budapest Danube
#59 of 333 in Budapest
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 333 in Budapest
4,379 reviews
District I / Buda
Lanchid 19 Hotel
Lanchid 19 Hotel
#53 of 333 in Budapest
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel budapest

Address: Bem rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Family Hotel in Budapest
#33 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#39 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $82 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Hotel set in 4 renovated Baroque houses dating from the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your art'otel budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Budapest Hotel Budapest
Artotel Budapest
Art Hotel Budapest
Park Plaza Budapest
Budapest Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing