We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff. Calming rooms to return to.”
Review of art'otel budapest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
art'otel budapest
Ranked #42 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here on a number of occasions over the past 3 years and every time loved it. The rooms are very spacious and each unique. Bright and airy while also relaxing and quite.
Given I was on business it was a great place to meet and work with colleagues with excellent service from all the staff and many spaces to sit quietly in discussion.
Location was brilliant for popping out to see the sights and walk in the evening.
I will be going back and this time take my own family - very soon indeed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,350 - 1,356 of 2,865 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just got back from a three day trip to Budapest with my daughter. Arrived at hotel just after midnight after a pre booked airport shuttle which went like clockwork. Hotel was welcoming, brief check in and straight up to our twin room. We paid extra for river view but due to being on the second floor above foyer the trees blocked the view of houses of parliament. That said we could see the river and how amazing it was. Room clean and spacious, safety deposit box available to use, toiletries provided, mini bar and fridge which was great as it was really hot - 26-31 degrees. The back of the hotel faces Fisherman's Bastion on the hill behind, so really good location for sights in Buda. Need to cross over to Pest for shopping nightlife etc but public transport really inexpensive. Had a great trip seeing all the main attractions, went on the Ferris wheel - fab view at night, and whiled away an afternoon at Gellert Spa - amazing, as it was so warm could sunbath by the outdoor pool complete with wave machine! If you want to swim in the indoor thermal pool take a shower cap from hotel as swimming cap required. Fab ice creams at Gelato made into the shape of flowers just along from St Stephens bastion - worth waiting for with amazing flavours. If you want to go to the Hospital in the Rock make sure you have time as tours run every hour - we ran out of time and couldn't wait for the next one so missed out. All in all, fab hotel, good air con, comfy beds (but pillows disappear when you lean on them - just like Prague!), and fab city, well worth the money, would thoroughly recommend. Just one thing if it bothers you there is no tea making facilities in rooms.

Room Tip: If selecting river view (well worthwhile) ask for higher floor to ensure a view of houses of parliam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clovertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Very nice designer hotel. With unique designers rooms - Clean, big with a lot of space, zebra -colors, big table. Comfort bed. Nice, clean bathroom. balcony ( small but always). You can additionally pay for the river and parliament view - priceless!. Rooms from the other side are facing the castle - nice view as well. Good restaurant ( not the cheapest one), very good breakfast located in the cellar. Hotel is located on Buda side just 5 min walk to the Bathany Ter subway station or 5 min walk to the bottom of the castle hill and chain bridge. Staff friendly. Good internet connection ( free)

Room Tip: take room with the river view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RealGoldMIner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We will not forget our stay at this hotel. The flooded River Danube, peaking at historic levels the day we arrived, provided us with a stunning view of Budapest to remember, as well as some challenges. We arrived by train and as instructed by Railbookers, took the subway/metro to our hotel...except the stop had been closed because of flooding. When we eventually got to our hotel along a barricaded riverfront, the entrance to the hotel was sandbagged. But our welcome was cheerful and helpful after our eventful trip. Our room at the front gave us a prime position to watch the flood levels rise, and then gradually start to fall. With no road traffic (or river boats) allowed along the front street it was particularly quiet. The hotel is in an ideal position to walk to the Chain Bridge, and up to the Buda UN listed heritage sites behind the hotel. With interruptions to the tram and underground services we found the hotel in an ideal spot to still walk and discover the beauty and history of this lovely city. The included breakfast exceeded our expectations with choices of fresh fruit, cereals and coffee. We would return.

Room Tip: River view was unique, with the flooded Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizB37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed there as a couple, arrived late at night because of a flight delay just to find the reception desk waiting for us with all the forms filled and ready to be signed, out of consideration we'd be tired after the late flight.
The staff is really helpful and with good attitude. The hotel is in a really good location, close to the chain bridge & a metro station.

Room Tip: View for the danube! The other side is rather blocked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shmulik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Million-dollar view across the river to Pest if you have an upgraded room facing that way. Hotel exhibits modern art throughout, which adds an interesting touch (as does the absurdly ugly tight shirts the staff is required to wear!). We used our Club Carlson points and couldn't have been happier with the redemption. Hotel has a cool parking garage for 15 euro (you drive on an off in an elevator) if you don't want to risk the available street parking. Rooms are comfortable with artsy décor. I'm not sure if this is the absolute most convenient location for tourists, but it's certainly reasonable, and a beautiful spot. Restaurant tip: if you're around for lunch, the Carne di Hall next door has an astonishingly inexpensive and tasty gourmet daily lunch special.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Dave's_reviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We had 2 rooms during our 4 night stay. The kids had a great castle view and we snagged an upgraded Parliament view suite. The rooms were both very clean, spacious by European standards and the beds were very cozy. Our suite was really big. We had a separate living room with second tv, couch, two chairs and a sofa, plus walk in closet, mini bar and coffee making area. Even if the room hadn't been so nice, the view alone was worth the extra cost, which was only 35 Euros.Very pleased with this suite.

I can't speak to their food at breakfast as we did not eat at the hotel. My daughter did order a club sandwich one evening and said it was just ok. The staff did direct us to a great restaurant one night, Pest Buda,, up near the castle. They did well with that suggestion.

One thing that may be off putting to some is that the hotel is on the Buda side of the river. It isn't in the heart of the shopping area. It was fine for us. Nothing that a nice walk across the bridge or a convenient tram trip won't fix. I would stay on this side of the river again and with Budapest being as amazing as it is, I will be back!

Room Tip: Pick a Parliament view if you want to spend a bit more. It's amazing to see all lit up at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 335 in Budapest
4,469 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#14 of 335 in Budapest
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel Budapest Danube
#64 of 335 in Budapest
1,755 reviews
K+K Hotel Opera
#41 of 335 in Budapest
3,320 reviews
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 335 in Budapest
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to art'otel budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel budapest

Address: Bem rakpart 16-19, Budapest 1011, Hungary
Phone Number:
Location: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Budapest
#30 Family Hotel in Budapest
#35 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#39 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: $68 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking Hotel set in 4 renovated Baroque houses dating from the 18th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your art'otel budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Budapest Hotel Budapest
Artotel Budapest
Art Hotel Budapest
Park Plaza Budapest
Budapest Park Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing